As a no-fault state with one of the highest population densities in the country, New Jersey can be pretty pricey when it comes to car insurance. Shopping around is the most effective and efficient way to find an affordable policy.
Each insurer uses its own formula to determine premiums, weighing factors such as location, age, gender, driving history, and vehicle type. This means that car insurance rates can vary substantially from one insurance company to another.
Jerry offers a quick and convenient way to compare quotes and switch plans. Want to give it a try? Enter your ZIP code to get cheap car insurance quotes from the best insurance companies in New Jersey. And if you want to learn more about car insurance rates in New Jersey keep reading.
Compare auto insurance policies
No spam or unwanted phone calls · No long forms · No fees, ever
Find the cheapest car insurance in New Jersey with Jerry
There are lots of different factors that affect your insurance rates—some that you can control and some that you can’t. While New Jersey drivers tend to pay more overall, comparing quotes from different insurance companies will help you find coverage that’s right for you at the right price.
Here’s how much Jerry customers were paying for car insurance in New Jersey before they compared quotes and switched plans with Jerry:
Best insurance companies for cheap insurance in New Jersey with Jerry
If you’re looking for the most affordable car insurance in New Jersey, using Jerry to view quotes from multiple providers and purchase the perfect policy for you is the way to go.
Cheapest minimum coverage car insurance in New Jersey
The minimum required insurance coverage varies depending on your state laws. In New Jersey, drivers can choose from a basic package or a standard package as the mandatory minimum.
The basic policy includes the following:
$5,000 property damage liability per accident
$15,000 PIP per person
The standard policy is more expensive and includes:
$15,000 bodily injury liability per person
$30,000 bodily injury liability per accident
$5,000 property damage liability per accident
$15,000 PIP per person or per accident
Drivers should note that while the basic policy is cheaper, it does not include bodily injury liability. By choosing this policy, you also limit your right to sue the other party after an accident.
Remember, the minimum insurance coverage is a requirement, not a recommendation. In some cases, minimum liability car insurance won’t cover all your expenses in the event of an accident. If you can afford to pay for more coverage, it’s generally a good idea to purchase a more comprehensive policy.
Here’s how much Jerry users pay for minimum liability car insurance in New Jersey:
Additional coverages you might want to consider when shopping for car insurance in New Jersey
Coverage to consider
High percentage of uninsured drivers
Uninsured/underinsured motorist protection offers coverage if an uninsured or underinsured motorist seriously injures you or a member of your household.
High population density
With more drivers on the road, chances of an accident are high. Accident forgiveness coverage means that your insurance rates won’t go up after your first at-fault accident.
Coastal New Jersey is prone to tropical storms, hurricane remnants, and flooding. Comprehensive insurance coverage protects your car from physical damage that may happen as the result of a weather event.
While minimum liability insurance may seem appealing due to the price, it lacks some important coverages that New Jersey drivers may need—namely uninsured motorist protection and comprehensive insurance.
Best carriers for minimum coverage car insurance in New Jersey
Driving without the required minimum insurance in New Jersey is a serious offense. Under state law, drivers caught driving uninsured face fines of $300–$1000, license suspension, possible vehicle impoundment, and possible community service hours. Repeat offenders may have their license revoked permanently.
There’s no doubt that paying for minimum insurance coverage is worth it—especially when you can find affordable rates.
Here’s how much Jerry customers pay for minimum liability coverage with various carriers in New Jersey:
Best carriers for full coverage car insurance in New Jersey
Almost every insurance provider in New Jersey offers more than just the minimum required coverage. You’ll find everything from comprehensive and collision insurance to accident forgiveness to rental car coverage if your car needs to be repaired—and by comparing providers, you can find it all at a relatively affordable rate.
Here’s how much Jerry customers pay for full coverage car insurance with various carriers in New Jersey:
As a no-fault state, New Jersey requires drivers to have minimum liability insurance and personal injury protection (PIP)—but securing additional coverage is always a good idea to protect yourself and your vehicle in the event of an accident.
Cost to insure your car in New Jersey by age
Insurers value driving experience. The younger you are, the less experience you have—and this will likely be reflected in higher insurance premiums.
Motor vehicle causes are the leading cause of death for young people ages 16 to 20 across New Jersey. Though the age group represents just 6% of the state population, they’re involved in 13% of car crashes.
This added risk is a major part of what makes rates for young drivers so expensive.
But if you’re a young driver, don’t despair. While you’re unlikely to enjoy the same low rates as your parents, you can still get cheap car insurance quotes by shopping around and maintaining a clean driving record.
No matter your age, quote shopping with Jerry is a good place to start. Here are the prices Jerry offers drivers by age:
Cost of insurance for drivers in New Jersey with a bad driving record
Drivers who have gotten into an accident, received a speeding ticket, or have been convicted of a DUI often pay higher car insurance rates.
With moving violations on your driving record, insurance companies deem you a high-risk driver and adjust premiums accordingly. Even a first-time infraction can end up costing you a significant amount in the long run.
The good news is Jerry can help you find a competitive and cheap car insurance policy even if your driving record isn’t squeaky clean.
Types of discounts that might be available to you in New Jersey
Never underestimate a good discount! If you want to find cheap car insurance quotes, be sure to take advantage of any car insurance discounts that are provided by insurance companies in New Jersey.
Here are some to keep an eye out for:
Customer loyalty (e.g., bundling, early renewal)
Demographic (e.g., good student, senior)
Driver affiliations (e.g., military, affinity)
Driving history (e.g., accident-free, safe driver)
Driver training (e.g., defensive driver course)
Equipment-related (e.g., anti-theft, new car)
Payment (e.g., auto-pay, paperless)
Insurance companies in New Jersey make it fairly easy to qualify for discounts, so there’s something available for just about every policyholder.
Who is eligible?
Defensive driving discount
State law requires insurers to provide a discount to drivers 50 or older who complete an approved defensive driving course.
Getting more than one insurance policy from the same company (often home and auto) can qualify you for a bundling discount, which can reduce premiums by up to 12% each.
Safe driving discount
Many insurance companies offer safe driving discounts, whereby you agree to share certain information with them in exchange for a small discount (often 5%). From there, your driving habits determine how much you can save—in some cases, up to 30%.
Good student discount
Students who are in school full time and maintain an average of at least a B may be eligible for a policy discount.
If you’re not sure which discounts might apply to you, worry not. Jerry can help you determine which discounts you qualify for, and it will automatically include them in real-time quote comparisons.
While discounts aren’t always actively promoted, most drivers qualify for something so it’s worth asking your insurance company about.
How much does it cost to insure my car make in New Jersey?
If you’re cringing at the thought of expensive car insurance in New Jersey, consider this: the type of car you drive can make a difference.
Generally speaking, relatively inexpensive cars are typically the cheapest to insure since they cost less to repair in the event of an accident.
If you drive fewer miles, you may also pay less for insurance because you’re less likely to get into an accident.
Here’s what it costs to insure some popular car makes and models with and without Jerry:
Just as car insurance rates vary by state, they can also vary by city and ZIP code. Drivers in cities tend to pay more than drivers in rural areas because urban centers have higher rates of accidents, thefts, and claims.
Premiums are high in New Jersey for a few reasons, number one being that it’s the most densely populated state in the country. Population density has a significant impact on insurance rates, since lots of people in a small space is a recipe for accidents.
New Jersey is also a no-fault state, which means that each driver (or, more likely, their insurance company) is responsible for their own costs after an accident. State law requires PIP insurance, which can be pricey and raises minimum insurance costs.
Finally, about 15% of drivers in New Jersey hit the road without insurance of any kind—and that kind of risk is, unfortunately, borne by everyone who is insured in the form of higher rates.
To get cheap car insurance, you may want to consider raising your deductible. When you file a claim, the deductible is the amount of money you have to pay out of pocket before your car insurance kicks in to cover the remaining balance. If you increase your deductible, this could lower your premium — but be aware that this means you’ll incur higher initial out-of-pocket costs in the event of an accident.
It’s also a good idea to update your car insurance to reflect any major life changes that have occurred since you received your last auto insurance quote. For example, if you’ve gotten married, you may be offered lower rates because married people are perceived to be safer drivers. Or if you’ve moved to a rural area, you may qualify for reduced rates because you’re less likely to get in an accident and file a claim.
It can be hard to keep track of your car insurance renewals while also juggling your own daily obligations. That’s why Jerry reassesses your premium every six months. At each renewal period, Jerry can help you make any relevant updates and ensure you get the lowest possible price for your coverage.
Get the lowest rate possible by choosing a vehicle with good safety ratings, driving safely, qualifying for discounts, and comparing rates with a smart tool like Jerry.
Want to find out if you’re overpaying? Let Jerry do the work for you.
Unless otherwise specified, these estimates are based on drivers older than 30 who have good driving records. These are real people who have signed up with Jerry in the last six months.