Jerry partners with more than 50 insurance companies, but our content is independently researched, written, and fact-checked by our team of editors and agents. We aren’t paid for reviews or other content.
The average cost of basic liability car insurance in Mississippi is $2,001 per year. Opting for full-coverage car insurance in Mississippi will leave you with an average cost of $2,422 per year. In comparison, the national average is $1,627 per year to buy basic liability car insurance and $2,297 per year to buy full-coverage car insurance.
Compare Best Car Insurance Quotes in Mississippi
Your car insurance rates could be dramatically different based on your zip code, age, driving history, and other factors. This can make finding the best rates for car insurance a complicated process. That’s where Jerry comes in handy.
Here are some real quotes and savings from customers in Mississippi who switched with Jerry:
With so many auto insurance companies out there, it’s important to get car insurance quotes from multiple providers. Plenty of Mississippi drivers will find affordable rates with big-name insurers like State Farm, GEICO, and Progressive—but not everyone will find the lowest premium from one of those three companies.
That’s because every insurance company uses a different methodology to set your rate. Depending on your profile, two different companies might give you very different quotes for the same coverage. For instance, military members and their families can often find competitive rates with USAA, but a poor credit score or a teenager on your policy might get you a better rate from a company like Allstate, Nationwide, or Farm Bureau.
4.7/5 App Store Rating, 8,100+ Reviews Trusted by 1.5+Million Customers.
Mississippi car insurance FAQs
Is car insurance expensive in Mississippi?
Car insurance in Mississippi is more expensive than the national average. Liability-insurance premiums run about 45 to 50% higher than the national average, while full-coverage insurance policies only run about 35% higher.
How much car insurance do I need in Mississippi?
Mississippi law requires drivers to carry car insurance with 25/50/25 policy limits. That means $25,000 of bodily injury liability per person, $50,000 of bodily injury liability per accident, and $25,000 of property damage liability per accident.
Do you need car insurance in Mississippi?
Yes—it is illegal to drive a vehicle registered in Mississippi without car insurance that meets the state’s minimum requirements. The penalties for driving without insurance include fines of up to $1,000, suspension of your driver’s license, and even criminal charges.
In addition to Mississippi’s liability requirements, you may wantto purchase additional coverage like comprehensive, collision, and uninsured motorist. After all, Mississippi tops the nation in terms of uninsured drivers—29.4% are not insured.
How much does Mississippi car insurance cost?
The average cost of car insurance in Mississippi is notably higher than the national average. Why? There are a few reasons.
To begin with, Mississippi has the highest rate of uninsured motorists in the country. According to data from the Insurance Information Institute (III), 29.4% of Mississippi drivers were uninsured in 2019—which raises the state average for everyone else.
The other major contributor to Mississippi’s high car insurance rates stretches from June to October every year: hurricane season. Hurricanes generate a huge number of comprehensive car insurance claims, driving up premiums.
Here’s a rundown of what you need to know about car insurance in Mississippi.
Liability insurance is the only coverage type required by state law. Mississippi drivers must carry proof of insurance at all times, indicating that they have an active insurance policy that includes at least $25,000 per person / $50,000 per accident in bodily injury liability and $25,000 per accident in property damage liability.
How much insurance do I need in Mississippi?
Mississippi requires $25,000 per person for bodily injury liability, $50,000 of bodily injury liability per accident, and $25,000 of property damage liability per accident.
What do you need if you’re pulled over?
If you get pulled over, you are required to show your driver’s license, proof of insurance, and registration. Thankfully, digital insurance ID cards are accepted by police and the DMV so you will always have your stored proof of insurance available 24/7 in the Jerry app.
Is Mississippi a no-fault state?
No, Mississippi is an at-fault state. This means the at-fault driver’s insurance will pay for the not-at-fault driver’s and passengers' injuries, once the at-fault driver’s insurance company accepts liability and confirms that there is enough coverage.
Sticking those minimum coverage limits will ensure that your insurance company can pay out in the event of an at-fault accident. But if your own car is damaged, you’ll have no way to make a claim—especially if you’re in a collision with one of the state’s many uninsured drivers or if something other than a crash damages your vehicle.
That’s why full coverage is so important. Collision coverage pays for damage to your vehicle from multi-car and single-car accidents, while comprehensive insurance covers things like hurricane damage, vandalism, theft, and hitting an animal. Most experts will recommend adding these coverages on top of minimum liability, and most lenders require both for any financed vehicle.
Take a look at the graph below to understand how much you’re paying for each.
Cheap car insurance with a DUI or speeding ticket in Mississippi
A bad day—or several—can have a disastrous effect on your insurance rate. Because insurers base your premium on your driving history, safe drivers get the best rates.Anyone with points from a violation—anything from a speeding ticket to a DUI—can expect higher premiums.
In fact, if you rack up enough violation points, you’re likely to be flagged as a high-risk driver, which will ensure that your rate stays high for some time. If that’s your situation—or if you’d just like to bring your rate down after a pesky traffic ticket—Jerry can help. Check out the table below to see what drivers with violations saved in Mississippi.
Finding cheap auto insurance in Mississippi before the age of 25 can be difficult—and teen drivers pay some of the highest rates.
That’s because young drivers have less experience, show a statistically higher accident rate, and are prone to unsafe driving behaviors like speeding and distracted driving. Mississippi ranks 47th in the nation for teen driver safety, so your rates might be extremely high based on age alone.
How can young drivers save money on car insurance in Mississippi?
Study hard for a lower rate. Many insurance companies offer good student discounts to full-time students with a B average or better.
Build your credit. It’s not the biggest factor, but bad credit can raise your car insurance premium and good credit can lower it.
Drive well, save money. A clean driving record could earn you insurance discounts—but it’ll also help you avoid the rate hikes that come with accidents and violations.
Mississippi car insurance rates by city
Mississippi car insurance costs vary based on ZIP code for a few reasons: higher concentrations of uninsured drivers, greater hurricane risk, and general property crime rates can all drive up premiums, especially in urban areas.
And finally, your car plays a role in your premium. In general, you’re going to see lower premiums if you drive an affordable car with easily available parts.
But it’s not just your car’s overall value that determines your rate. For instance, it’s probably no surprise that Porsche Cayenne insurance costs are high—after all, it’s a luxury vehicle with a starting price north of $70,000. Repairs for this car are expensive, making insurance claims heftier.
But most Mississippians aren’t zipping around in German sports cars. How much does Chevy Silverado insurance cost? Well, the answer to that depends on things like your model’s age and engine. Older trucks may get higher rates due to the (lack of) availability of parts, while a Silverado with a sedate four-cylinder engine will have lower premiums than the same truck with a beefy, speed-hungry V8.
The most popular vehicle in Mississippi is the Ford F-150. F-150 owners pay an average of $1,180 annually in auto insurance, which is already a below average rate for trucks. The best part? Jerry can find you even more affordable rates.
But meeting state minimums is just the beginning. Liability insurance won’t cover any of your costs, and if you’re unlucky enough to be the victim of a hit-and-run or an accident with an underinsured driver, you won’t have any way to make a claim.
It’s generally a good idea to buy more than the required insurance and purchase collision, comprehensive, and uninsured motorist coverage for a full-coverage car insurance policy. Check out the features below for an idea of the additional coverages that would serve Mississippi drivers well.
Mississippi ranks 17th in the U.S. for the highest property crime. Only comprehensive coverage can protect drivers from auto theft—plus, it will cover your vehicle from non-collision damages like hail and vandalism.
23% of drivers in Mississippi drive without insurance—that’s nearly one out of every four people you see on the road. If you’re unlucky enough to be in an accident with an uninsured driver, you’ll want uninsured motorist coverage to back you up.
Mississippi drivers rate their road quality a 5.29/10. Poor road conditions could give you a flat or otherwise damage your car. Make sure you have roadside assistance to help you in a worst-case scenario.
How to lower Mississippi car insurance costs
Nationally, drivers put about 2.5% of their income towards car insurance costs—but Mississippi’s average premiums are higher than the national average. That makes finding a lower auto insurance premium a great way to put money back in your pocket!
Shop around for quotes
If you’ve ever done car insurance comparison shopping, you might not want to hear this—but comparing multiple rates is the only way to find the lowest rates on the coverage you need. In general, you should aim to get quotes from at least three different insurance companies before selecting a plan. To reduce the legwork, work with a broker or use a car insurance comparison app like Jerry.
Look for discounts
Insurance companies talk a lot about discounts, but it’s usually about bundling auto and homeowners insurance. You might not realize that there are a lot more discounts available—and we mean a lot!
Every company offers a different set of discounts, but you can often stack them for extra savings. Below are a few popular discounts worth looking out for in Mississippi.
Clean Driving Record Discounts
Drivers with clean records and no claims are considered the safest drivers and can qualify for the best discounts. Insurers recognize that safe drivers save them money by reducing claims, and drivers with clean records get to share in the savings.
Drivers who bundle multiple insurance needs with the same carrier can qualify for a bundling discount.
Defensive Driving Discount
Auto insurance carriers in Mississippi are obligated to offer a defensive driving discount to drivers age 50+ who complete a state-approved defensive driving course.
Increase your deductible
If you’ve got collision or comprehensive insurance, you must pay a deductible before your coverage kicks in on a claim. The higher the deductible is, the less you’ll pay month to month to maintain the policy.
This means that raising your deductible is a quick and easy way to save on costs. But be careful: never select a deductible that’s higher than what you could realistically pay in the event of a claim.