Jerry partners with more than 50 insurance companies, but our content is independently researched, written, and fact-checked by our team of editors and agents. We aren’t paid for reviews or other content.
The average cost of basic liability car insurance in Oregon is $2,041 per year. Opting for full-coverage car insurance in Oregon will leave you with an average cost of $2,212 per year. In comparison, the national average is $1,627 per year to buy basic liability car insurance and $2,297 per year to buy full-coverage car insurance.
Best car insurance companies in Oregon
Finding the best and cheapest car insurance companies in Oregon can feel like an impossible challenge. State Farm, GEICO, Progressive, USAA—every company says they’re the best, but which can actually offer low rates and decent coverage?
The answer is, well, all of them—but not for every driver in Oregon. You see, every auto insurance company uses a different methodology to set car insurance premiums for their customers, and a single driver might get completely different quotes from two companies. For instance, drivers with poor credit or spotty driving records are more likely to get a good rate from Progressive than from Allstate—but if you already have a homeowners policy with Allstate, the money you save by bundling could make up the difference.
And that’s just looking at major providers. Smaller regional companies like Country Financial and American Family might not be the first companies you go to for quotes, but you might find that you’ll get a better rate from them.
Check out the table below to see how much Oregon drivers saved, on average, by finding policies with different auto insurance companies through Jerry.
Car insurance in Oregon is expensive when compared to the national average, likely due to the risk of severe weather and a high rate of uninsured drivers (about 10%).
Is $200 a lot for car insurance in Oregon?
Generally speaking, $200 a month for car insurance is a bit expensive—but so is Oregon car insurance as a whole. When you consider the average cost of Oregon car insurance, $200 a month is typical for a liability-only policy and below average for a full coverage policy.
How much car insurance do I need in Oregon?
Oregon state law requires drivers to insure vehicles registered in the state with a policy that meets certain minimums. That means you need at least $25,000 per person and $50,000 per accident of bodily injury liability, $20,000 per accident of property damage liability, $25,000 per person and $50,000 per accident of uninsured motorist coverage, and $15,000 per person of personal injury protection (PIP) in Oregon.
Is Oregon a no-fault state for accidents?
Yes, Oregon is a no-fault state for accidents. As such, drivers are required to purchase PIP coverage to help cover their own medical expenses in an accident—no matter who caused it. Drivers will also file claims with their own insurance companies rather than with the providers of other drivers regardless of who was at fault.
Which month is car insurance cheapest in Oregon?
The month that you buy car insurance won’t necessarily affect your final rate, although some data analysts suggest that the best time to buy car insurance is in February or August.
How much does car insurance cost in Oregon?
Car insurance rates in Oregon are typically below the national average—but that doesn’t mean it can’t be expensive to insure a car here, especially if you live in an expensive area.
But that’s not the only thing that could raise your insurance premiums in the Beaver State. The risk of severe weather, including seasonal forest fires and flooding in certain areas, can make full coverage policies expensive. And because about one in 10 Oregon drivers don’t carry any car insurance, the cost of coverage goes up across the board.
Take a look below for more important information on auto insurance in Oregon.
Oregon’s mandatory minimum requirements provide more robust coverage than a lot of state minimums, but it still might not be enough to cover all your expenses. All Oregon drivers must purchase at least $25,000 per person / $50,000 per accident of bodily injury liability coverage, $20,000 per accident in property damage liability, $15,000 in personal injury protection (PIP), and uninsured/underinsured motorist (UIM) coverage consisting of $25,000 per person and $50,000 per accident.
Liability insurance ensures that you’re not stuck with financial responsibility you can’t meet if you’re at fault in an accident that causes property damage or injuries—but it won’t pay for your expenses. PIP and UIM coverage will pay for your medical bills, but you won’t be able to submit a claim for damage to your vehicle.
And that’s where collision and comprehensive come in. These two essential types of coverage allow you to submit a claim for damage to your vehicle—either from an accident (collision) or from things like severe weather, theft, vandalism, or hitting an animal (comprehensive).
Why is full coverage car insurance so expensive in Oregon?
Cheap car insurance with a DUI or speeding ticket in Oregon
Insurance companies look at your driving history for a sense of the risk level you present. If they see a pattern of accidents, speeding tickets, or even one major charge like DUI or reckless driving, they’ll see you as a “high-risk driver” and charge you extra for the same coverage.
Check out the table below to see the savings that Jerry customers with violations found:
The group of Oregon drivers with the highest average annual rates are teenagers ages 15 to 20. In fact, anyone under 25 years old may have trouble finding affordable insurance, since insurance companies see young drivers with less experience as a higher risk.
And, unfortunately, they’ve got the statistics to back that up. In Oregon, 91% of all teen driver crashes are caused by teenagers under age 21 without driver education. Common issues like distracted driving, lack of seatbelt use, and speeding can all raise the risk of accidents and violations. And even if you’re a perfectly safe driver with a totally clean driving record, your premium will still reflect those statistics.
So how can you find affordable insurance without just waiting around till you turn 25? There are a few ways to find discounted rates, such as:
Oregon’s low population density helps drivers save on car insurance due to a lower accident rate—but that’s not true for every ZIP code in Oregon.
Portland car insurance costs, for instance, are some of the highest in the state thanks to a population density of 4,700 people per square mile. High crime rates in urban areas can also elevate premiums, as can the threat of natural disasters like floods and fire. Umatilla car insurance costs, for instance, are sky-high due to the unusually high rate of natural disasters in town.
Want to see a more specific breakdown on average rates across Oregon? Take a look at this table.
On the other hand, Hermiston has the cheapest average insurance costs in Oregon. Drivers in Hermiston can expect average rates of $904 per year.
City With Highest Rates of Accidents in Oregon
Beaverton has the highest rate of accidents in Oregon. 12.61% of drivers in Beaverton already have a prior at-fault accident on their record, which is 1.1 times higher than the state average. This is one factor that can influence insurance rates.
Molalla, Oregon has the highest average commute time in the state. Molalla residents spend an average of 35.5 minutes commuting. Longer commutes result in more mileage on your vehicle and an increased risk of accidents—both of which raise premium rates.
Your car also matters when it comes to setting your insurance premium. It’s probably no surprise that more expensive cars tend to come with higher rates—but sticker price isn’t the only thing that makes a difference.
Take the Mitsubishi Mirage and the Toyota RAV4 as an example. The Mitsubishi Mirage is one of the cheapest vehicles on the market today, starting at just above $15,000, while the RAV4 starts around $28,000. The RAV4 costs almost twice as much as the Mirage! But Mitsubishi Mirage ES insurance costs are about $500 more per year than Toyota RAV4 insurance costs. Why?
A few reasons: because the Mirage is small and lacks Toyota’s best-in-class safety tech, it gets worse safety ratings than the RAV4, making it more likely to generate costly insurance claims. And because the RAV4 is the best-selling SUV in the US, it’s super easy to find affordable repairs and replacement parts. Not so for the Mirage, especially if you own an older model.
How does your vehicle measure up? Check out the features below.
What are the minimum car insurance requirements in Oregon?
Most states have minimum insurance requirements that you must meet to hit the road—and Oregon is no exception.
How much insurance do I need in Oregon?
In Oregon, drivers need bodily injury liability insurance at $25,000 per person and $50,000 per accident, $20,000 per accident for property damage liability, $25,000 per person and $50,000 per accident uninsured motorist coverage and $15,000 in personal injury protection (PIP) per person.
What do you need if you’re pulled over?
If you get pulled over, you are required to show your driver’s license, proof of insurance, and registration. Thankfully, digital insurance ID cards are accepted by police and the DMV so you will always have your stored proof of insurance available 24/7 in the Jerry app.
Is Oregon a no-fault state?
No. Oregon is an at-fault state that gives you the option of buying no-fault coverage. If you purchase personal injury protection (PIP), and are involved in an accident, you and your passengers will have medical expenses paid for immediately, regardless of who is at fault for the accident or if you have health insurance.
If you do not opt for this coverage, the at-fault driver’s insurance will pay for you and your passengers' injuries, once their insurance company accepts liability and confirms that there is enough coverage.
But liability, PIP, and UIM insurance are just the minimum requirements for Oregon drivers—and they may leave you underinsured if you’re in a serious at-fault accident.
Look at it this way. If you lose control of your car and cause an accident that results in more than $20,000 of property damage—not hard, especially with all the luxury vehicles on the road in Oregon—you’ll be out of coverage and liable for the remaining costs. You could even be hit with a personal injury lawsuit! And minimum liability, even with PIP and UIM coverage added, won’t pay for any damage to your own vehicle.
Most experts recommend buying more than the minimum liability limits and adding full coverage insurance to your car insurance policy. “Full coverage” isn’t an exact term, but in most cases, it refers to the combination of collision and comprehensive coverage on top of basic liability (or your state’s minimums). That’s a more appropriate level of coverage for most Oregon drivers—and if your vehicle is financed, it may even be a requirement from your lender.
Check out the features below for more ideas about the kinds of additional coverage that can serve Oregon drivers well.
Oregon ranks 13th for traffic and infrastructure. Due to lots of traffic and poor road conditions, it’s more likely that you’ll be involved in an accident. Having collision coverage protects both you and your car.
Read more about Oregon Traffic:
Oregon drivers rank their roads a 7/10. With poor road quality, getting roadside assistance is a safe bet. Roadside assistance will prevent you from being left stranded.
How to save money on car insurance in Oregon
Shop around for quotes
You've heard it before: comparing multiple quotes is the best way to find car insurance savings.
But car insurance shopping doesn't have to be a one-and-done—in fact, insurance experts agree that it's a good idea to shop for better rates and better coverage every six months or so.
Look for discounts
Just about every car insurance company offers discounts, but they aren’t always advertised clearly. To see what you’re eligible for, check out the list below for ideas of common auto insurance discounts you might qualify for.
Customers who bundle multiple kinds of insurance, such as car, home, and renters, are eligible for bundling discounts.
Defensive Driving Discounts
According to state law, Oregon drivers age 55+ get an insurance discount for completing an approved defensive driving course.
Married drivers are statistically less likely to be in an accident. If you’re a married driver, you could get discounted insurance rates.
Increase your deductible
Collision and comprehensive auto insurance come with deductibles that you must pay before your coverage kicks in on a claim. In most cases, your car insurance deductible will be either $500 or $1,000—but with a higher deductible, you can pay less month to month.
This is an easy way to free up some extra cash if you can afford a higher deductible—but don’t try this unless you’ve got enough savings to cover the full out-of-pocket cost.