Jerry partners with more than 50 insurance companies, but our content is independently researched, written, and fact-checked by our team of editors and agents. We aren’t paid for reviews or other content.
The average cost of basic liability car insurance in Tennessee is $1,940 per year. Opting for full-coverage car insurance in Tennessee will leave you with an average cost of $2,238 per year. In comparison, the national average is $1,627 per year to buy basic liability car insurance and $2,297 per year to buy full-coverage car insurance.
Compare the best car insurance quotes in Tennessee
Car insurance is a game of averages, but it’s also highly personalized. On average, drivers with good driving records pay less for insurance, but insurance companies will also take into account personal information like your age, gender, ZIP code, and marital status, all of which could raise your rate.
See what we mean? Because so many factors go into setting your rate, finding car insurance quotes can be a grueling (and not all that rewarding) process. That’s why Jerry exists.
Jerry is a licensed insurance broker and a car insurance super app, designed to make getting all the quotes you need as easy as sending a text.
Here are some real quotes and savings from customers in Tennessee who switched with Jerry:
Looking for the cheapest car insurance company for Tennessee drivers? You’re likely to find competitive rates with GEICO, Progressive, or State Farm, but those aren’t the only companies worth looking at in Tennessee.
Remember how personal car insurance premiums can be? While the big-name companies above have the lowest rates on average, your personal profile might get you the best rates with a different company, like USAA, Nationwide, Erie, or Allstate. Because insurance rates are so complicated—and every company uses a slightly different calculation—something as minor as poor credit history or a secondary driver’s age could significantly alter your annual rate.
The only way to find the best car insurance company for you is to compare quotes from as many providers as possible. Check out the table below to see how average car insurance rates from different leading insurers compare.
Yes. In order to legally operate a vehicle in Tennessee, you must carry a minimum amount of liability insurance that complies with Tennessee’s car insurance laws. Failure to do so can result in a $300 fine and suspension of your license and registration until the proper coverage is secured.
No. Tennessee is not a no-pay no-play state—meaning that uninsured motorists may still collect damages after an accident if the other driver was at fault. In Tennessee, the driver who is deemed more than 50% liable for the collision is considered at fault, and must pay out a percentage of the other driver’s damages alongside their own (whether or not that driver is insured).
How much does auto insurance cost in Tennessee?
Auto insurance in Tennessee costs less than the national average, but your rate might be higher due to a number of factors:
Uninsured drivers: According to the Insurance Information Institute (III), Tennessee has the third highest number of uninsured drivers at 23.7%. That means nearly one in four Tennessee drivers don’t carry basic liability insurance—and insurers will raise rates to account for that added risk.
Auto theft: Tennessee has seen a rise in car theft in recent years, especially in high-crime cities like Memphis.
Inclement weather: Severe thunderstorms? Tornadoes? Floods? Tennessee’s got them all, and they can all drive up the cost of comprehensive insurance.
If you’re living in an area with a lot of severe weather, theft, or uninsured drivers, you might pay a higher rate to account for that. But that doesn’t mean you can’t find affordable insurance! Download the Jerry app to see how much you could save on your current auto insurance policy.
Like most states, Tennessee has minimum insurance requirements that all drivers have to meet before getting behind the wheel. To legally drive in Tennessee, you must carry proof of insurance that includes at least $25,000 of bodily injury liability coverage per person, $50,000 of bodily injury liability per accident, and $15,000 of property damage liability coverage.
How much insurance do I need in Tennessee?
Tennessee requires a 25/50/15 rule for minimum coverage. Tennessee drivers are required to have a minimum of $25,000 of bodily injury coverage, $50,000 of bodily injury liability per accident, and $15,000 of coverage for property.
What do you need if you’re pulled over?
If you get pulled over, you are required to show your driver’s license, proof of insurance, and registration. Thankfully, digital insurance ID cards are accepted by police and the DMV so you will always have your stored proof of insurance available 24/7 in the Jerry app.
Is Tennessee a no-fault state?
No, Tennessee is an at-fault state. This means the at-fault driver’s insurance will pay for the not-at-fault driver’s and passengers' injuries, once the at-fault driver’s insurance company accepts liability and confirms that there is enough coverage.
You don’t need to buy any other kind of insurance to be in compliance with Tennessee—but driving with only liability insurance leaves you open to serious risk. If you’re in an at-fault accident (i.e. one you’re responsible for), your insurance company will pay for the other driver’s expenses. But you won’t be able to file a claim for your own vehicle repairs or medical bills.
That’s why most experts recommend adding collision coverage and comprehensive coverage to minimum liability for what’s called a “full coverage policy.” Take a look at the graph below to understand how much you could pay for each.
Cheap car insurance with a DUI or speeding ticket in Tennessee
Auto insurance companies take your driving history very seriously. If you have violations or accidents on your record, you could be labeled a “high-risk driver.”
Now, a single speeding ticket probably won’t get you designated as high risk. It might not even raise your rate very much! But just one serious conviction, like DUI or reckless driving, could land you with significantly elevated rates for a long time.
In Tennessee, points remain on your record for two years. During that time, you can use the Jerry app to find a cheap car insurance policy—in spite of your past mistakes.
Teen drivers pay some of the highest rates for car insurance in Tennessee for one simple reason: because they have less experience than older drivers, drivers under 25 have the highest rates of car accidents and violations.
In other words, young drivers are automatically seen as a high risk for insurers. To get a lower rate as a young driver, work on building good credit, keeping a clean driving record, and maintaining good grades in school. A safe driver or good student discount could save you a lot of money!
Compare the average annual premiums for Tennessee drivers of different age groups—and how much Jerry saved them—below.
How can young drivers save money on car insurance in Tennessee?
Tennessee has graduated license laws that help teens learn and ease into being more confident on the road.
Completing an approved defensive driving course can help young drivers obtain lower rates.
Low population density throughout Tennessee keeps car insurance rates relatively low, but certain ZIP codes (particularly in cities) see higher average costs.
Nashville car insurance costs, for instance, are higher than in most of the state. Because the city is a dense urban area and a major tourist destination, busy traffic leads to more accidents—and more claims. If you live in an area with a higher rate of traffic fatalities, insurance claims, or auto theft, you’ll pay a higher rate.
Here’s a more specific breakdown of insurance prices for Jerry across Tennessee:
Cities With the Longest Commute Times in Tennessee
White Bluff has the longest commute time in Tennessee at an average of 36.6 minutes. A longer driving time and more traffic means more risk of filing a claim, and keep in mind the miles you’ll add to your vehicle—all of these factors raise premiums.
Average cost of car insurance in Tennessee by vehicle type
In general, the less you paid for your car, the less you’ll pay to insure it. That’s because insurance companies base their rates partly on the expected cost of repairs, which is lower for cheaper vehicles.
But it’s not just the overall value that affects your car’s insurance rate. Safety ratings, size, and engine type also matter. A car built for sporty driving like the Mazda MX-5 Miata—which has no safety ratings from the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration—will typically cost more to insure than a sensible SUV like the Subaru Forester.
Want to know how your car’s average insurance costs compare to others? Check out the features below.
Do you need more than minimum coverage in Tennessee?
We covered Tennessee’s minimum insurance requirements above—but while liability coverage is all you need to meet the state minimum coverage limit, it’s usually a good idea to go beyond the state requirements.
Remember, liability insurance only pays for other drivers’ expenses. If you’re in an accident with one of Tennessee’s many, many uninsured drivers, or if your vehicle is damaged in any way (including an at-fault accident!), you’ll likely be saddled with some hefty out-of-pocket costs. It’s also possible to be underinsured—even with a policy that meets state liability limits—if you’re in a serious accident that causes a lot of damage or injuries.
What’s the solution? First, go beyond the minimum liability coverage levels if you can. Second, purchase a full coverage car insurance policy that includes collision and comprehensive insurance (uninsured motorist coverage is also a good idea). Full coverage insurance is required by many lenders if you’re financing your vehicle, and it’s usually worthwhile anyway unless the value of your vehicle is extremely low.
Check out the features below for more ideas of the kind of insurance add-ons that could serve drivers in Tennessee.
Tennessee ranks 26th for infrastructure and traffic. It's a good idea to have collision insurance for protection from collision-related damages that might occur from high traffic, regardless of who is at fault.
Tennessee ranks 9th nationally for the most vehicles stolen with 21,098 vehicles stolen in 2020. Comprehensive insurance is your best bet for protection against motor vehicle theft, so it’s worth getting. It offers coverage for weather damage and vandalism.
23.7% of drivers in Tennessee are uninsured—that’s almost 1/4 of people on the road. And if you’re in an accident with a liable uninsured driver, there’s a good chance that you’re not covered. That’s why it's important to have uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage.
Tennessee residents rate the state a 5/10 for road quality, which isn’t much to brag about. You’ll want to be safe from the stray pothole—having roadside assistance will help with flats, towing, and more.
How to save money on car insurance in Tennessee
Whether you live in downtown Nashville or rural Tennessee, there are always ways for you to save on insurance costs. Here are some easy ways to lower your rates.
Shop around for quotes
The best way to lower auto insurance premiums is to compare rates from multiple insurance providers. Unfortunately, that doesn’t sound very fun—and it isn’t, if you’re doing it yourself. Think stacks of paperwork and entire afternoons on hold.
Luckily, Jerry makes it next to effortless. In under a minute, you can download the app, enter your information, and get real-time quotes. Jerry analyzes as many as 55 quotes or more to find you the best rates. Whatever’s holding you back from finding a lower rate—whether it’s a past ticket, a bad credit score, or a dangerous ZIP code—Jerry will work with you to find the solution.
And the results? On average, Jerry users save over $800 a year on car insurance.
Look for discounts
Yes, you can save money by bundling homeowners and auto insurance with the same company. But that’s not the only kind of car insurance discount—in fact, most insurance providers offer lots of them!
Here are a few of the most popular auto insurance discounts in Tennessee:
Clean Driving Record Discounts
Your driving record says a lot about you to insurance providers, especially if you have a clean one. Being a safe driver and not making many insurance claims is the best way to get a discount from your carrier.
Defensive Driving Discount
If you’re a driver that’s at least 50 years old, you can take a defensive driving course and receive a discount on your insurance since you show carriers that you’re less likely to file a claim.
Safety Ratings and Anti-theft Discounts
Vehicles that have high safety ratings and anti-theft technology are insurance carriers favorites. It shows that you’re safer in your car. Many carriers will give lower rates for safer vehicles.
Increase your deductible
One factor that determines your monthly rate is the deductible you chose when you signed up for your car insurance policy.
A higher deductible would mean that you’d pay more out of pocket if you make a claim, but you could save money if you don’t think that’s likely. However, it’s important to make sure that you can afford to pay the full deductible each time you would need to file.