Car Insurance in West Virginia

Compare real West Virginia car insurance rates in just 45 seconds!
Quotes from up to 45 companies · No long forms · No phone calls
Table of Contents
  • How Much is Car Insurance in West Virginia?
  • Real Quotes for Jerry.ai Customers in West Virginia
  • The Cheapest Car Insurance in West Virginia
  • Most Popular Insurance Companies in West Virginia
  • Cost to Insure Different Cars in West Virginia
  • Car Insurance Laws in West Virginia
  • Car Registration Information in West Virginia

Looking for car insurance in West Virginia? Here you’ll find all the information you need on driving a car in The Mountain State, regardless of what kind of car you own, what your budget is, or what kind of driver you are. Whether you live in Charleston or Huntington, Morgantown or Parkersburg — you can read on for the cheapest car insurance, the best car insurance, and the laws you need to know for West Virginia car insurance.

How Much is Car Insurance in West Virginia?

Why do car insurance quotes differ by state? First of all, each state has different laws around what kind of coverage you need to legally drive. Insurance companies also look at the number of car accidents and thefts in an area, how much people are generally using their car, and how likely an area is to have a natural disaster, among other factors. But while you can’t always control where you live, you can get cheap car insurance by choosing an insurance policy that has the best rates for your needs. If you live in West Virginia, here’s what you should know about how much you’ll pay for insurance: On average, drivers in West Virginia pay $2,084.96 each year for car insurance. This means drivers in West Virginia pay 31% below the average for the rest of the country. But however much you pay, you can use our advice on this page to save money.

Compare cheapest car insurance in West Virginia
Compare cheapest car insurance in West Virginia
Find savings (100% Free)
logos

What’s Your Rate?

But how do you know what policy is right for you in West Virginia? The truth is that insurance companies take many different factors into account when coming up with your quote. They create a profile based not only on where you live in West Virginia, but also on your credit score, marital status, the kind of car you own, and much more.

Not only does your profile change what kind of price you’ll get on car insurance, but it also might change the kind of coverage you want! Not all tiers are the same, and it’s important to know what you’re looking for. You could save money on your monthly or yearly insurance premiums by having a higher deductible. But if you do get into an accident or need to file a claim, that choice will cause you to pay more out of pocket.

The best way to make sure you’re always getting the best coverage for the right price is to let us do all the legwork for you. We can compare quotes from over 40 different insurance companies and find you the best rates in 45 seconds — no matter what kind of coverage you’re looking for.

Real Quotes for Jerry.ai Customers in West Virginia

CreatedCarsCustomerCarrierMonthly premiumAmount savedType of coverage
2020-12-19
  • Honda Cr-v Ex
40 year old maleProgressive$74.41$65.59Preferred
2021-01-21
  • Hyundai Elantra Sel
23 year old femaleProgressive$131.05$32.95Preferred
2020-11-23
  • Volkswagen Jetta Gli
64 year old maleNationwide$87.76$125.24Standard
2020-12-15
  • Nissan Altima S
  • Ford Fusion S
54 year old maleNationwide$207.80$82.20Preferred
2020-11-24
  • Nissan Maxima Se
  • Chevrolet Equinox Lt
52 year old femaleSafeco$66.78$79.22Standard

The Cheapest Car Insurance in West Virginia

Which companies offer cheap car insurance in West Virginia? Below, we’ve ranked West Virginia car insurance companies based on which ones have, on average, the cheapest car insurance quotes for basic, standard, and preferred coverage levels for different profiles. These are averages to give you a sense of what drivers in your state are paying. But remember — it’s impossible to know what your quotes will be until you start comparing for yourself. That’s why we’re also showing you some real quotes we were able to find for our members recently. If you shop for insurance wisely, you can get a great deal without sacrificing your own safety and protection.

Compare cheapest car insurance in West Virginia
Compare cheapest car insurance in West Virginia
Find savings (100% Free)
logos

Cheapest Car Insurance in West Virginia for Basic Coverage

There’s all kinds of auto insurance you can get in West Virginia, depending on what your priorities are. But if your priority is the least expensive premium payments, you’ll want to check out a basic plan. In most states you legally need car insurance to drive. Basic plans ensure that you have the minimum coverage required by West Virginia. These are also plans with liability-only coverage. We were able to look at the average price drivers are paying for basic insurance coverage in West Virginia, as well as real quotes from actual Jerry.ai customers. You can customize these charts to find rates depending on your driving record, your age, how many cars you drive, you gender, and whether or not you’re a homeowner — all huge factors real insurance companies use in determining rates.

Average Cheapest Car Insurance for Basic Coverage in West Virginia

Filters
RankCompany nameAvg. Annual Premium
1Nationwide$942.03
2Progressive$1,016

Real Jerry Quotes for Basic Coverage in West Virginia

Filters
CreatedCarsCustomerCarrierMonthly premiumAmount saved
2021-02-14
  • Chevrolet Impala
  • Chevrolet Cavalier
53 year old femaleNationwide$53.77$44.23
2021-02-06
  • Lincoln MKZ
52 year old maleProgressive$52.29$242.71
2020-12-14
  • Audi A6 3.2 Quattro
20 year old femaleProgressive$92.34$307.66
2020-12-13
  • Ford Ranger
  • Ram 1500 Classic Slt
22 year old maleNationwide$61.75$148.25
2020-12-18
  • Chevrolet Colorado Lt
  • Chevrolet Blazer
26 year old maleProgressive$61.50$114.50

Average Cheapest Car Insurance for Standard Plans in West Virginia

Most drivers will want more than the basic minimum coverage that West Virginia requires — but still don’t want to break the bank. Standard plans offer both collision insurance and comprehensive insurance which gives you more protection than a basic plan. These plans generally offer a $1,000 deductible.

Below you’ll find the average price drivers are paying for standard insurance coverage in West Virginia, as well as real quotes from actual Jerry.ai customers. You can customize these charts to find rates depending on your driving record, your age, how many cars you drive, you gender, and whether or not you’re a homeowner. All of these factors can impact premiums, so be sure to take a look at averages and quotes from drivers similar to you!

Average Cheapest Car Insurance for Standard Coverage in West Virginia

Filters
RankCompany nameAvg. Annual Premium
1Nationwide$1,312.68
2Safeco$1,495.96
3State Auto$1,687.78
4Progressive$1,795.15

Real Jerry Quotes for Standard Coverage in West Virginia

Filters
CreatedCarsCustomerCarrierMonthly premiumAmount saved
2021-01-04
  • Subaru WRX
29 year old maleSafeco$114.99$50.01
2021-01-03
  • Honda Civic Dx
  • Ford F350 Srw Super Duty
46 year old maleProgressive$88.82$56.18
2021-02-08
  • Chevrolet 4500hd
53 year old femaleState Auto$67.54$112.46
2020-12-09
  • Dodge Neon
21 year old maleSafeco$65.79$104.22
2021-01-31
  • Chevrolet Hhr Lt
  • Pontiac G3
42 year old femaleState Auto$108.75$31.25

Cheapest Car Insurance in West Virginia for Preferred Coverage

Preferred coverage protects West Virginia drivers the most against any accidents or theft. Like basic plans, you’ll have collision insurance and comprehensive insurance. This is higher end full coverage, generally with $500 deductibles. That means you’ll be paying less out of pocket in the event of a claim. The downside? Your premiums are likely to be higher than what drivers with standard plans are paying. But if you comparison shop, you can still find the preferred insurance policy that’s less expensive.

We were able to look at the average price drivers are paying for preferred insurance coverage in West Virginia, as well as real quotes from actual Jerry.ai customers. You can customize these charts to find rates depending on your age, your driving record, whether you’re over or under 25 year old, the number of cars your drive, you gender, and if you own a home — all huge factors real insurance companies use in determining rates.

Average Cheapest Car Insurance for Preferred Coverage in West Virginia

Filters
RankCompany nameAvg. Annual Premium
1Nationwide$1,586.30
2Safeco$1,675.98
3Progressive$1,890.12
4State Auto$1,893.04

Real Jerry Quotes for Preferred Coverage in West Virginia

Filters
CreatedCarsCustomerCarrierMonthly premiumAmount saved
2021-02-08
  • Dodge Ram 3500 St
20 year old maleState Auto$125.07$114.93
2021-02-01
  • Volkswagen Jetta Se
25 year old femaleNationwide$104.35$95.65
2021-01-17
  • Hyundai Veloster Base
24 year old maleNationwide$122.45$27.55
2021-01-07
  • Hyundai Elantra Gls
26 year old maleProgressive$95.19$36.81
2020-12-14
  • Ford Explorer
  • Ford Focus Se
35 year old femaleNationwide$233.42$124.58
Insurance companyAverage annual premium in West Virginia
Progressive$1,631.96
Nationwide$1,947.75
Safeco$2,115.74
State Auto$3,101.66

Cost to Insure Different Cars in West Virginia

Auto insurance companies look into several different factors when coming up with their rates. A big one is what state you’re in — which is why it’s so important for West Virginia drivers to compare their rates to people in the same state. The car you drive can be a big factor as well. No matter what town, city, or country you live in, certain cars are just going to cost you more in coverage than others. Check out our chart to find out how much different cars cost to insure in West Virginia. And you can use our table of real quotes from Jerry.ai customers to see what people just like you are paying.

Filters
CreatedCarsCustomerCarrierMonthly premiumAmount savedType of coverage
2020-11-25
  • Jeep Patriot Limited
20 year old femaleProgressive$203.11$54.89Standard
2020-11-22
  • GMC Sierra K1500 Sle
24 year old femaleProgressive$69.21$185.79Basic
2020-12-06
  • Chevrolet Impala Ls
19 year old maleProgressive$196.58$306.06Basic
2021-01-12
  • Subaru WRX
29 year old maleProgressive$56.81$108.19Basic
2021-01-29
  • Ford Fusion Se Hybrid
35 year old femaleNationwide$124.01$32.99Standard
2021-01-24
  • Kia Optima Lx
31 year old femaleState Auto$204.75$74.25Standard
2020-12-10
  • Hyundai Santa Fe Gls
30 year old femaleNationwide$96$36Standard

Car Insurance Laws in West Virginia

By law, drivers must carry a minimum amount of car insurance to drive in West Virginia. Here’s everything you need to know about minimum auto insurance coverage in the Mountain State.

What Car Insurance Is Required by Law in West Virginia?

Like almost all U.S. states, West Virginia requires drivers to insure their vehicle before it can be registered. In West Virginia, you must be able to show proof of insurance to law enforcement that details three types of coverage: Property Damage Liability (PDL), Bodily Injury Liability (BIL), and Uninsured Motorist (UM) coverage.

West Virginia is what’s called an at-fault state, also known as a tort state. Any financial losses associated with a car accident are the responsibility of the driver who is at fault for the collision. If the driver either doesn’t have insurance or doesn’t have enough insurance to compensate for losses that result from an accident, they can be taken to court by the other driver and sued.

Mandatory coverages like BIL insurance compensate for third-party damages. For example, BIL covers medical bills, ambulance rides, lost wages, and follow-ups for anyone involved in the accident other than the at-fault driver. These damages are charged to the at-fault driver’s policy.

Likewise, PDL coverage provides financial compensation for property damage from an automobile accident. The property that has been affected, whether it’s other vehicles, buildings, light posts, or fences, is the at-fault driver’s responsibility and is assessed to their insurance first.

Uninsured motorist coverage applies if the driver at fault doesn’t have insurance, and compensates the policyholder and their passengers for injuries, just like BIL.

While not mandatory, other insurance coverages that should be considered are comprehensive coverage and collision coverage, both of which compensate you for your own vehicle’s repairs against unexpected damage.

Can You Drive a Car without Insurance in West Virginia?

There are strong penalties in West Virginia if you’re caught without proof of insurance by law enforcement. Failing to show proof of insurance can result in your registration plate and driver’s license being suspended, and a reinstatement fee of $150 applies.

Drivers in West Virginia convicted of failing to show proof of insurance can be required to file proof of financial responsibility in the form of an SR-22 certificate. While an SR-22 is proof of insurance and isn’t a policy in itself, it ensures law enforcement that you have coverage in the event of a collision. An SR-22 costs around $15 and must be filed for at least three years with the WV DMV.

What Are the Minimum Car Insurance Requirements in West Virginia?

West Virginia, like most states, requires that all drivers licensed in the state have minimum amounts of insurance when they are driving. This is done to ensure equal protection for everyone who occupies the roadways, including the policyholder, other drivers, and any property damage that could occur due to a collision. Legal requirements for auto insurance coverage in West Virginia are as follows.

Minimum Insurance Requirements in West Virginia

  • Bodily injury liability coverage per person: $25,000
  • Bodily injury liability coverage per accident: $50,000
  • Property damage liability per accident: $25,000
  • Uninsured motorist coverage: BIL and PDL limits match above minimums

Car Registration Information in West Virginia

Only after a vehicle has minimum coverage of car insurance can it be registered in West Virginia. In the state, initially registering a car is done as part of the titling process. Drivers who are new to the state have 30 days from when they establish residency to register their vehicle in West Virginia.

Initial registration of a new vehicle requires the manufacturer’s Certificate of Origin (MCO) and the initial registration fees associated with titling: a $15 title fee, 6% sales tax, and the annual registration fee. Used car registrations require a completed title transfer, an odometer disclosure (vehicles 10 years of age and older), a $15 title fee, and a 6% sales tax. Initial registration must be done in person at the local DMV office.

When you register your vehicle, you’ll receive a license plate that needs to be attached to the rear of your vehicle and visible at all times. You’ll also receive a registration certificate that lists your name, your license plate number, and the vehicle identification number (VIN) for the registered vehicle.

Renewing your registration online is possible in only certain West Virginia counties. If your county is listed, you can pay online using your license plate number and title number. Otherwise you will need to visit your local DMV office in person to complete your registration renewal.

Annual registration fees are determined based on vehicle class and weight. Standard fees are $51.50 per year, and two-year renewals are also possible starting at $103.

Compare cheapest car insurance in West Virginia
Compare cheapest car insurance in West Virginia
Find savings (100% Free)
logos