Jerry partners with more than 50 insurance companies, but our content is independently researched, written, and fact-checked by our team of editors and agents. We aren’t paid for reviews or other content.
The average cost of basic liability car insurance in Louisiana is $2,399 per year. Opting for full-coverage car insurance in Louisiana will leave you with an average cost of $3,758 per year. In comparison, the national average is $1,627 per year to buy basic liability car insurance and $2,297 per year to buy full-coverage car insurance.
Compare Best Car Insurance Quotes in Louisiana
Your car insurance rates could be dramatically different based on your zip code, age, driving history, and other factors. This can make finding the best rates for car insurance a complicated process. That’s where Jerry comes in handy.
Here are some real quotes and savings from customers in Louisiana who switched with Jerry:
State Farm, GEICO, and Allstate are some of the best car insurance companies in Louisiana—but they’re not the only provider who offer competitive rates.
For military members and their families, USAA offers some of the best rates—provided you’ve got good credit. For drivers with poor credit or serious violations, Progressive might be a better fit—and Nationwide offers competitive plans for families with teenage drivers. But if you only look at big-name companies, you could miss a better rate from a smaller regional insurer like the Louisiana Farm Bureau.
The fact is, no single company has the best rates for every driver in Louisiana. Every company uses a slightly different methodology to set your premium, so you’ll have to compare car insurance quotes from multiple companies to find the ideal rate for you and your family.
In general, young drivers pay more for car insurance because of their lack of driving history and their higher likelihood to get into an accident. Typically, car insurance rates drop once drivers turn 25, because they’re considered mature drivers.
However, a lower rate is not guaranteed, because many other factors help calculate your car insurance costs, like driving history, zip code, and vehicle type, in addition to age.
Can the police take your car for not having insurance?
Yes—Louisiana law allows law enforcement to impound vehicles of uninsured drivers following a single traffic stop and citation for not having the required auto liability coverage.
What happens if you get caught without insurance in Louisiana?
The penalties for driving without insurance in Louisiana are quite severe. You could receive fines of anywhere between $500 to $1,000, and you may also have your driving privileges suspended, your vehicle impounded, and your registration revoked.
How much does auto insurance cost in Louisiana?
Louisiana has some of the highest average car insurance premiums in the country—well above the national average.
There are a few reasons for this. First, Louisiana has a high percentage of uninsured drivers, raising the average rate for everyone else. Dense traffic and high accident rates in urban areas also contribute to high premiums. But the real reasons Louisiana has such high car insurance costs come down to:
Bad roads: According to U.S. News, 25.4% of Louisiana’s roads are in poor condition.
Hurricanes and tropical storms: Louisiana’s hurricane season stretches from August to October and can cause major damage to motor vehicles.
Lots of personal injury suits: For whatever reason, Louisiana residents have a higher rate of personal injury lawsuits than other Americans, raising the average cost of liability insurance.
Here’s a rundown of what you need to know about car insurance in Louisiana.
In Louisiana, only liability insurance is required by law. Louisiana regulations require all drivers to carry minimum liability coverage—including $15,000 per person / $30,000 per accident in bodily injury liability and $25,000 per accident in property damage liability—before getting behind the wheel.
How much insurance do I need in Louisiana?
Louisiana requires $15,000 per person for bodily injury liability, $30,000 of bodily injury liability per accident, and $25,000 of property damage liability per accident. You will also be required to get personal injury protection coverage.
What do you need if you’re pulled over?
If you get pulled over, you are required to show your driver’s license, proof of insurance, and registration. Thankfully, digital insurance ID cards are accepted by police and the DMV so you will always have your stored proof of insurance available 24/7 in the Jerry app.
Is Louisiana a no-fault state?
No, Louisiana is an at-fault state. This means the at-fault driver’s insurance will pay for the not-at-fault driver’s and passengers' injuries, once the at-fault driver’s insurance company accepts liability and confirms that there is enough coverage.
But liability insurance only covers repairs and medical bills for other drivers in the event of an at-fault accident. This is why most experts recommend going beyond Louisiana’s minimum coverage limits and purchasing a full-coverage policy that includes comprehensive and collision insurance. These will pay for your medical expenses and repairs due to a range of incidents, from car theft to a collision.
Take a look at the graph below to understand how much you’re paying for each.
Cheap car insurance with a DUI or speeding ticket in Louisiana
If you have violation points on your driver’s license, you can expect to pay a higher annual rate for the same coverage. Auto insurance companies use driving records to identify high-risk drivers, and they’ll charge sky-high annual premiums to anyone with a record of repeated violations or serious offenses.
But not to worry! Jerry helps drivers with previous infractions find the lowest rates for the coverage they need.
Teen drivers pay some of the highest average annual rates in Louisiana for one simple reason: they have less experience than other drivers on the road.
Auto insurance companies look at accident statistics for different age groups when they set your annual premium. Louisiana ranks 43rd in the nation for teen driver safety, making it one of the worst—and most expensive—states for young drivers.
But that doesn’t mean you can’t find the insurance you need at an affordable rate. Use the tips below to find cheap coverage for young drivers.
How can young drivers save money on car insurance in Louisiana?
If you’ve got a B average or better in school, you might qualify for a good student discount from your insurance company
Drivers in Ruston will have the lowest premiums in the state, with average annual rates of $1,286.
City with Highest Rates of Accidents in Louisiana
11.79% of drivers in Metairie have a prior accident on their record. Drivers in Metairie can expect increased rates due to a higher risk of accident.
Cities with the Longest Commute Times in Louisiana
With an average commute of 39.1 minutes, Bunkie has the longest commute in Louisiana. Drivers in Bunkie can expect higher-than-average rates.
Cost to insure your car in Louisiana
What you drive also affects your annual insurance premium. In general, more expensive vehicles have higher insurance rates—but you might also pay more to insure a vehicle with low safety ratings, a V8 engine, or lots of mods.
Let’s take Louisiana’s favorite vehicle, the Ford F-150 pickup truck, as an example. Ford F-150 insurance costs are typically low—just above $1,000 per year. That’s because the F-150 is the most popular vehicle in the country, making parts cheap and easy to find.
But if your F-150 is a more expensive trim—such as the F-150 Raptor—or outfitted with expensive mods, you’ll pay more to insure it. The more expensive your vehicle is to repair, the more it costs to insure.
Take a look at the table below to see how average insurance costs for your vehicle compare to other cars in Louisiana.
Do you need more than the minimum car insurance requirements in Louisiana?
Most states have minimum insurance requirements that you must meet to hit the road.
But liability is just the minimum car insurance requirement—and it might not cover all your expenses in the event of an accident. That’s why Louisiana drivers should consider going beyond state minimums and adding more coverage, such as:
Louisiana ranks 25th for traffic in the U.S., putting it right in the middle with so-so traffic conditions. If roads get busy around you, it’s more likely that you’ll get in a collision, so make sure you have collision coverage to help.
12,400 vehicles were stolen in Louisiana in 2020. The only way to stay covered from vehicle theft is with comprehensive coverage. Comprehensive insurance can also protect from other non-collision damages, such as hail and vandalism.
Louisiana residents rate their roads a low 5.6/10, which means Louisiana drivers are likely to experience poor road conditions while driving. Don’t let a stray pothole take your vehicle out of commission and leave you stranded—get roadside assistance.
How to save money on car insurance in Louisiana
Car insurance rates are sky-high in Louisiana, but there are definitely ways to save money.
Compare multiple car insurance quotes
The easiest way to find out if you’re overpaying for car insurance in Louisiana is to compare rates from multiple providers. The more quotes you compare, the better your chances of finding the rate you need. Aim to get quotes from three or more insurance companies. To make it easier on yourself, work with a broker or download a car insurance comparison app.
Look for discounts
You can also save on your Louisiana car insurance premium by qualifying for discounts. Most insurance companies offer them, and not just for bundling home and auto—but they won’t always advertise the full range of discounts they offer, so it’s up to you to check!
Here are some popular discounts in Louisiana:
Car insurance companies in Louisiana will give sizeable discounts to customers who take a drivers-ed course approved by the state of Louisiana.
Clean Driving Record Discounts
Drivers with clean records can easily get discounted insurance. If you have no infractions on your current driving record, expect discounted insurance.
Drivers who buy their auto and home insurance at the same company will usually get a bundling discount.
Paperless Billing and Prepayment Discounts
Customers who set up paperless billing and prepayments will usually qualify for a discount, as insurance companies are more confident that you won’t default on a payment.
Increase your deductible
If your insurance policy includes collision or comprehensive insurance, you can lower your monthly rate by raising your deductible—that is, the amount you agree to pay out of pocket on a claim before insurance kicks in.
That said, you may have to pay more upfront—even if you save money each month. Make sure you can pay your full deductible each time you would have to make a claim.