Car Insurance in Colorado

Compare real Colorado car insurance rates in just 45 seconds!
Quotes from up to 45 companies · No long forms · No phone calls
TABLE OF CONTENTS
  • How Much is Car Insurance in Colorado?
  • Real Quotes for Jerry.ai Customers in Colorado
  • The Cheapest Car Insurance in Colorado
  • Most Popular Insurance Companies in Colorado
  • Cost to Insure Different Cars in Colorado
  • Car Insurance Laws in Colorado
  • Car Registration Information in Colorado

Looking for car insurance in Colorado? Here you’ll find all the information you need on driving a car in The Centennial State, regardless of what kind of car you own, what your budget is, or what kind of driver you are. Whether you live in Denver or Colorado Springs, Fort Collins or Aurora — you can read on for the cheapest car insurance, the best car insurance, and the laws you need to know for Colorado car insurance.

How Much is Car Insurance in Colorado?

Why do car insurance quotes differ by state? First of all, each state has different laws around what kind of coverage you need to legally drive. Insurance companies also look at the number of car accidents and thefts in an area, how much people are generally using their car, and how likely an area is to have a natural disaster, among other factors. But while you can’t always control where you live, you can get cheap car insurance by choosing an insurance policy that has the best rates for your needs. If you live in Colorado, here’s what you should know about how much you’ll pay for insurance: On average, drivers in Colorado pay $2,392.21 each year for car insurance. This means drivers in Colorado pay 18% below the average for the rest of the country. But however much you pay, you can use our advice on this page to save money.

Compare cheapest car insurance in Colorado
Compare cheapest car insurance in Colorado
Find savings (100% Free)
logos

What’s Your Rate?

But how do you know what policy is right for you in Colorado? The truth is that insurance companies take many different factors into account when coming up with your quote. They create a profile based not only on where you live in Colorado, but also on your credit score, marital status, the kind of car you own, and much more.

Not only does your profile change what kind of price you’ll get on car insurance, but it also might change the kind of coverage you want! Not all tiers are the same, and it’s important to know what you’re looking for. You could save money on your monthly or yearly insurance premiums by having a higher deductible. But if you do get into an accident or need to file a claim, that choice will cause you to pay more out of pocket.

The best way to make sure you’re always getting the best coverage for the right price is to let us do all the legwork for you. We can compare quotes from over 40 different insurance companies and find you the best rates in 45 seconds — no matter what kind of coverage you’re looking for.

Real Quotes for Jerry.ai Customers in Colorado

CreatedCarsCustomerCarrierMonthly premiumAmount savedType of coverage
2021-02-09
  • Jeep Renegade Latitude
32 year old femaleProgressive$108.58$38.45Preferred
2021-02-06
  • Jeep Cherokee Limited
39 year old maleBristol West$154.25$197.75Standard
2020-11-20
  • Jeep Grand Cherokee Limited
29 year old maleProgressive$149.42$50.58Preferred
2021-01-14
  • Toyota Rav4 Le
29 year old maleBristol West$50.25$149.75Basic
2021-02-16
  • Toyota Sequoia Platinum
42 year old maleProgressive$133.75$116.25Preferred

The Cheapest Car Insurance in Colorado

Which companies offer cheap car insurance in Colorado? Below, we’ve ranked Colorado car insurance companies based on which ones have, on average, the cheapest car insurance quotes for basic, standard, and preferred coverage levels for different profiles. These are averages to give you a sense of what drivers in your state are paying. But remember — it’s impossible to know what your quotes will be until you start comparing for yourself. That’s why we’re also showing you some real quotes we were able to find for our members recently. If you shop for insurance wisely, you can get a great deal without sacrificing your own safety and protection.

Compare cheapest car insurance in Colorado
Compare cheapest car insurance in Colorado
Find savings (100% Free)
logos

Cheapest Car Insurance in Colorado for Basic Coverage

There’s all kinds of auto insurance you can get in Colorado, depending on what your priorities are. But if your priority is the least expensive premium payments, you’ll want to check out a basic plan. In most states you legally need car insurance to drive. Basic plans ensure that you have the minimum coverage required by Colorado. These are also plans with liability-only coverage. We were able to look at the average price drivers are paying for basic insurance coverage in Colorado, as well as real quotes from actual Jerry.ai customers. You can customize these charts to find rates depending on your driving record, your age, how many cars you drive, you gender, and whether or not you’re a homeowner — all huge factors real insurance companies use in determining rates.

Average Cheapest Car Insurance for Basic Coverage in Colorado

Filters
RankCompany nameAvg. Annual Premium
1Nationwide$794.06
2Progressive$967.50
3Bristol West$972.05
4Sun Coast General Insurance$1,027.05
5SAY INSURANCE$1,040.06
6Kemper$1,080.07

Real Jerry Quotes for Basic Coverage in Colorado

Filters
CreatedCarsCustomerCarrierMonthly premiumAmount saved
2020-11-20
  • Mitsubishi Outlander Se
  • Kia Optima Lx
26 year old femaleBristol West$76.83$326.17
2021-02-05
  • Saturn Ion Level 1
23 year old maleProgressive$55.58$86.42
2021-01-10
  • Toyota C-hr Xle
  • Volvo Xc60 T6 Inscription
  • Ram 1500 Rebel
  • Jeep Wrangler Unlimited Sahara
  • BMW 325 I
66 year old maleProgressive$75.08$124.92
2020-12-13
  • Volkswagen Tiguan S
  • Toyota Tundra Double Cab Limited
  • Jeep Cherokee Classic
25 year old maleProgressive$64.42$310.58
2020-12-18
  • Hyundai Tucson Gls
24 year old maleProgressive$51.25$129.75

Average Cheapest Car Insurance for Standard Plans in Colorado

Most drivers will want more than the basic minimum coverage that Colorado requires — but still don’t want to break the bank. Standard plans offer both collision insurance and comprehensive insurance which gives you more protection than a basic plan. These plans generally offer a $1,000 deductible.

Below you’ll find the average price drivers are paying for standard insurance coverage in Colorado, as well as real quotes from actual Jerry.ai customers. You can customize these charts to find rates depending on your driving record, your age, how many cars you drive, you gender, and whether or not you’re a homeowner. All of these factors can impact premiums, so be sure to take a look at averages and quotes from drivers similar to you!

Average Cheapest Car Insurance for Standard Coverage in Colorado

Filters
RankCompany nameAvg. Annual Premium
1Kemper$1,546.18
2SAY INSURANCE$1,729.20
3Nationwide$1,777.71
4Progressive$1,800.15
5State Auto$1,929.38
6Travelers$2,178.83
7Safeco$2,350.71

Real Jerry Quotes for Standard Coverage in Colorado

Filters
CreatedCarsCustomerCarrierMonthly premiumAmount saved
2021-01-11
  • Honda Cr-v Lx
33 year old maleProgressive$87.92$13.08
2020-12-04
  • Ford F250 Super Duty
  • Toyota Camry Hybrid
  • Toyota Yaris L
59 year old femaleKemper$216$274
2020-12-13
  • Chevrolet Volt
23 year old femaleKemper$128.38$21.63
2021-01-26
  • Honda Civic Sport
49 year old femaleState Auto$178.97$43.03
2021-02-20
  • Volkswagen Jetta S
21 year old maleTravelers$292.33$52.67

Cheapest Car Insurance in Colorado for Preferred Coverage

Preferred coverage protects Colorado drivers the most against any accidents or theft. Like basic plans, you’ll have collision insurance and comprehensive insurance. This is higher end full coverage, generally with $500 deductibles. That means you’ll be paying less out of pocket in the event of a claim. The downside? Your premiums are likely to be higher than what drivers with standard plans are paying. But if you comparison shop, you can still find the preferred insurance policy that’s less expensive.

We were able to look at the average price drivers are paying for preferred insurance coverage in Colorado, as well as real quotes from actual Jerry.ai customers. You can customize these charts to find rates depending on your age, your driving record, whether you’re over or under 25 year old, the number of cars your drive, you gender, and if you own a home — all huge factors real insurance companies use in determining rates.

Average Cheapest Car Insurance for Preferred Coverage in Colorado

Filters
RankCompany nameAvg. Annual Premium
1Kemper$1,580.47
2SAY INSURANCE$2,004.08
3Progressive$2,120.10
4Nationwide$2,167.57
5State Auto$2,241.13
6Travelers$2,372.71
7Safeco$2,803.49

Real Jerry Quotes for Preferred Coverage in Colorado

Filters
CreatedCarsCustomerCarrierMonthly premiumAmount saved
2020-11-21
  • Chevrolet Aveo Ls
26 year old femaleSafeco$118.35$37.56
2021-01-07
  • Hyundai Elantra Se
28 year old femaleProgressive$164.42$135.58
2021-01-11
  • Lexus Is 250
  • Toyota Sienna Xle
52 year old femaleProgressive$101.33$74.67
2020-12-01
  • Toyota Rav4 Limited
31 year old maleTravelers$116.42$12.58
2020-11-27
  • Ford Focus Se
25 year old maleBristol West$225.16$72.84
Insurance companyAverage annual premium in Colorado
Progressive$1,526.20
Bristol West$1,430.69
Kemper$1,572.70
Nationwide$1,289.57
State Auto$1,529.14
Travelers$3,097
Safeco$3,419.20
SAY INSURANCE$2,840.64

Cost to Insure Different Cars in Colorado

Auto insurance companies look into several different factors when coming up with their rates. A big one is what state you’re in — which is why it’s so important for Colorado drivers to compare their rates to people in the same state. The car you drive can be a big factor as well. No matter what town, city, or country you live in, certain cars are just going to cost you more in coverage than others. Check out our chart to find out how much different cars cost to insure in Colorado. And you can use our table of real quotes from Jerry.ai customers to see what people just like you are paying.

Filters
CreatedCarsCustomerCarrierMonthly premiumAmount savedType of coverage
2021-02-01
  • Jeep Compass Latitude
33 year old maleProgressive$94.75$14.25Standard
2020-11-18
  • Nissan Rogue Select
48 year old femaleProgressive$107.08$36.92Preferred
2021-01-12
  • Volkswagen Jetta Se
32 year old femaleProgressive$171.92$148.08Standard
2021-01-06
  • Ram 1500 Slt
26 year old maleTravelers$92.50$115.50Standard
2020-12-24
  • BMW 430xi
28 year old maleNationwide$177.50$152.50Preferred
2021-02-20
  • Hyundai Sonata Gls
25 year old maleTravelers$146.67$93.33Standard
2020-12-19
  • Toyota Corolla Base
43 year old femaleKemper$88.38$23.63Standard

Car Insurance Laws in Colorado

Home to some of the most scenic drives in the U.S., the state of Colorado has a lot of beautiful open road, even in bigger cities like Aspen, Denver, and Aurora. Of course, the Rocky Mountain state is also home to treacherous areas, including dangerous mountain roads. Car accidents can happen anywhere, which is why insurance is mandatory in most states, including Colorado. Here’s what you need to know about the minimum amount of required car insurance in Colorado, check out the information below.

What Car Insurance Is Required in Colorado?

Before registering and driving a motor vehicle in Colorado, you must make sure you have some basic insurance coverage, according to state law. This is done to protect drivers in the case of an accident and to help pay some of the costs that come from those accidents.

If you’re a driver in Colorado, you must have Bodily Injury Liability (BIL), which covers the medical bills of the other party if you cause a car accident. BIL will cover most things associated with the medical expenses that happen during a car accident, including emergency room charges, physical therapy, and long-term care. It also pays for any lost wages suffered due to an accident and any reduced earning capacity from a debilitation caused by the crash, at least up to the policy limits.

Colorado also requires drivers to have Property Damage Liability (PDL) coverage, which pays for any damage caused by a vehicle to other objects. This ranges from the other vehicle involved in an accident to fences and poles on the side of the road, as well as any buildings that are damaged.

Personal Injury Protection (PIP) is not required in Colorado since it is an at-fault state, as opposed to a no fault state where PIP coverage is a requirement. Instead, MedPay coverage is automatically added to a driver’s policy when they sign up for coverage, though drivers can opt out from receiving it. MedPay helps pay for the medical bills of the at-fault driver.

Another type of auto insurance coverage that insurance companies are required to offer in Colorado is uninsured motorist coverage, or more specifically Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist (UIM) insurance. While not mandatory, drivers must opt out when it’s offered in order to avoid carrying this insurance. UIM helps pay for bodily injury and property damage claims when the driver who is at fault in an accident does not have insurance.

Can You Drive a Car Without Insurance in Colorado?

Like many states in the U.S., driving without the required amount of car insurance is against the law and carries severe monetary fines, license suspensions, and even jail time if you’re caught driving uninsured. In fact, as a driver, you must be able to provide proof of insurance if you’re pulled over by law enforcement.

For a first offense, the fine is a mandatory $500 or more. You can also lose your license until you can show proof that you have the required coverage. You will also have to file for an SR-22 certificate, which means you will have to pay higher insurance premiums for at least three years, and you may have to perform up to 40 hours or more of community service.

A second offense in a five-year period will result in a $1,000 fine, license revocation for four months, and you must file an SR-22 certificate with your insurance company. You might also have to spend between 10 days to one year in jail, as well as perform community service for driving without insurance in the state.

For a third, or subsequent offense, expect the same penalties as above, but this time you will lose your license for eight months. In addition, you could have to spend up to one year in jail and might have to perform no less than 40 hours of community service.

What Are the Minimum Car Insurance Requirements in Colorado?

To protect drivers, Colorado mandates that motorists have a minimum coverage amount of insurance. This is to protect drivers who are not at fault in an accident and make sure that any property damage they suffer or medical bills they receive are paid for by the insurance of the at-fault driver.

Minimum Insurance Requirements in Colorado

  • Bodily injury/per person/per accident: $25,000
  • Bodily injury/per accident: $50,000
  • Property damage liability: $15,000
  • Uninsured/underinsured motorist bodily injury coverage/per person/per accident: $25,000
  • Uninsured/underinsured motorist bodily injury coverage/per accident: $50,000

Car Registration Information in Colorado

In addition to making sure you have the required amount of insurance coverage, you must also register your car to drive in Colorado. If you live in Colorado, you have 60 days from the time you buy a vehicle to register it. Chances are, if you buy a new vehicle from a dealership, they will take care of this for you.

If you move to the state of Colorado, you have 90 days after becoming a resident to register your car. If you’re a non-resident, you must also register your vehicle in Colorado if you operate a business within the state and use that vehicle in the operation of your business.

Once you register your vehicle in Colorado, you will receive two license plates, one for the front and one for the back. You will also receive a decal to place in the bottom right corner of the license plate that has the month and year you will need to renew the vehicle’s registration.

Registration fees in Colorado depend in large part on the vehicle’s weight, age, and taxable value. Usually, this amount averages about $45 for a passenger car and $90 for a light truck, plus the ownership tax fee and any sales tax and other fees applied according to where you register the vehicle.

You can register your vehicle in Colorado in a variety of ways. If you’re registering your vehicle for the first time or wish to renew your registration in person, visit a Colorado DMV location. You can also renew your vehicle registration through the mail, or online.

When registering your vehicle in Colorado, you need the following documentation and information.

  • Colorado driver’s license
  • Vehicle registration
  • Proof of car insurance
  • Proof of vehicle emissions (gasoline or diesel only)
  • Current license plate (if replacing it)
  • Certificate of title (if you own the vehicle)
  • Vehicle Identification Number (VIN) (if registered in another state)
Compare cheapest car insurance in Colorado
Compare cheapest car insurance in Colorado
Find savings (100% Free)
logos