Car Insurance in Massachusetts

Compare real Massachusetts car insurance rates in just 45 seconds!
Quotes from up to 45 companies
·No long forms
·No phone calls
TABLE OF CONTENTS
  • How Much is Car Insurance in Massachusetts?
  • Real Quotes for Jerry.ai Customers in Massachusetts
  • The Cheapest Car Insurance in Massachusetts
  • Most Popular Insurance Companies in Massachusetts
  • Cost to Insure Different Cars in Massachusetts
  • Car Insurance Laws in Massachusetts
  • Car Registration Information in Massachusetts
Looking for car insurance in Massachusetts? Here you’ll find all the information you need on driving a car in The Bay State, regardless of what kind of car you own, what your budget is, or what kind of driver you are. Whether you live in Boston or Worcester, Springfield or Lowell — you can read on for the cheapest car insurance, the best car insurance, and the laws you need to know for Massachusetts car insurance.

How Much is Car Insurance in Massachusetts?

Why do car insurance quotes differ by state? First of all, each state has different laws around what kind of coverage you need to legally drive. Insurance companies also look at the number of car accidents and thefts in an area, how much people are generally using their car, and how likely an area is to have a natural disaster, among other factors. But while you can’t always control where you live, you can get cheap car insurance by choosing an insurance policy that has the best rates for your needs. If you live in Massachusetts, here’s what you should know about how much you’ll pay for insurance: On average, drivers in Massachusetts pay $1,334.25 each year for car insurance. This means drivers in Massachusetts pay 55% below the average for the rest of the country. But however much you pay, you can use our advice on this page to save money.
Compare cheapest car insurance in Massachusetts
Compare cheapest car insurance in Massachusetts
Find savings (100% Free)
logos

What’s Your Rate?

But how do you know what policy is right for you in Massachusetts? The truth is that insurance companies take many different factors into account when coming up with your quote. They create a profile based not only on where you live in Massachusetts, but also on your credit score, marital status, the kind of car you own, and much more.
Not only does your profile change what kind of price you’ll get on car insurance, but it also might change the kind of coverage you want! Not all tiers are the same, and it’s important to know what you’re looking for. You could save money on your monthly or yearly insurance premiums by having a higher deductible. But if you do get into an accident or need to file a claim, that choice will cause you to pay more out of pocket.
The best way to make sure you’re always getting the best coverage for the right price is to let us do all the legwork for you. We can compare quotes from over 40 different insurance companies and find you the best rates in 45 seconds — no matter what kind of coverage you’re looking for.

Real Quotes for Jerry.ai Customers in Massachusetts

CreatedCarsCustomerInsurance CompanyMonthly premiumAmount savedType of coverage
2021-01-03
  • Toyota Corolla Matrix
23 year old maleSafeco$88.88$58.80Preferred
2021-01-12
  • Honda Civic Lx
43 year old maleSafeco$64.13$107.87Standard
2021-03-05
  • Kia Forte Ex
43 year old maleTravelers$123.17$131.83Preferred
2021-03-21
  • Lincoln Town Car Signature Limited
76 year old maleTravelers$76.25$15.43Standard
2021-03-01
  • Buick Regal Gs
41 year old maleSafeco$50.85$129.15Standard

The Cheapest Car Insurance in Massachusetts

Which companies offer cheap car insurance in Massachusetts? Below, we’ve ranked Massachusetts car insurance companies based on which ones have, on average, the cheapest car insurance quotes for basic, standard, and preferred coverage levels for different profiles. These are averages to give you a sense of what drivers in your state are paying. But remember — it’s impossible to know what your quotes will be until you start comparing for yourself. That’s why we’re also showing you some real quotes we were able to find for our members recently. If you shop for insurance wisely, you can get a great deal without sacrificing your own safety and protection.
Compare cheapest car insurance in Massachusetts
Compare cheapest car insurance in Massachusetts
Find savings (100% Free)
logos

Cheapest Car Insurance in Massachusetts for Basic Coverage

There’s all kinds of auto insurance you can get in Massachusetts, depending on what your priorities are. But if your priority is the least expensive premium payments, you’ll want to check out a basic plan. In most states you legally need car insurance to drive. Basic plans ensure that you have the minimum coverage required by Massachusetts. These are also plans with liability-only coverage. We were able to look at the average price drivers are paying for basic insurance coverage in Massachusetts, as well as real quotes from actual Jerry.ai customers. You can customize these charts to find rates depending on your driving record, your age, how many cars you drive, you gender, and whether or not you’re a homeowner — all huge factors real insurance companies use in determining rates.

Average Cheapest Car Insurance for Basic Coverage in Massachusetts

Filters
RankCompany nameAvg. Annual Premium
1Safeco$823

Real Jerry Quotes for Basic Coverage in Massachusetts

Filters
CreatedCarsCustomerInsurance CompanyMonthly premiumAmount saved
2021-02-12
  • Bmw 328 Xi Sulev
  • Lexus Es 300
32 year old maleSafeco$77.83$199.17
2021-01-19
  • Honda Civic Lx
23 year old femaleSafeco$69.93$80.08
2021-02-22
  • Toyota Corolla Base
  • Honda Pilot Lx
  • Jeep Liberty Limited
36 year old femaleSafeco$54.59$95.41
2021-03-23
  • Mercedes-benz C 43 Amg
28 year old maleSafeco$63.48$252.53
2021-01-09
  • Toyota Camry Hybrid
24 year old maleSafeco$50.80$220.87

Average Cheapest Car Insurance for Standard Plans in Massachusetts

Most drivers will want more than the basic minimum coverage that Massachusetts requires — but still don’t want to break the bank. Standard plans offer both collision insurance and comprehensive insurance which gives you more protection than a basic plan. These plans generally offer a $1,000 deductible.
Below you’ll find the average price drivers are paying for standard insurance coverage in Massachusetts, as well as real quotes from actual Jerry.ai customers. You can customize these charts to find rates depending on your driving record, your age, how many cars you drive, you gender, and whether or not you’re a homeowner. All of these factors can impact premiums, so be sure to take a look at averages and quotes from drivers similar to you!

Average Cheapest Car Insurance for Standard Coverage in Massachusetts

Filters
RankCompany nameAvg. Annual Premium
1Safeco$1,020
2Travelers$1,257

Real Jerry Quotes for Standard Coverage in Massachusetts

Filters
CreatedCarsCustomerInsurance CompanyMonthly premiumAmount saved
2021-02-26
  • Toyota Camry Le
45 year old maleSafeco$64.73$155.28
2021-03-23
  • Toyota Rav4 Xle
23 year old femaleSafeco$75.88$140.72
2021-02-21
  • Nissan Rogue S
  • Jeep Commander
29 year old maleSafeco$74.12$240.88
2021-04-04
  • Toyota Scion Fr-s
26 year old maleSafeco$150.49$384.51
2021-01-11
  • Jeep Wrangler Sport
46 year old femaleSafeco$73.94$99.56

Cheapest Car Insurance in Massachusetts for Preferred Coverage

Preferred coverage protects Massachusetts drivers the most against any accidents or theft. Like basic plans, you’ll have collision insurance and comprehensive insurance. This is higher end full coverage, generally with $500 deductibles. That means you’ll be paying less out of pocket in the event of a claim. The downside? Your premiums are likely to be higher than what drivers with standard plans are paying. But if you comparison shop, you can still find the preferred insurance policy that’s less expensive.
We were able to look at the average price drivers are paying for preferred insurance coverage in Massachusetts, as well as real quotes from actual Jerry.ai customers. You can customize these charts to find rates depending on your age, your driving record, whether you’re over or under 25 year old, the number of cars your drive, you gender, and if you own a home — all huge factors real insurance companies use in determining rates.

Average Cheapest Car Insurance for Preferred Coverage in Massachusetts

Filters
RankCompany nameAvg. Annual Premium
1Safeco$1,095
2Travelers$1,368

Real Jerry Quotes for Preferred Coverage in Massachusetts

Filters
CreatedCarsCustomerInsurance CompanyMonthly premiumAmount saved
2021-03-27
  • Toyota Corolla Ce
  • Jeep Grand Cherokee Limited
33 year old maleTravelers$138.67$236.33
2021-03-28
  • Dodge Journey Crossroad
  • Nissan Rogue S
45 year old maleSafeco$72.97$115.03
2021-03-20
  • Toyota Avalon Base
26 year old maleTravelers$86.92$63.08
2021-01-29
  • Jeep Liberty Sport
23 year old femaleSafeco$59.94$90.06
2021-01-30
  • Jeep Cherokee Limited
  • Nissan Rogue S
33 year old maleTravelers$155.25$61.75
Insurance companyAverage annual premium in Massachusetts
Safeco$2,542
Travelers$2,111.24

Cost to Insure Different Cars in Massachusetts

Auto insurance companies look into several different factors when coming up with their rates. A big one is what state you’re in — which is why it’s so important for Massachusetts drivers to compare their rates to people in the same state. The car you drive can be a big factor as well. No matter what town, city, or country you live in, certain cars are just going to cost you more in coverage than others. Check out our chart to find out how much different cars cost to insure in Massachusetts. And you can use our table of real quotes from Jerry.ai customers to see what people just like you are paying.
Filters
CreatedCarsCustomerCarrierMonthly premiumAmount savedType of coverage
2021-03-06
  • Jeep Grand Cherokee Limited
25 year old maleSafeco$72.32$453.68Preferred
2021-02-13
  • Acura Ilx Special Edition
35 year old maleTravelers$67.75$132.25Preferred
2021-03-20
  • Mazda 3 Sport
29 year old femaleSafeco$66.09$233.91Preferred
2021-04-01
  • Subaru Outback 2.5i Limited
42 year old maleTravelers$70$40Standard
2021-01-26
  • Ford Fusion Se Hybrid
34 year old maleTravelers$87.50$12.50Standard
2021-02-21
  • Ford Explorer Xlt
26 year old maleSafeco$58.97$72.03Standard
2021-02-08
  • Infiniti Q50 Red Sport 400
40 year old maleSafeco$58.38$97.63Standard

Car Insurance Laws in Massachusetts

Traffic congestion in Massachusetts can be bad, especially around big cities such as Boston. Heavy traffic usually results in an increase in car accidents, as more people on the road means more opportunity for an accident to happen. With more than 100,000 car crashes a year in Massachusetts, it’s a good thing that the drivers must have a minimum amount of car insurance.
Insurance mandates are put in place to help protect motorists on the road and defer the costs that can result from a car accident, including from medical bills and property damage. For more information on the minimum amount of car insurance drivers must have in Massachusetts, read on.

What Car Insurance Is Required in Massachusetts?

As a at-fault state, Massachusetts requires drivers to meet certain minimum coverage amounts when it comes to auto insurance coverage on their motor vehicle. The types of liability insurance required in Massachusetts are Bodily Injury Liability (BIL), Property Damage Liability (PDL), Personal Injury Protection (PIP), and uninsured motorist coverage.
The way that no-fault laws work in Massachusetts is that a driver’s PIP insurance covers any medical expenses they incur up to the coverage limits regardless of who is at fault in an accident. With this comes the limitation that drivers can’t get compensation for pain and suffering and other non-monetary damages that might come about because of an accident.
This doesn’t mean that you can’t sue the at-fault driver in an accident, but your injuries must exceed at least $2,000 and must include serious and permanent disfigurement, a substantial loss of sight or hearing, or a fractured bone.
Your BIL pays for any injuries suffered by the other drivers and their passengers in an accident that you cause. This includes paying for any medical bills, lost wages, and other medical expenses related to an accident.
PDL covers any property damage you might cause with your vehicle in a car accident. This includes damage to another vehicle; an object, such as a pole or fence; or a building. This coverage also will provide protection for anyone who you give permission to drive your vehicle and when you drive someone else’s vehicle.
PIP coverage pays for your own medical bills in a car accident, even if you are at fault. PIP also pays for a certain amount of lost wages due to having to deal with any injuries you suffer in an accident, which is based on your salary from the previous year.
Uninsured motorist coverage kicks in if you’re in an accident caused by another driver and the at-fault driver is not insured. A related insurance type is underinsured motorist coverage, which pays out if the at-fault driver’s insurance is not enough to cover all of the damages in an accident that they cause.

Can You Drive a Car Without Insurance in Massachusetts?

If you drive a vehicle registered in Massachusetts, you must have a minimum amount of liability insurance according to state law. Failure to do so will result in a variety of fines and penalties. You must show proof of insurance if you’re pulled over by Massachusetts law enforcement or are in an accident.
If you are a first-time offender, you will have to pay a $500 fine and could go to jail for up to one year. You will also lose your license for 60 days and will have to pay $500 to get it reinstated. You must also pay another fee of $500 or one-year’s insurance premium for compulsory coverage, whichever is higher, as mandated by the state of Massachusetts through the Massachusetts Automobile Insurance Plan.
For a second offense within six years, the fine goes up to anywhere from $500 to $5,000. A second offense can also result in one year in jail, as well as requiring a $500 fine to get your license back. You must also pay $500 or one-year’s insurance premium for compulsory coverage, whichever is higher, as mandated by the state of Massachusetts through the Massachusetts Automobile Insurance Plan.
Unlike many states, Massachusetts does not require a driver to file for an SR-22 certificate for not having the required minimum amount of insurance. If you do need to file for an SR-22 certificate, the Massachusetts DMV will let you know, and you will have to keep it on file for at least three years.

What Are the Minimum Car Insurance Requirements in Massachusetts?

Massachusetts requires drivers to carry a minimum amount of insurance when driving in the state. This is to protect drivers in the event of an accident, especially if they’re not the at-fault driver. It helps pay for any medical bills and property damage that result from an accident.
To make sure that you have the required amount of insurance in Massachusetts, you should have the following minimum coverage amounts.
Minimum Insurance Requirements in Massachusetts
  • Bodily injury/per person/per accident: $20,000
  • Bodily injury/per accident: $40,000
  • Property damage liability: $5,000
  • Personal injury protection: $8,000
  • Uninsured motorist bodily injury coverage/per person/per accident: $20,000
  • Uninsured motorist bodily injury coverage/per accident: $40,000

Car Registration Information in Massachusetts

Another thing you need to do in Massachusetts before driving is register your car. Current residents of Massachusetts have to register their vehicle within 10 days of purchasing it. New residents in Massachusetts have 30 days to register their vehicle after moving to the state.
If you are registering your vehicle for the first time in Massachusetts, you will receive two license plates, one for the rear and one for the front. If you registered your vehicle before 1993, you will only have one license plate for the rear. You will also get a decal with the year when you need to renew your registration. Each plate is also marked with the month in which it was purchased.
The initial registration fee for a vehicle in Massachusetts is $30 for one year and $60 for two years. You will also have to pay a 6.25% sales tax based on the purchase price or current market value of the vehicle.
In order to register your vehicle in Massachusetts for the first time, you must do so in person at your local Massachusetts Registry of Motor Vehicles (RMV) office. To renew your vehicle registration, you can do so in person, online, or through the mail.
To register a vehicle in Massachusetts, you will need the following documents.
  • Massachusetts driver’s license
  • Vehicle registration (if transferring the vehicle/contains the Vehicle Identification Number (VIN))
  • Proof of car insurance
  • Certificate of title (if you own the vehicle)
Compare cheapest car insurance in Massachusetts
Compare cheapest car insurance in Massachusetts
Find savings (100% Free)
logos