Car Insurance in Florida

Compare real Florida car insurance rates in just 45 seconds!
Quotes from up to 45 companies · No long forms · No phone calls
Table of Contents
  • How Much is Car Insurance in Florida?
  • Real Quotes for Jerry.ai Customers in Florida
  • The Cheapest Car Insurance in Florida
  • Most Popular Insurance Companies in Florida
  • Cost to Insure Different Cars in Florida
  • Car Insurance Laws in Florida
  • Car Registration Information in Florida

Looking for car insurance in Florida? Here you’ll find all the information you need on driving a car in the sunshine state, regardless of what kind of car you own, what your budget is, or what kind of driver you are. Whether you live in Miami or Orlando, Jacksonville or Tampa — you can read on for the cheapest car insurance, the best car insurance, and the laws you need to know for Florida car insurance.

How Much is Car Insurance in Florida?

Why do car insurance quotes differ by state? First of all, each state has different laws around what kind of coverage you need to legally drive. Insurance companies also look at the number of car accidents and thefts in an area, how much people are generally using their car, and how likely an area is to have a natural disaster, among other factors. But while you can’t always control where you live, you can get cheap car insurance by choosing an insurance policy that has the best rates for your needs. If you live in Florida, here’s what you should know about how much you’ll pay for insurance: On average, drivers in Florida pay $3,751.60 each year for car insurance. This means drivers in Florida pay 24% above the average for the rest of the country. But however much you pay, you can use our advice on this page to save money.

Compare cheapest car insurance in Florida
Compare cheapest car insurance in Florida
Find savings (100% Free)
logos

What’s Your Rate?

But how do you know what policy is right for you in Florida? The truth is that insurance companies take many different factors into account when coming up with your quote. They create a profile based not only on where you live in Florida, but also on your credit score, marital status, the kind of car you own, and much more.

Not only does your profile change what kind of price you’ll get on car insurance, but it also might change the kind of coverage you want! Not all tiers are the same, and it’s important to know what you’re looking for. You could save money on your monthly or yearly insurance premiums by having a higher deductible. But if you do get into an accident or need to file a claim, that choice will cause you to pay more out of pocket.

The best way to make sure you’re always getting the best coverage for the right price is to let us do all the legwork for you. We can compare quotes from over 40 different insurance companies and find you the best rates in 45 seconds — no matter what kind of coverage you’re looking for.

Real Quotes for Jerry.ai Customers in Florida

CreatedCarsCustomerCarrierMonthly premiumAmount savedType of coverage
2020-11-30
  • Mercedes-Benz Cla 250
  • Mercedes-Benz Cla 250
46 year old femaleNational General$79.25$277.75Basic
2020-12-04
  • Ford Mustang Gt
25 year old maleProgressive$267.83$212.17Preferred
2021-02-18
  • Mazda Cx-9 Touring
  • Honda Cr-v Se
26 year old maleProgressive$160.83$29.17Standard
2021-01-24
  • Nissan Altima 2.5
39 year old femaleInfinity$72.67$61.33Basic
2020-12-07
  • Honda Accord Sport
  • Toyota Camry Le
45 year old maleInfinity$63.17$191.83Basic

The Cheapest Car Insurance in Florida

Which companies offer cheap car insurance in Florida? Below, we’ve ranked Florida car insurance companies based on which ones have, on average, the cheapest car insurance quotes for basic, standard, and preferred coverage levels for different profiles. These are averages to give you a sense of what drivers in your state are paying. But remember — it’s impossible to know what your quotes will be until you start comparing for yourself. That’s why we’re also showing you some real quotes we were able to find for our members recently. If you shop for insurance wisely, you can get a great deal without sacrificing your own safety and protection.

Compare cheapest car insurance in Florida
Compare cheapest car insurance in Florida
Find savings (100% Free)
logos

Cheapest Car Insurance in Florida for Basic Coverage

There’s all kinds of auto insurance you can get in Florida, depending on what your priorities are. But if your priority is the least expensive premium payments, you’ll want to check out a basic plan. In most states you legally need car insurance to drive. Basic plans ensure that you have the minimum coverage required by Florida. These are also plans with liability-only coverage. We were able to look at the average price drivers are paying for basic insurance coverage in Florida, as well as real quotes from actual Jerry.ai customers. You can customize these charts to find rates depending on your driving record, your age, how many cars you drive, you gender, and whether or not you’re a homeowner — all huge factors real insurance companies use in determining rates.

Average Cheapest Car Insurance for Basic Coverage in Florida

Filters
RankCompany nameAvg. Annual Premium
1Infinity$972.69
2Nationwide$1,008.57
3Gainsco$1,045.49
4National General$1,074.43
5Progressive$1,093.94
6Mercury$1,119.71
7Bristol West$1,143.02

Real Jerry Quotes for Basic Coverage in Florida

Filters
CreatedCarsCustomerCarrierMonthly premiumAmount saved
2021-01-31
  • Mazda 3 Sport
30 year old maleNational General$107.25$192.75
2021-02-15
  • Ford F150
  • Toyota Tundra Double Cab Sr5
24 year old maleBristol West$105.67$144.33
2021-01-23
  • Chevrolet Uplander Ls
  • Mercedes-Benz Gl 450 4matic
23 year old femaleInfinity$65$115
2021-01-21
  • Toyota Scion Tc
29 year old maleInfinity$61.50$104.50
2020-12-23
  • Chevrolet Blazer
  • Chevrolet Silverado K2500 Heavy Duty Ltz
  • Dodge Intrepid Se
  • Volkswagen Tiguan Se
43 year old maleProgressive$140.50$209.50

Average Cheapest Car Insurance for Standard Plans in Florida

Most drivers will want more than the basic minimum coverage that Florida requires — but still don’t want to break the bank. Standard plans offer both collision insurance and comprehensive insurance which gives you more protection than a basic plan. These plans generally offer a $1,000 deductible.

Below you’ll find the average price drivers are paying for standard insurance coverage in Florida, as well as real quotes from actual Jerry.ai customers. You can customize these charts to find rates depending on your driving record, your age, how many cars you drive, you gender, and whether or not you’re a homeowner. All of these factors can impact premiums, so be sure to take a look at averages and quotes from drivers similar to you!

Average Cheapest Car Insurance for Standard Coverage in Florida

Filters
RankCompany nameAvg. Annual Premium
1Nationwide$1,863.41
2Safeco$1,996.97
3Metlife$2,032.91
4Travelers$2,109.92
5Progressive$2,163.74
6Mercury$2,199.87
7Infinity$2,339.77

Real Jerry Quotes for Standard Coverage in Florida

Filters
CreatedCarsCustomerCarrierMonthly premiumAmount saved
2021-01-03
  • Infiniti QX60
  • Ford Escape Sel
  • Nissan Maxima S
48 year old femaleProgressive$331.67$101.66
2020-12-17
  • Hyundai Santa Fe Sport
  • Chevrolet Tahoe C1500
25 year old femaleNationwide$182.46$32.54
2020-12-16
  • Jeep Patriot Sport
39 year old maleProgressive$79.83$49.75
2021-01-06
  • Hyundai Accent Gls
  • Dodge Ram 1500
50 year old maleInfinity$137$35
2021-01-15
  • Ford Fusion Se
20 year old maleTravelers$230.67$23.03

Cheapest Car Insurance in Florida for Preferred Coverage

Preferred coverage protects Florida drivers the most against any accidents or theft. Like basic plans, you’ll have collision insurance and comprehensive insurance. This is higher end full coverage, generally with $500 deductibles. That means you’ll be paying less out of pocket in the event of a claim. The downside? Your premiums are likely to be higher than what drivers with standard plans are paying. But if you comparison shop, you can still find the preferred insurance policy that’s less expensive.

We were able to look at the average price drivers are paying for preferred insurance coverage in Florida, as well as real quotes from actual Jerry.ai customers. You can customize these charts to find rates depending on your age, your driving record, whether you’re over or under 25 year old, the number of cars your drive, you gender, and if you own a home — all huge factors real insurance companies use in determining rates.

Average Cheapest Car Insurance for Preferred Coverage in Florida

Filters
RankCompany nameAvg. Annual Premium
1Mercury$2,054.04
2Nationwide$2,107.19
3Metlife$2,314.60
4Safeco$2,387.26
5Travelers$2,456.04
6Progressive$2,498.09
7National General$2,838.90

Real Jerry Quotes for Preferred Coverage in Florida

Filters
CreatedCarsCustomerCarrierMonthly premiumAmount saved
2021-02-19
  • Dodge Avenger Se
64 year old maleSafeco$50.02$149.98
2021-02-09
  • Toyota Camry Xse
  • Volkswagen Jetta S
38 year old maleProgressive$133.67$26.33
2020-11-24
  • Nissan Murano S
37 year old femaleInfinity$179$371
2021-01-23
  • Toyota 4runner Sr5/sr5 Premium
38 year old maleProgressive$85.50$51.50
2021-02-04
  • GMC Yukon Denali
  • Dodge Journey Se
38 year old femaleNationwide$372.55$27.45
Insurance companyAverage annual premium in Florida
Bristol West$1,744.61
Progressive$2,263.80
National General$1,974.03
Infinity$2,039.77
Gainsco$1,564.22
Safeco$1,893.99
Nationwide$2,407.34
Travelers$2,015
Mercury$2,130.67
Aspire Advantage$919

Cost to Insure Different Cars in Florida

Auto insurance companies look into several different factors when coming up with their rates. A big one is what state you’re in — which is why it’s so important for Florida drivers to compare their rates to people in the same state. The car you drive can be a big factor as well. No matter what town, city, or country you live in, certain cars are just going to cost you more in coverage than others. Check out our chart to find out how much different cars cost to insure in Florida. And you can use our table of real quotes from Jerry.ai customers to see what people just like you are paying.

Filters
CreatedCarsCustomerCarrierMonthly premiumAmount savedType of coverage
2021-01-04
  • Mazda 3 I
23 year old femaleInfinity$70.17$222.83Basic
2021-02-09
  • Hyundai Veloster Turbo
45 year old maleProgressive$145$55Preferred
2021-01-28
  • Mazda 6 Touring
34 year old maleProgressive$179.83$270.17Standard
2021-02-13
  • Kia Soul
36 year old femaleNational General$139.75$172.25Standard
2020-11-26
  • Mercedes-Benz Sprinter 3500
38 year old femaleInfinity$67.17$134.83Basic
2021-01-02
  • Chrysler 200 Limited
50 year old maleInfinity$91.17$142.83Standard
2020-12-03
  • Lexus Es 330
27 year old maleSafeco$86.14$12.22Standard

Car Insurance Laws in Florida

In addition to registering your vehicle in Florida before driving, you need a minimum amount of car insurance coverage. Depending on where you live in the state of Florida, traffic can get bad. Bigger cities, such as Tampa, Orlando, and Miami, are known for their traffic congestion, mainly due to a higher population and a booming tourist industry. Unfortunately, the increased traffic leads to more car accidents involving residents and visitors to the state, and that can lead to increased car insurance premiums.

Like other states, Florida has a set of laws governing just how much car insurance drivers need to have. Here’s everything you need to know about the minimum amount of auto insurance that the state of Florida requires.

What Car Insurance Is Required in Florida?

Before you can even register a motor vehicle with at least four wheels to drive in the state of Florida, you must show proof that you have two types of automobile insurance: Personal Injury Protection (PIP) and Property Damage Liability (PDL).

In Florida, which is a no-fault state , PIP coverage provides drivers injured in an automobile accident an immediate $10,000 in medical coverage. PIP can also cover charges associated with ambulance bills, follow-up medical visits, transportation costs, and prescriptions, as well as make up for lost wages due to an accident.

The goal of this type of auto insurance coverage, which all no-fault states require, is to reduce the time spent in court dealing with who is at fault in an accident. This allows people who suffer injuries in an accident to almost immediately receive compensation for any medical bills.

PDL coverage is similar to PIP insurance but is designed to pay for any property damage a driver causes as the result of a car accident. Property can include anything from the other car, if one was involved, or an object that you hit with your car, such as a fence, telephone pole, or building. Depending on the policy, this coverage can extend to anyone who drives your car with your permission, as well as when you drive someone else’s car.

As a no-fault state, Florida requires drivers involved in an accident to turn to their individual insurance companies to cover any medical expenses suffered in a car accident, as well as any damages to property caused by their motor vehicle. If the amount of PIP or PDL a driver has won’t cover the costs from an accident, they do have the option of suing the other driver in court to recover those losses.

In addition, drivers who are convicted of a DUI have to carry Bodily Injury Liability (BIL) insurance for a period of three years after getting their license back.

Another type of insurance that drivers in Florida might consider carrying is uninsured motorist coverage. Uninsured motorist coverage can help fill the gap for things that the other required insurances don’t cover. Uninsured motorist coverage includes the BIL mentioned above, though not in the same amounts, as well as insurance designed to cover any property damage not covered by PDL.

Can You Drive a Car without Insurance in Florida?

Florida drivers are not allowed to drive in Florida without proof of insurance or financial responsibility. If a driver is caught driving without insurance, they will have to pay a reinstatement fee of $150 for the first offense and up to $500 for any additional violations.

If convicted of driving without insurance in Florida, you will also have to file for an SR-22 certificate with your insurance company. An SR-22 shows authorities in Florida that the offending driver has valid auto liability insurance. Additionally, while filing for an SR-22 only costs about $15 to file, it does come with higher insurance premiums for the driver carrying it and must be carried for at least three years.

What Are the Minimum Car Insurance Requirements in Florida?

Like many states, Florida requires drivers with a license in the state to have certain minimum amounts of insurance while driving. This is done to protect the driver and other drivers around them, as well as any property damage that might happen in an automobile accident.

To ensure that you can legally drive in Florida, you must carry the following minimum coverage amounts.

Minimum Insurance Requirements in Florida

  • Bodily injury/per person/per accident: $100,000 (DUI only)
  • Bodily injury/per accident: $300,000 (DUI only)
  • Property damage liability: $10,000
  • Personal injury protection: $10,000

Car Registration Information in Florida

In addition to having a minimum amount of insurance coverage on your car in Florida, you also need to make sure your vehicle is registered. If you plan on working, living, or sending your children to public school in the state of Florida, you have 30 days to register your car by state law.

When initially registering your vehicle to drive on Florida roads, you will receive a license plate to place on the rear of your vehicle. You will also receive a registration certificate that has the name of the person the vehicle is registered to, the vehicle’s license plate number, and the vehicle identification number (VIN) for the car the license plate is attached to.

You will also receive a decal to affix to the license plate showing the month and year you need to renew the registration by. Then, each year, after renewing your registration you will receive a new registration certificate and sticker, which you affix to your license plate to show your new registration date.

Fortunately, registering a vehicle in the state of Florida is relatively easy. You can register at one of the many motor vehicle service center locations across the state, visit the Florida Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles (FLHSMV) website online, or use the MyFlorida mobile app, which can be found in the Google Play store or Apple App store.

The initial registration fee for registering your motor vehicle in the state of Florida depends mainly on your vehicle’s type and weight. To register your vehicle in the state of Florida, you will need the following documentation:

  • Florida driver’s license
  • Vehicle registration
  • Proof of car insurance
  • Current license plate (if replacing it)
  • Certificate of title (if you own your vehicle)
Compare cheapest car insurance in Florida
Compare cheapest car insurance in Florida
Find savings (100% Free)
logos