Jerry partners with more than 50 insurance companies, but our content is independently researched, written, and fact-checked by our team of editors and agents. We aren’t paid for reviews or other content.
The average cost of basic liability car insurance in Arkansas is $1,925 per year.Opting for full-coverage car insurance in Arkansas will leave you with an average cost of $2,524 per year. In comparison, the national average is $1,627 per year to buy basic liability car insurance and $2,297 per year to buy full-coverage car insurance.
Compare best car insurance quotes in Arkansas
Your car insurance rates could be dramatically different based on your zip code, age, driving history, and other factors.
Here are some real quotes and savings from customers in Arkansas who switched with Jerry:
But there’s no single company that has the lowest rates for every driver—if there were, they’d probably call themselves something like “The Cheap Arkansas Car Insurance Company” and call it a day! Instead, every insurance provider in Arkansas uses a slightly different methodology to assign your annual premium—meaning that you could get different car insurance quotes for the same coverage.
The average cost of car insurance in Arkansas is slightly above the national average due to a high rate of traffic fatalities.
How much car insurance do I need in Arkansas?
Arkansas drivers must carry proof of insurance coverage that includes at least $25,000 of bodily injury liability per person, $50,000 of bodily injury liability per accident, and $25,000 of property damage liability per accident. For most drivers, adding some amount of collision coverage and comprehensive coverage is also worthwhile.
Can you go to jail for not having car insurance in Arkansas?
Yes. While the penalty for driving without insurance in Arkansas is limited to fines, registration suspension, and vehicle impoundment for the first two offenses, you can go to jail for up to a year if you’re caught driving without insurance three or more times.
Is car insurance cheaper at 18 than 17?
Usually. While age isn’t the only factor insurance companies look at when setting rates, studies show that car insurance premiums go down by around 12% when a driver turns 18 years old.
How much does car insurance cost in Arkansas?
What makes Arkansas car insurance rates so high? A few factors: densely populated cities, high property crime rates, and a high percentage of uninsured motorists.
If you live outside of Arkansas’s major metropolitan areas, your premiums will likely be lower than the state average. But if your area has a high rate of property crime—and Arkansas has one of the highest in the country—you may see your rate rise. To make matters worse, almost 16% of drivers in Arkansas are uninsured, which makes average premiums higher for everyone else!
Here’s a rundown of what you need to know about car insurance in Arkansas.
As in most states, drivers in Arkansas are required to carry minimum liability insurance before hitting the road. This coverage includes $25,000 per person / $50,000 per accident in bodily injury liability and $25,000 per accident in property damage liability.
How much insurance do I need in Arkansas?
In Arkansas, minimum insurance requirements are $25,000 for bodily injury liability per person, $50,000 of bodily injury liability for each accident, and $25,000 of property liability for each accident. These minimum requirements are known as the 25/50/25 rule.
What do you need if you’re pulled over?
If you get pulled over, you are required to show your driver’s license, proof of insurance, and registration. Thankfully, digital insurance ID cards are accepted by police and the DMV so you will always have your stored proof of insurance available 24/7 in the Jerry app.
Is Arkansas a no-fault state?
No, Arkansas is an at-fault state This means the at-fault driver’s insurance will pay for the not-at-fault driver’s and passengers' injuries, once the at-fault driver’s insurance company accepts liability and confirms that there is enough coverage.
Arkansas only requires liability insurance, which protects other drivers (and your wallet!) in the event of an at-fault accident. Full-coverage policies, on the other hand, include comprehensive and collision insurance, which will pay for your medical expenses and repairs due to a range of incidents, from car theft to a collision.
Take a look at the graph below to understand how much you’re paying for each.
Cheap car insurance in Arkansas with a DUI or speeding ticket
High-risk drivers pay some of the highest rates for car insurance in Arkansas.
What makes a driver “high-risk”? It depends on who you ask—but most insurance companies will label you as high risk after a serious violation like a DUI or reckless driving charge, or if you have a repeated record of infractions. Even something as minor as a speeding ticket or a fender-bender can raise your rate!
Here’s just a sample of the savings that Jerry customers with spotty driving records have found:
Build up your credit history—a good credit score could win you a lower rate!
Shop around for the best rates with a licensed broker like Jerry
Arkansas auto insurance rates by city
In general, Arkansas car insurance rates are slightly higher than the national average due to dense urban populations with high rates of car theft and busy interstate traffic.
But those factors aren’t constant across the state. The cost of car insurance in congested areas like Little Rock or Fayetteville is higher than in rural areas with lower accident rates and less theft.
Compare the rates Jerry customers found in different Arkansas cities:
Harrison is the least expensive city for car insurance in Arkansas. Drivers in Harrison can expect average comfortable annual rates of $810.
City with Highest Rates of Accidents in Arkansas
Fayetteville has the highest accident rates in Arkansas, with 11.65% of drivers having a prior at-fault accident on their record. Between high accident rates and a high population density, Fayetteville drivers will have higher rates.
The vehicle you drive is one more factor that auto insurance companies look at when setting your rate. Let’s look at a couple of popular Arkansas vehicles to see how their average insurance costs compare.
The Nissan Altima is a hugely popular sedan for families and commuters in Arkansas. It’s affordable, practical, and safe—and Nissan Altima insurance costs are typically quite low, since its safety ratings are high and replacement parts are relatively inexpensive.
That’s great news if you drive an Altima—but Arkansas is also a truck state. If you drive a Dodge Ram or a Ford F-150, you’re looking at higher insurance costs. It’s not impossible to find cheap truck insurance, but you’re likely to pay more because safety is a lower priority for truck manufacturers, and the vehicles are usually more expensive to repair and replace.
The most popular vehicle in Arkansas is the GMC Sierra 1500. On average, Sierra 1500 drivers pay $1,580 a year in car insurance. Regardless of what vehicle you drive, you can save money by switching carriers with Jerry.
Do you need more than the minimum car insurance in Arkansas?
To operate a vehicle legally in the state of Arkansas, you must carry proof of insurance that meets the state minimum requirements.
But just meeting the state requirements might not give you all the protection you need. Liability insurance only covers expenses for other drivers if you’re at fault in an accident, and it won’t give you any coverage in the event of auto theft, severe weather damage, or vandalism. Minimum coverage is certainly the cheapest option, but it could cost you more in the long run.
Consider a higher coverage level, such as a car insurance policy that includes:
If you can afford it, purchasing full coverage car insurance is usually a good idea. But the term “full coverage” is a little misleading—there are actually even more coverage options you can add to your policy! Arkansas drivers should consider any of the options below:
Arkansas ranks very well in terms of least traffic and best road infrastructure, but you can never be too safe. Get collision insurance to protect your vehicle in the event that you have a collision and need your car repaired or replaced.
Arkansas received a 7.37 rating by its residents for road quality. C’s may get degrees, but it’s not exactly a stellar grade—get roadside assistance so you can get help if you ever hit the occasional pothole.
How to find the cheapest car insurance in Arkansas
You can always find ways to save on car insurance in Arkansas—even with bad credit, a spotty driving history, or a past accident. Here’s how.
Shop around for quotes
To find the best car insurance premiums, compare prices from different insurance providers. It’s a good rule of thumb to get quotes from at least three to five insurance companies.
Let’s take an example. USAA has some of the lowest auto insurance rates in Arkansas, but they’re only available to military members and their families. Progressive and GEICO claim to have the lowest rates—but drivers with poor credit may have a better chance of low rates with Allstate. And don’t overlook smaller regional insurers like Farm Bureau Insurance!
Look for discounts
Discounts are another great (and easy!) way to save money on car insurance. Most providers offer discounts, even if they aren’t advertised on the website.
Here are some popular car insurance discounts in Arkansas:
Clean Driving Record Discounts
Drivers who demonstrate a safe driving history are less likely to be in an accident, which saves insurance companies money. Expect great savings if you have a clean driving record.
Customers who buy home or renters insurance with the same carrier they get auto insurance from can often qualify for a bundling discount.
Drivers in Arkansas can qualify for a 10% insurance discount by taking a drivers ed course.
Safety Ratings and Anti-theft Discounts
Vehicles with good safety ratings and anti-theft technology are less likely to cause injury or get stolen. Carriers will reward drivers with a discount.
Increase your deductible
If your car insurance policy includes collision and comprehensive insurance, you’ll have a set amount you need to pay out of pocket before your insurance kicks in to cover a claim on your vehicle. That amount is called your deductible, and the lower it is, the higher your month-to-month costs will be.
Raising your deductible is one of the simplest ways to win a lower annual premium—but be cautious! Never choose a deductible that’s higher than what you could reasonably expect to pay in a lump sum. That’s setting yourself up for trouble down the road.