Jerry partners with more than 50 insurance companies, but our content is independently researched, written, and fact-checked by our team of editors and agents. We aren’t paid for reviews or other content.
The average cost of basic liability car insurance in New Hampshire is $2,307 per year. Opting for full-coverage car insurance in New Hampshire will leave you with an average cost of $2,031 per year. In comparison, the national average is $1,627 per year to buy basic liability car insurance and $2,297 per year to buy full-coverage car insurance.
Compare Best Car Insurance Quotes in New Hampshire
New Hampshire auto insurance companies base your rate on a wide range of factors, from your age, gender, and marital status to your ZIP code, your vehicle type and usage, and your credit score. That means your auto insurance rates could look very different from the averages shown above.
Take a look below at what real Jerry customers saved—and what they thought about the experience:
The best auto insurance companies for New Hampshire drivers include State Farm, GEICO, and Progressive—but the best company for you will depend on why you’re buying insurance and how much coverage you need.
You see, New Hampshire’s auto insurance laws are different from any other state. While just about every state requires all drivers to purchase car insurance as proof of financial responsibility, New Hampshire law only requires certain high-risk drivers to buy insurance after a violation.
Of course, it’s still a good idea to purchase insurance even if you’ve got a spotless record—that’s why New Hampshire actually has one of the lowest rates of uninsured drivers in the country!
On average, drivers in New Hampshire pay $760 per year for full coverage car insurance. But remember, things like your driving record, zip code, and even your marital status can impact your car insurance rates.
Is $200 a lot for insurance?
If you’re paying $200 a month for New Hampshire car insurance, you’re likely paying about the same as the average New Hampshire driver.
Are cars tax free in New Hampshire?
Not exactly. New Hampshire is one of only five US states with no sales taxes. This means you’ll only pay the sticker price for your new ride, with no added taxes. However, you’ll still be required to pay personal property tax on your car with each annual registration.
Does New Hampshire tax cars?
While New Hampshire doesn’t charge sales tax on cars (or anything else, for that matter), New Hampshire drivers do pay an annual personal property tax for their vehicles.
How much does car insurance cost in New Hampshire?
Good news: New Hampshire drivers enjoy some of the lowest average car insurance rates in the country!
There are a few reasons for that: low population density, a low number of uninsured drivers, and reasonable car repair costs all keep car insurance premiums in the Granite State well below the national average. Of course, some drivers will pay more, usually due to violations. Teen drivers also pay elevated rates (more on that in a minute!).
Here’s a rundown of what you need to know about car insurance in New Hampshire:
Each state has minimum insurance requirements that you must meet before you can legally hit the road. If you’ve got certain violations on your record—like a DUI, reckless driving, or a hit-and-run—you’ll be required to purchase a minimum liability policy including at least $25,000 per person / $50,000 per accident in bodily injury liability and $25,000 per accident in property damage liability.
You’ll have to file an SR-22 certificate proving that you’ve got coverage that meets those limits, and you’ll need to maintain that coverage for three years.
How much insurance do I need in New Hampshire?
New Hampshire doesn’t require insurance, but the DMV strongly recommends following the 25/50 rule. You should have a minimum of $25,000 of bodily injury liability per person and $50,000 per accident.
What do you need if you’re pulled over?
If you get pulled over, you are required to show your driver’s license and registration. Depending on your situation, you may be asked for your insurance ID card. Thankfully, digital insurance ID cards are accepted by police and the DMV so you will always have your stored proof of insurance available 24/7 in the Jerry app.
Is New Hampshire a no-fault state?
No, New Hampshire is an at-fault state that gives you the option of buying no-fault coverage. If you purchase personal injury protection (PIP), and are involved in an accident, you and your passengers will have medical expenses paid for immediately, regardless of who is at fault for the accident or if you have health insurance.
If you do not opt for this coverage, the at-fault driver’s insurance will pay for you and your passengers' injuries, once their insurance company accepts liability and confirms that there is enough coverage.
New Hampshire drivers who choose to buy liability coverage must also purchase equal amounts of uninsured motorist coverage (UIM) and at least $1,000 of medical payments coverage (sometimes called MedPay). UIM covers your medical costs if the other driver in an at-fault accident doesn’t have liability insurance or if you’re the victim of a hit-and-run, while MedPay offers broader coverage for medical expenses.
Collision insurance and comprehensive coverage, on the other hand, are never required by law in New Hampshire—but they’re still important. These are the only types of car insurance that can consistently cover damage to your vehicle from events like a car crash (collision) to vandalism, severe weather, and theft (comprehensive). They’re so important that a policy that includes both is often called a “full-coverage policy.”
Take a look at the graph below to understand how much you’re paying for each:
Cheap car insurance with a DUI or speeding ticket in New Hampshire
A DUI, a second speeding ticket, and an accident resulting in fatalities are just a few of the violations that can require you to purchase car insurance in New Hampshire. If you or a household member have any of these violations on your record, you’ll pay a higher annual rate.
That’s right—even if you’re a perfectly safe driver, someone else’s driving history could affect your premiums. That’s why having a broker like Jerry in your pocket can make such a big difference.
Check out the savings that Jerry users with violations found below:
If you’re new to driving, you’re more likely to make mistakes. That’s why drivers under 25 years old in New Hampshire have a statistically higher rate of accidents and violations—and why they pay some of the highest premiums in the state.
Teen drivers (and their families) pay the highest rates based on their age. New Hampshire ranks 11th in the nation for teen driver safety, but insurance companies still view young drivers as a higher risk. While you’re unlikely to enjoy the same low rates as your parents, you can still find a great deal on car insurance by shopping around and maintaining a clean driving record.
How can young drivers save money on car insurance in New Hampshire?
Safe driving: Drivers with a clean driving record are often eligible for insurance discounts, and by driving safe you’ll avoid rate-inflating accidents!
New Hampshire car insurance rates by city
Where you live in the Granite State can have a huge impact on how much you’re likely to pay for insurance.
Take New Hampshire’s biggest towns as an example. Manchester is the largest city in New Hampshire, and Manchester car insurance costs are fairly high for the state thanks to urban density and frequent car accidents. Nashua car insurance costs are also high—but if you’re shopping for a policy in West Ossipee, you’ll likely find much lower rates. That’s because rural areas and small towns tend to have lower rates of accidents, vehicle theft, and vandalism.
Here’s a more specific breakdown of insurance prices for Jerry across New Hampshire:
Cities with the Longest Commute Times in New Hampshire
Raymond has the longest average commute time in New Hampshire at 35 minutes. The longer your driving time, the more likely that you will get in an accident. Longer commutes also add miles to your vehicle—all of which raise premiums.
The higher your vehicle’s value, the more you’ll pay to insure it. But that’s just the beginning of the impact your ride can have on your car insurance premiums.
Anything that makes insurance claims more expensive—from hard-to-find parts and expensive accessories to low safety ratings or a speed-hungry V8 engine—can raise your rates. That’s why SUVs typically have lower insurance costs than sedans, and luxury cars and trucks tend to have elevated premiums.
Sticking to minimum coverage—whether that’s a bare-bones liability policy required by violations or the bundle of liability, UIM, and MedPay required for voluntary purchases—will keep your costs low. But it’s almost always a good idea to go beyond those coverage limits if you can afford it—and Jerry can help you with that!
Check out the features below for some key coverage types that New Hampshire drivers should consider:
New Hampshire ranks 45th nationally for its infrastructure and traffic. It is a good idea to have collision insurance so that you’re protected from accidents that result from poor driving or road conditions.
New Hampshire ranks 4th nationally for the least amount of vehicles stolen with only 1,044 vehicles stolen in 2020. Still, having comprehensive insurance is a good idea so you can rest easy knowing that you’re covered from incidents like theft, vandalism, and other non-collision damages.
In New Hampshire, 6.1% of drivers are uninsured. If an uninsured driver causes an accident, it can hurt you financially. Having uninsured/underinsured motorist insurance will cover you if you’re in an accident with a driver who doesn't have liability.
Arizona has a 6/10 rating for road quality by residents. New Hampshire roads have a lot of areas to work on. We recommend getting roadside assistance. Roadside assistance gives you perks like towing, flat tires, and more, so you’re looked after when you hit a stray pothole and need some help.
How to save money on car insurance in New Hampshire
Reducing your car insurance costs is easier than you might think! Here are a few simple ways to lower your premium in New Hampshire without sacrificing coverage.
Shop around for quotes
Comparing car insurance quotes might not sound like a great time, but it’s the #1 way to lower your car insurance premium. Ideally, aim to compare rates from at least three different insurance companies. You can make the process easier by working with a trusted insurance broker or using a car insurance comparison app.
Look for discounts
Car insurance discounts can save you a tidy bundle on premiums, especially if you can stack multiple discounts. But insurance companies don’t always advertise the discounts that are available, so it’s worth checking what you might be eligible for.
Here are some of the most popular discounts for drivers in New Hampshire:
Clean Driving Record Discounts
Low-risk drivers are far less likely to file a claim, so insurance companies will give them discounts. Saving money is a nice bonus for driving safely.
If you get home or renters insurance with the same carrier you have for your car insurance, you can save through a bundling discount.
Individuals that are married can qualify for a marital discount and save money on car insurance, as married people are statistically less likely to file an insurance claim.
Increase your deductible
Collision and comprehensive insurance both include deductibles—set amounts that you agree to pay out of pocket before insurance kicks in on a claim.
Typical car insurance deductibles are generally $500 or $1,000, but the higher your deductible, the less you’ll pay month to month to maintain the policy. If you’ve got enough cash on hand and you’d like to pay less, raising your deductible is a great way to free up some extra funds.
Just be careful—never pick a deductible that’s higher than what you could realistically pay out of pocket in the case of an accident.