How to Register a Car in Utah

If you just moved to Utah, you’ll need to head to your local DMV to complete your registration. After that, sign up for automatic renewals or renew online!
Written by Mariza Morin
Reviewed by Hillary Kobayashi
If you just moved to
, you’ll have 60 days to
register your vehicle
with your local Utah Division of Motor Vehicles (DMV) office. You might need a safety inspection first, depending on your vehicle type. 
Compare auto insurance policies
No spam or unwanted phone calls · No long forms
Find insurance savings

How to register a car in Utah

Registering a vehicle in Utah is a relatively simple process. You’ll need a few documents, including your driver’s license and a copy of your most recent registration. Additionally, you’ll need to have a Vehicle Identification Number (VIN) inspection done.  

If you just moved to Utah

New residents are given 60 days to register their vehicles. However, the state doesn’t provide a grace period to change your out-of-state license to a
Utah driver’s license
. So as soon as you enter the state with the intention of making it your home, you’ll need to head down to the Utah Department of Public Safety (DPS). 
But for your registration, you’ll need to go to your local Utah Division of Motor Vehicles (DMV) office
Depending on your vehicle type, you may need to get a safety inspection done before acquiring your registration in Utah. While the state has removed this requirement for most vehicles, the following vehicle types still require a safety inspection:
  • Salvage vehicles
  • First-time, street-legal ATV registrations 
  • Commercial vehicles
  • Motorhomes with three axles or a “Class 6” vehicle
Unlike most states, Utah doesn’t require a yearly mandatory safety inspection for all vehicles. If you’ve determined that you don’t need a safety inspection, then you’ll need to make an appointment to register your vehicle with your
local Utah DMV office
. Make sure to bring:
  • A copy of your most recent registration 
  • A valid driver’s license
  • Money for registration fees
  • Vehicle Identification Number (VIN) inspection 
Certificate of Inspection
, or Form TC-661, will be completed by a DMV employee at the time of registration. 
You may also need to bring your leasing company or lien holder information (if your certificate of title is being held out of state). And depending on your vehicle type and model year, you might need
emissions testing
done if you live in Cache, Davis, Salt Lake, Weber, or Utah counties. 
Registration fees vary from county to county and from vehicle to vehicle. To find out the exact fees for your particular vehicle, you’ll have to call the Utah DMV at 801-297-7780 or 1-800-DMV-UTAH (800-368-8824). Keep in mind that
uniform fees
may also apply. 
That’s it! Turn in your paperwork and pay the required fees at your local DMV office, and you’ll receive your Utah license plates and registration tags for your vehicle in no time! 

If you just bought a car

Similar to if you just moved to Utah, you’ll need to register your new vehicle with your local DMV office. Make sure to bring your vehicle’s title, driver’s license, proof of insurance, and a certificate of inspection (if required). 

How much insurance coverage do you need in Utah? 

If you just moved to Utah, new residents must purchase a new insurance policy or update their existing one to ensure it meets the minimum requirements in accordance with state law.
Minimum car insurance in Utah
Of course, purchasing more than the minimum required insurance is always a good idea. Consider adding
comprehensive coverage
for extra protection on the road.  

How to renew your Utah vehicle registration 

Luckily, the Beehive State makes it very convenient to renew your registration with automatic renewal. Just sign up for
Automatic Vehicle Renewal
through the Motor Vehicle Portal (MVP) and they’ll automatically email your upcoming registration renewal notice. This notice details any inspections needed and a time frame for completion, including the date when renewal requirements and fees will be verified. 
Once the renewal registration process is complete, the DMV will email your notice and receipt. Your decal and registration will be mailed to you as well. For this automatic renewal process, you’ll need to provide your bank account information for registration renewal payment.
If you don’t want to sign up for automatic renewal, the next best (and fastest) option would be to renew your vehicle registration online through
Renewal Express Online Registration
. You’ll need your renewal notice or the vehicle’s previous Utah registration, certificate of emissions or safety inspection (if applicable), and a valid credit card. 
Utah also has several
On the SPOT registration stations
around the state where you can renew your registration. If you go this route, you don’t have to wait for your decals to arrive in the mail. 
Renewing your registration by mail is also an option for Utah residents. To determine the required certificates and registration fees needed to complete your registration renewal through mail, you can find out what renewal information you need through the
Utah Motor Vehicle Portal
Once you figure out what renewal information you need to mail, just write a check payable to the Utah State Tax Commission and mail it to:
Motor Vehicle Division
P.O. Box 30412
Salt Lake City, UT 84130
Finally, you can always renew your registration at your local DMV office in person. Just make sure to schedule an appointment through the
DMV Appointment Scheduler
online before heading down to the DMV office. Some DMV locations have a drive-through option too. 
Your vehicle registration must be renewed annually in Utah. 

How to replace a lost registration sticker or license plate

In the unfortunate event that you lose your vehicle registration sticker or license plates, you can quickly request a replacement at your local DMV office. No special forms are needed, just a copy of your most recent registration, license plate number, or Vehicle Identification Number (VIN). 
Depending on what you’re getting replaced, you may have to pay a
replacement fee

How to save on auto insurance in Utah

In order to register your vehicle in Utah, you’ll need
auto insurance
coverage first. And
is here to deliver you the most affordable rates on all the coverage you need in record time! 
How does it work? Just download the
licensed insurance broker
app and answer some basic questions about your current coverage. Then in less than one minute, you’ll unlock multiple competitive quotes from a host of over 55 top insurance companies in the nation
Once you pick a new policy that works for you, our team of expert insurance agents will quickly get to work switching you over while helping you cancel your old policy. On average, Jerry customers save over $800 a year on car insurance when they switch! 
“I just had to buy a new car, and I needed quick help to get insurance before I could get my plates. Because I work so many hours,
was the ideal choice for getting things done without long phone calls and waiting periods.”  —Rosa G.
Compare auto insurance policies
No spam or unwanted phone calls · No long forms
Find insurance savings


To register a vehicle in Utah, you’ll need a copy of your most recent registration and Vehicle Identification Number (VIN) inspection, along with a valid driver’s license, proof of insurance, and money for registration fees. 
Depending on your vehicle type and model year, you might also need leasing company or lien holder information, an emissions inspection, and/or a safety inspection.
The exact fees for your vehicle registration will depend on your county and vehicle type. To determine the exact fees required for your particular vehicle, you’ll have to call the Utah DMV at 801-297-7780 or 1-800-DMV-UTAH (800-368-8824).
All publicly owned vehicles and vehicles leased by public entities are registered as “exempt” vehicles. Public entities include the State of Utah, counties, incorporated cities or towns, school districts, public colleges or universities, official vehicles owned by Indian tribes (recognized by the Federal Bureau of Indian Affairs), and Water Conservancy Districts.
Reduce your monthly car payments in minutes?
Find out if Jerry can reduce your payments by an average of $150/month
Check your rate!

Easiest way to compare and buy car insurance

No long forms
No spam or unwanted phone calls
Quotes from top insurance companies
Find insurance savings