How To Register a Car In Oregon

New to Oregon? You’ve got 30 days to title and register your vehicle with the Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV).
Written by Jessica Gibson
Reviewed by Amy Bobinger
background
To register your car in
Oregon
, you must title your vehicle with the state. You can mail the application, documents, and fees or visit a local Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) office. You’ve got 30 days after moving to Oregon to register.
There are a few other requirements your vehicle has to meet—but don’t worry, you don’t have to navigate them alone.
Jerry
is here to guide you through registering your car in Oregon.
Make auto loan refinancing easy with PriceProtect™
icon4.7/5 rating on the App Store | Trusted by 5+ million customers and 7 million cars
icon4.7/5 app rating | Trusted by 5M+ drivers

How to register a car in Oregon

Oregon makes it pretty simple to register your vehicle, but they do require you to title the vehicle in Oregon first. You’ll need the right applications, proof of ownership and insurance, an odometer disclosure, money for the fees, and possible a vehicle identification number (VIN) inspection.

If you just moved to Oregon

Congrats on moving to the Beaver State! You’ve got 30 days to get your Oregon driver’s license and register your car. Head to your local DMV to get your license. Once you’ve got it you can register your vehicle in person at the same office or mail your paperwork to the DMV.
To start, fill out the
Title and Registration application form
. On the application, you’ll need to provide:
  • Your contact information
  • Vehicle information (VIN, make and model, etc)
  • Odometer disclosure
    if the vehicle is newer than 2011
  • Lienholder information if you’re making payments on the car
  • Insurance company and policy number
Along with the completed application, bring the original title or ownership document. If you lost the title and your car is a model year 2011 or newer, you’ll need to obtain a replacement title. If the car is 2010 or older, fill out a
Replacement Title Application
. If you got your title in another state, contact that state’s Department of Motor Vehicles to get a replacement before you try to title your car in Oregon.
For proof of ownership, show the original lien release from any previous security interest holders. If you didn’t finance the car, show the original release or bill of sale from the previous owner. 
If your car has an out-of-state or foreign title, you’ll have to pay a $7 fee to get a vehicle identification number inspection when you go to the DMV. The official will look at your vehicle’s VIN to see if it matches the number on your application.
If you bought the car from out-of-state and it’s new or has less than 7,500 miles on it, you might be required to pay
vehicle tax
before you register it. Oregon charges one-half of one percent (0.005%) on the retail price of any taxable vehicle. Again, you’ve got 30 days to pay the vehicle use tax fee or you’ll be charged a five percent penalty.
Next, pay your title fee—this is based on the age and fuel efficiency of the vehicle, not by weight. Here are the current title fees:
  • Vehicle year is 1999 or older: $101
  • Vehicle year 2000 or newer and has 0-19 combined mpg: $101
  • Vehicle year 2000 or newer and has 20-39 combined mpg: $106
  • Vehicle year 2000 or newer and has 40+ combined mpg: $116
  • Electric vehicle: $192
Then, pay the registration fee, which is also broken down by age and fuel efficiency:
  • Vehicle year is 1999 or older: $126
  • Vehicle year 2000 or newer and has 0-19 combined mpg: $126
  • Vehicle year 2000 or newer and has 20-39 combined mpg: $136
  • Vehicle year 2000 or newer and has 40+ combined mpg: $156
  • Electric vehicle: $316
If your car doesn’t have Oregon license plates yet, pay the $24.50 fee to get them.
If you’re driving in Multnomah County, you’ll have to pay an extra $112 fee. Washington and Clackamas Counties also charge an additional $60 fee.
This might seem like a lot, but it’s everything you need to title and register your car. Submit all this paperwork and pay the fee at your local DMV or mail everything to:
DMV Services
1905 Lana Ave NE
Salem, OR 97314
Keep in mind that it takes around 5 weeks for the DMV to process applications by mail. 

If you just bought a car

Some dealerships charge an optional $115–$150 for filling out the title and registration application. They’ll send off the information to the DMV so you don’t have to. You’ll simply get your plates and tags in the mail. 
If you’d rather do the paperwork yourself, get the original title, bill of sale, or lien release. If you’re financing the car and making payments, contact the lienholder. They’ll probably have you send the documents to them and they’ll submit your title and registration application to the DMV.

How much insurance coverage do you need in Oregon? 

Every state has different insurance requirements and Oregon is specific in the coverage you’ve got to have. Buy new insurance or adjust your current policy, so you meet these
minimum insurance requirements
:
Remember, the DMV will check that you have the required car insurance before you can register your vehicle. If you want to go above and beyond the minimum requirements, get extra insurance like
collision
and
comprehensive coverage

How to renew your Oregon vehicle registration 

You have the choice of renewing your vehicle every two or four years. Your original registration fee covers your vehicle for a period of two years.
About a month before you’re due to renew, you’ll get a notice in the mail reminding you. You can also check your car’s registration sticker—registration expires on the last day of the month listed on the sticker. So, if your sticker says “10/23,” the registration expires on October 31, 2023.
It’s actually pretty easy to renew your vehicle registration in Oregon. The fastest way to do it is online at
DMV2U
. Log in and enter your vehicle information and renewal code. Finish the online application and pay the renewal registration fee. Once you submit the online application, expect to get your registration card and tags in the mail within a week.
You could also fill out a paper application (the same form you filled out when you initially registered your car) and include a check for fees. Mail the registration to:
DMV Services 
Attn: Renewal
1905 Lana Ave NE
Salem, OR  97314 
If you prefer, submit the information in person to the local DMV or Department of Environmental Quality, if you have to get emissions testing for your vehicle. Vehicles in Portland and Medford are typically required to get emissions testing if they’re older vehicles. 

How to replace a lost registration sticker or license plate

If your registration sticker fell off your plate or you suspect it was stolen, contact the DMV for replacement tags. Oregon issues a free replacement for the month tags, but you’ll have to fill out an application and pay a $10 fee to replace the year tags.
If you lost your license plates, unfortunately, you’ll have to fill out the registration application and pay the fees again. If your plates were stolen, file a police report and take the form to the DMV, so they know you are no longer responsible for the plates. 
MORE: Title transfer Oregon
“I wanted to buy my first car soon, so I needed cheap and fast insurance.
Jerry
was a lifesaver! Their fast and friendly service got me affordable insurance quickly! Thank you!” —Parker A.
Make auto loan refinancing easy with PriceProtect™
icon4.7/5 rating on the App Store | Trusted by 5+ million customers and 7 million cars
icon4.7/5 app rating | Trusted by 5M+ drivers

FAQs

You need a title application along with the title, lien releases or bills of sale from the previous owners, an odometer disclosure, a vehicle identification number (VIN) inspection (if the car has an out-of-state title), proof of car insurance, and all applicable fees.
If you haven’t titled your car in Oregon yet, pay the title fees which range from $101 to $192 plus the $24.50 plate fee. Then, pay the registration fee, which is based on the age and fuel efficiency of your car. This ranges from $126 to $316. 
A few counties charge additional registration fees. Multnomah County drivers can expect to pay $112, while Washington and Clackamas County drivers are charged a $60 fee.
Oregon determines registration fees based on the age and fuel efficiency of the vehicle. Trucks are treated just the same unless you’re registering a commercial truck that weighs over 26,000 pounds. (To register one of these, contact the Commerce and Compliance Department for specifics).
Anyone who is considered a non-resident like an active duty member of the military or full-time college student isn’t required to register their car in Oregon. Instead, you should be registered in your home state.
Reduce your monthly car payments in minutes?
Find out if Jerry can reduce your payments by an average of $150/month
Check your rate!

Easiest way to compare and buy car insurance

√
No long forms
√
No spam or unwanted phone calls
√
Quotes from top insurance companies
Find insurance savings