How to Register a Car in Arkansas

If you just moved to Arkansas, you have 30 days to register your vehicle online or at a local DMV—but you’ll need an active auto insurance policy first.
Written by John Davis
Edited by Sarah Gray
background
To renew your
Arkansas
vehicle registration yearly, you must provide your odometer reading, renewal identification number (RIN), and verification code.  Once you've got all your documents, you can renew your registration by mail, phone, online, or in person!
  • You must provide proof of ownership, an odometer reading, a renewal identification number, and valid car insurance to register your car in Arkansas.
  • You have 30 days to register your vehicle if you just moved to the state.
  • You can register online, by phone, by mail, or in person at the Arkansas OMV.
  • Penalties for driving without proper registration include fines, traffic violations, and difficulty securing car insurance coverage.

How to register a car in Arkansas

Registering a vehicle in Arkansas is easier than you might think. All you’ll need is a document proving your ownership of the car, an insurance card, and a
Federal Odometer Disclosure Statement

If you just moved to Arkansas

If you’ve just moved to the Natural State, you have 30 days to register your vehicle. Luckily, registration is simple and can be completed online through
MyDMV Arkansas
or any
Arkansas Office of Motor Vehicles
.
Before you get started, ensure you’re prepared with the following: 
  • Primary documents (Arkansas vehicle title, bill of sale, manufacturer certificate of origin,
    out-of-state title
    )
  • Insurance card
  • Federal Odometer Disclosure Statement
You may also need:
  • Personal Property Tax Number (PPAN) assigned from your county assessor
  • Lien contract/security agreement
  • Current year county tax assessment
  • Proof of paid sales tax receipt
Once you compile all the necessary documentation, you can submit your vehicle registration application.
You’ll need to pay a fee at the end of the application form. Fees vary depending on the car’s total weight, title fees, and local taxes in the city or county.
The base registration fees in Arkansas are:
  • $17.00 for vehicles 3,000 lbs and under 
  • $25.00 for vehicles between 3,001 and 4,500 lbs 
  • $30.00 for vehicles over 4,501 lbs 
Once you submit your form, you’ll receive email notifications regarding your title status. You can also check the status of your title
here
If your application is accepted, you’ll receive your license plate and
vehicle registration
in the mail. Your title will be mailed after all other documents have been received and processed. 

If you just bought a new car

If you purchase a new vehicle as a resident of Arkansas, you’ll need to complete a first-time registration along with a certificate of title transfer by filling out
this form
.
Make auto loan refinancing easy with PriceProtect™
icon4.7/5 rating on the App Store | Trusted by 5+ million customers and 7 million cars
icon4.7/5 app rating | Trusted by 5M+ drivers

How much insurance coverage do you need in Arkansas?

In order to register a vehicle, a new state resident must have an active Arkansas auto insurance policy that meets the
state minimum requirements
laid out by state law. 
Minimum
car insurance
requirements in the state of Arkansas includes: 
While a minimum requirement insurance policy will allow you to register your vehicle, it’s usually a good idea to purchase additional coverage, including extra liability,
collision insurance
, and
comprehensive coverage

How to renew your Arkansas vehicle registration

Before your Arkansas vehicle registration expires, you’ll receive a renewal notice in the mail alerting you that it’s time for renewal. If you fail to renew your registration, you'll be charged $3 every 10 days after the deadline unless you sign an affidavit stating you didn’t drive your vehicle after the expiration date.
You can complete your registration renewal online, in person, over the phone, or by mail. 
If you choose to renew online, you can use the
Streamline Auto Renewal
online service. To renew online, you’ll need: 
  • Your registration renewal card 
  • Odometer reading
  • Renewal Identification Number (RIN) and verification code 
  • A valid credit card
If you do not have a RIN, you can use the last four digits of your Vehicle Identification Number (VIN), license plate number, and zip code.
If you choose to renew in person at the revenue office, you’ll need:
You can call the toll-free number (888)-389-8336 to renew your registration over the phone, or you can send your paperwork and payment to the Department of Finance and Administration of Motor Vehicles.
Remember: In order to renew, you’ll need to assess and pay your personal property taxes and obtain or provide proof of auto insurance. 

How to replace a lost registration sticker or license plate

If you lose your vehicle registration decal or license plates—or if they’re damaged by severe weather or vandalism—you can replace them by requesting a
duplicate vehicle registration card

What happens if you don’t properly register your vehicle?

If you get caught driving without valid registration in Arkansas, you may face the following penalties:
  • Fines of $3 for every 10 days you don’t pay your registration
  • Traffic violation charges
  • Vehicle impoundment
  • Difficulty obtaining car insurance coverage
RECOMMENDED
Haven’t shopped for insurance in the last six months? There might be hundreds $$$ in savings waiting for you.
avatar
Judith switched to Progressive
icon savingsSaved $725 annually
avatar
Alexander switched to Travelers
icon savingsSaved $834 annually
avatar
Annie switched to Nationwide
icon savingsSaved $668 annually

FAQs

The following registration fees apply to passenger cars in Arkansas:
  • Vehicles 3,000 pounds or less: $17 registration fee and $2.50 decal fee
  • Vehicles 3,001 to 4,500 pounds: $25 registration fee and $2.50 decal fee
  • Vehicles over 4,500 pounds: $30 registration fee and $2.50 decal fee
In Arkansas, you must register your vehicle through the Arkansas Office of Motor Vehicles (OMV).
When you register your vehicle in the state of Arkansas, the state will mail you a copy of your registration. However, if you don’t want to wait for the copy to arrive in the mail, you can visit an
Arkansas Revenue Office
and pick up a printed copy. 
Yes—Arkansas requires all drivers to have valid registration stickers on their license plates.
Reduce your monthly car payments in minutes?
Find out if Jerry can reduce your payments by an average of $150/month
Check your rate!

Easiest way to compare and buy car insurance

√
No long forms
√
No spam or unwanted phone calls
√
Quotes from top insurance companies
Find insurance savings