Utah DUI Laws

Find out if you're getting ripped off on your car insurance in less than two minutes.
Find insurance savings (100% Free)
No long forms · No spam · No fees
Why you can trust Jerry
Jerry partners with some of the companies we write about. However, our content is written and reviewed by an independent team of editors and licensed insurance agents, and never influenced by our partnerships. Learn more baout how we make money, review our editorial standards, reference out data methodology, or view a list of our partners
Utah DUI laws state that any driver over the age of 21 cannot have a blood-alcohol level of 0.05% or higher. Utah’s "not-a-drop" law makes it illegal for any driver under 21 to have any alcohol in their system whatsoever.
Each year, over 10,000 people in the US are killed on the road as a result of drunk driving crashes.
Driving while under the influence of drugs or alcohol is a dangerous crime and penalties vary by state. Even a first-time offense can cost drivers up to $10,000 in fines and legal fees—and it will most certainly impact your car insurance rates, too.
The car insurance comparison and broker app Jerry has compiled everything you need to know about DUI laws in Utah.
RECOMMENDED
Compare auto insurance policies
No spam or unwanted phone calls · No long forms · No fees, ever

What is a DUI/DWI?

A DUI refers to driving under the influence while a DWI means driving while intoxicated or impaired.
Each state determines the difference between the two. Utah uses the term DUI in reference to anyone driving with alcohol, drugs, or a combination of the two in their system.
Intoxicated persons only have to be in physical control of a vehicle — it does not have to be in motion or running. As long as the intoxicated person is in a position of control, even if they are not conscious, they may be charged with a DUI.
Whether the person was in a position of control of the vehicle is determined by the court.
Key Takeaway The car does not have to be in motion for an intoxicated driver to be charged with a DUI.

DUI in Utah

In Utah, it is illegal to operate a vehicle with a blood-alcohol level of 0.05% or higher. Underage drivers are not permitted by law to have any alcohol in their system whatsoever. DUIs determined by BAC are referred to as per se DUIs.
A DUI is also defined by visible impairment due to the influence of drugs, alcohol, or both, regardless of the driver’s BAC, to the point where they cannot safely operate a vehicle.
Every state has an implied consent law stipulating that you consent to be tested if you’re suspected of driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs.
If you’re lawfully arrested for a DUI, you must submit to a urine, blood, or breath test. You do not have the right to consult with a lawyer before completing the test.

Penalties for DUI in Utah

Minimum and maximum penalties for DUIs in Utah are administered depending on the circumstances surrounding the offense. The most significant circumstance is the number of previous DUIs the offender has.
First offense
PenaltyDescription
FineMinimum $1,310
JailMaximum 180 days
License suspension120 days
Ignition interlock device1 year if BAC was 0.16% or more
SR-22 requirementYes
Second offense
PenaltyDescription
FineMinimum $1,560
JailMaximum 180 days
License suspensionRevoked for 2 years
Ignition interlock device2 years (with one or more prior convictions within 10 years)
SR-22 requirementYes
Third offense
PenaltyDescription
FineMinimum $2,850
JailMaximum 5 years
License suspensionRevoked for 2 years
Ignition interlock device2 years (with one or more prior convictions within 10 years)
SR-22 requirementYes
Key Takeaway Utah’s DUI penalties are more severe if the offender has had previous convictions.
RECOMMENDED
Compare auto insurance policies
No spam or unwanted phone calls · No long forms · No fees, ever

Does a DUI impact car insurance in Utah?

Yes, insurance companies take DUIs very seriously and you’ll be classified as a high-risk driver.
With a DUI on your record, you can reasonably expect that insurance carriers will charge you significantly higher rates or they may refuse to insure you entirely.
That’s where Jerry can help. Jerry quickly submits your info and presents you with quotes from up to 50 top providers, so that you don’t have to spend time reaching out to each company one by one.
Your insurance carrier will also be required to fill out an SR-22 to prove you have the state-mandated minimum insurance coverage.

Other effects of a DUI

Beyond the conviction penalties and higher insurance rates, DUIs can have some other lasting impacts on your life.
License revocation: After a DUI, you run the risk of having your license revoked if you’re charged with other serious offenses.
Ignition interlock device: All states have some type of ignition interlock program requiring drivers convicted of a DUI to install an interlock device in their vehicle to disable the engine if alcohol is detected on their breath.
Background checks: Your DUI will show up on a background check indefinitely, which can cause issues for future employment endeavors.

How to find cheap insurance after a DUI

Finding affordable insurance after a DUI conviction can be difficult on your own. No matter what your record looks like, Jerry can help. Once you choose a policy, Jerry will handle the phone calls, paperwork, and renewals for your top pick so that you don’t have to.
When your policy is up for renewal, Jerry is still on the job and will send you new quotes so you’re always paying the best price.
"Jerry brought my insurance deductible down from $2.5k to $1k without me having to switch companies. I even had a ticket on my record. If it can help me, Jerry will definitely help you save money." —Maxwell N.
RECOMMENDED
Haven’t shopped for insurance in the last six months? There might be hundreds $$$ in savings waiting for you.
Judith switched to Progressive
icon savingsSaved $725 annually
Alexander switched to Travelers
icon savingsSaved $834 annually
Annie switched to Nationwide
icon savingsSaved $668 annually

Easiest way to compare and buy car insurance

√
No long forms
√
No spam or unwanted phone calls
√
Quotes from top insurance companies
Find insurance savings — it's 100% free