Utah Car Insurance Laws
Find out if you’re getting ripped off on your car insurance in less than two minutes.
No long forms · No spam · No fees
- Minimum requirements
- Is minimum enough?
- No insurance penalties
- Cheap insurance
Utah requires drivers to carry a minimum amount of car insurance, summarized as 25/65/15. This stands for: $25,000 of bodily injury liability per person; $65,000 of bodily injury liability per accident; and $15,000 of property liability per accident.
Since Utah is a no-fault state, motorists must also carry a minimum limit of $3000 per person in personal injury protection (PIP) coverage.
If you’re looking for the easiest way to find car insurance in Utah, Jerry is a free-to-use AI-based app that is designed to help you save.
Once you download Jerry, just answer a handful of questions that will take you roughly 45 seconds to complete—and you’ll immediately get car insurance quotes from up to 50 top insurance providers. Jerry takes care of the rest—securing your new policy and canceling your old one.
No long forms. No calling around. No hard work. Just savings. The average Jerry user saves $879 a year on car insurance.
Jerry has compiled all the information you need to know about Utah car insurance laws. Keep reading to learn more.
What car insurance is required by law in Utah?
Drivers in Utah are legally required to carry a minimum amount of liability coverage and personal injury protection (PIP) coverage.
Like most states, Utah motorists are also expected to carry valid proof of insurance when driving.
The following is a brief breakdown of the state minimum insurance limits in Utah.
Utah minimum car insurance
|Type of coverage||Minimum insurance limit|
|Minimum liability coverage||25/65/15|
|Bodily injury per accident||$25,000|
|Bodily injury per person||$65,000|
|Property damage per accident||$15,000|
|Personal injury protection per person||$3000|
Key Takeaway Utah motorists are required to carry a minimum amount of liability and personal injury protection insurance.
What is personal injury protection (PIP) insurance?
Personal injury protection (PIP) insurance is a no-fault coverage that will help cover funeral expenses, medical costs, and lost wages associated with a car insurance claim.
Since Utah is a no-fault state, drivers are required to carry a certain amount of PIP insurance that will kick in regardless of who caused an accident. Utah requires a minimum of $3000 per person in PIP coverage—but you might want to increase your limits for added protection.
MORE: Lemon law Utah
Liability insurance in UT
Utah motorists are required to carry both bodily injury liability and property damage liability insurance. Liability coverage helps cover the cost of pain and suffering as well as property damage for other parties if you are at fault
Just remember that liability insurance will not cover your own costs that result from an accident.
Key Takeaway Utah is a no-fault car insurance state where drivers must carry PIP insurance in addition to the standard liability insurance minimums.
What are the mandated car insurance limits in Utah?
Utah motorists are required to carry basic liability insurance limits that are summed up as 25/65/15. They also need to have a minimum amount of personal injury protection insurance.
In total, Utah drivers need to carry four types of coverages.
Here is a breakdown of Utah’s minimum limits and what they will protect against.
$25,000 of bodily injury liability coverage per person: Your insurance provider will pay up to $25,000 per person to cover the cost of injuries if you are found to be at fault in an accident.
$65,000 of bodily injury liability coverage per accident: $65,000 is the total amount that your insurance company will pay per accident to cover the cost of injuries if you are at fault.
$15,000 in property damage liability per accident: Your provider will pay up to a maximum of $15,000 to cover the cost of property damage for other parties if you are at fault in an accident.
$3000 in personal injury protection (PIP) insurance per person: $3000 is the total amount that your insurance company will pay out to cover medical expenses related to an accident—regardless of who was at fault.
Should I get more coverage than Utah’s required insurance minimum?
Utah requires more comprehensive protection than some states—but this doesn’t mean you won’t be left vulnerable. For instance, $15,000 of property damage liability is unlikely to cover the full cost of a newer vehicle model.
For this reason, most experts recommend upgrading your liability coverage limits to 50/100/50 for added protection.
Utah drivers will also have to cover their own property damage out of pocket unless they are not at fault. Only comprehensive insurance and collision insurance will ensure that your own car is protected under most circumstances.
Using an intelligent AI-based tool like Jerry is the easiest and most effective way to find a car insurance policy that is customized for you. After providing you with a comprehensive cross-analysis of the best policy options across providers, Jerry will handle the phone calls, paperwork, and renewals for your top pick so that you don’t have to.
The average Jerry user saves $879 a year on car insurance.
What is the penalty for not having car insurance in Utah?
Motorists in Utah who fail to provide valid proof of insurance could face serious consequences—including fines and possible suspensions.
Penalties for failing to provide proof of car insurance in Utah
- A minimum fine of $400
- Fines of up to $1000 for subsequent offenses in a three-year period
- Required to submit an SR-22
- Possible registration suspension and $100 refiling fee
Key Takeaway Utah drivers need to carry valid proof of insurance or they could face legal penalties like fines and possible registration suspensions and fees.
Additional coverage options
Utah drivers that want to upgrade their minimum required car insurance limits can choose between these standard policy options that will be available through most providers.
Collision insurance will pay out up to your policy limit for damage to your car that is the result of a claimable rollover or collision.
Comprehensive insurance helps cover costs if your car is damaged by external circumstances like fires, floods, or theft.
Medical payments (MedPay) coverage
MedPay covers the cost of medical expenses for you and your passengers, regardless of who is at fault in the accident.
Loan/lease payoff coverage
Loan/lease payoff coverage (aka gap insurance) will cover the difference between what you owe on your totaled car and the settlement that you receive from your insurance provider following an accident.
Uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage
Uninsured/underinsured motorist insurance will cover you in an accident caused by someone who doesn’t carry enough insurance to cover your costs.
Roadside assistance coverage
Roadside assistance insurance, or towing and labor coverage, will ensure access to certain roadside emergency services if you experience an issue while driving.
Rental car reimbursement coverage
Rental reimbursement insurance will reimburse you for at least some of the costs of a rental car if your car ends up in the shop for repairs after a claim.
How to get cheap car insurance in Utah
If you’re shopping for car insurance in Utah, Jerry is a free broker app that will save you the legwork of comparing prices by generating competitive quotes from top providers in less than a minute. Jerry gathers your information from your past insurer, so you’re not responsible for any long forms or phone calls.
Basically, you get all of the savings and coverage with none of the hassle.
“I cannot express enough how amazing Jerry is! Jerry took all the work out of finding the best prices for the coverage I wanted—and they took care of everything including canceling the current policy I had so I didn’t have to. Amazing, amazing, amazing.”—Satisfied Jerry user
Is Utah a no-fault insurance state?
Yes. Utah is one of a handful of no-fault insurance states that require drivers to purchase personal injury protection insurance (PIP) that will apply regardless of who is at fault.
Is it illegal to drive without insurance in Utah?
Yes. It is illegal to drive without car insurance in Utah.
Haven’t shopped for insurance in the last six months? There might be hundreds $$$ in savings waiting for you.
Judith switched to Progressive
Saved $725 annually
Alexander switched to Travelers
Saved $834 annually
Annie switched to Nationwide
Saved $668 annually