When you need to access your driving record in Utah, you can order a copy online, in person, or by mail. A driving record is a synopsis of your complete driving history. It keeps track of everything from license suspensions and accidents to parking tickets and violations.
clean driving recordcan help you secure a
lower insurance premium, but a bad one can impact your ability to find reasonable insurance policies, take out loans, or even find a job! Citations like speeding tickets, running stop signs, and
DUIswill all show up on your record. You should always take all steps possible to avoid moving violations, big and small.
What is a driving record?
In Utah, a driving record includes an overview of your driving history and serves as a tally sheet for the number of points you’ve accrued from driving violations and traffic tickets.
There are three types of driving records in Utah:
- A standard Motor Vehicle Record (MVR)
- A Commercial Motor Vehicle Record (CDL)
- A Certified MVR
How to access your Utah driving record
You can access your Utah driving record online, by mail, or in person. You can choose whichever method you prefer, but requesting online is usually the most convenient.
Get your driving record online:
- Navigate to thedriving record request pageon the utah.gov website.
- Select Request New Record and indicate whether you’re requesting an MVR or a CDL.
- Fill out the form with your name, date of birth, driver’s license number and issue date, and the last four digits of your Social Security number.
- Pay the $8 fee via credit card or debit card.
Get your driving record by mail:
- Requesting a standard copy of your personal MVR or CDL: Fill out and notarize formDLD60M.
- Requesting a certified MVR: Fill out and notarize forms DLD60M andDLD266M.
- Enclose a check made out to the Utah Department of Public Safety: It’s$8 for an MVR/CDL or $10.75 for a certified MVR. Do not send cash.
- Send the form and enclosed payment to the following address: Department of Public Safety, Driver License Division, P.O. Box 144501, Salt Lake City, UT 84114-4501.
It may take up to two weeks or more to process your request form and receive your record.
Utah car insurance laws
Compare auto insurance policies
No spam or unwanted phone calls · No long forms · No fees, ever
Get your driving record in person:
For a standard MVR or CDL:
For a certified MVR:
- Visit the Utah DPS Driver License Administrative Office at 4501 S 2700 W 1st floor in Salt Lake City (Calvin Rampton Complex).
- Complete forms DLD60 andDLD266.
- Pay the $10.75 fee.
Expect to wait for two or more weeks to receive a copy of your driving record. Keep in mind that if you’re trying to obtain a driver record for someone else, you’ll need to qualify for the
Driver Privacy Protection Act (DPPA) permissible uses.
How to find cheap car insurance (even with a bad record)
Inevitably, your driving record is shared with your insurance company—meaning your coverage costs will be heavily influenced by your road performance, good or bad. Whether you have a perfect past or a ruined rap,
Jerrywill help you score the lowest possible rates on your car insurance.
Jerry is a
trustworthy licensed insurance brokerand car insurance comparison tool. It takes just 45 seconds to download the app for free, then Jerry will use the information you provide at sign-up to shop for rates across its network of 55+ name-brand insurance providers. Choose the quote that fits your needs, and Jerry will handle the rest—from helping you switch plans to canceling your old policy.
Find insurance savings (100% Free)
Let Jerry find your price in only 45 seconds
No spam · No long forms · No fees
How much does a Utah MVR cost?
Utah MVR pricing varies depending on the type of record you’re requesting. The cost of a standard MVR is $8. A certified MVR costs $10.75.
How can you clear a driving record in Utah?
Essentially, your driving record will be cleared with time—so long as you drive safely. If you drive for two or more years without a traffic violation, the points on your record are removed.
If time is very much of the essence, however, you can expedite the process by taking a defensive driving course. You can remove up to 50 points from your driving record once every three years.