The 10 Most Common Ways to Get a Suspended License in Utah

You can have your license suspended in Utah for violations such as driving without insurance or causing a fatal collision.
Written by Mary Cahill
Reviewed by Kathleen Flear
, your
driver's license
can be suspended for a variety of violations such as
driving without car insurance
, failure to appear in court for a traffic offense, or causing a fatal collision. The length of your suspension depends on how serious your conviction is.
Let Jerry find your price in only 45 seconds
No spam · No long forms · No fees
Find insurance savings

What can your license be suspended for in Utah?

There’s a wealth of reasons drivers can have their license suspended in Utah, but recent policy updates have welcomed new regulations to be wary of. In 2021, legislators in Utah passed
House Bill 143
, which prevents suspending someone’s license due to failure to pay a court debt or failure to appear in court for a low-level traffic violation
The law intends to avoid penalizing individuals facing poverty or financial hardship. However, the majority of regulations still stand, so let’s explore those further.

1. If you accumulate too many points

Utah utilizes a double-digit points system that differs from the single-digit system most states use. Here’s an example of how the point system is graded in Utah regarding speeding:
  • One to 10 mph over the speed limit: 35 points
  • 11 to 20 mph over the speed limit: 55 points
  • 21 mph over the speed limit: 75 points
A driver over the age of 21 who gets 200 or more points on their
Utah driving record
in three years will have their license suspended for three months. A driver under the age of 21 who gets 70 or more points in three years faces a license suspension between one month and one year. 

2. If you are convicted of a DUI

Drivers 21 or older will have their license suspended for 120 days for their first DUI offense. Drivers under 21 who are convicted of a DUI will have their license suspended for six months

3. If you refuse a breathalyzer test 

If you’re pulled over and the officer suspects that you’re driving while impaired, you are legally obligated to submit to sobriety testing. Drivers over 21 who refuse testing can have their license suspended for 18 months. Drivers under 21 who refuse testing can have their license suspended for two years or until they turn 21—whichever comes first. 

4. If you don’t maintain Utah car insurance

Utah drivers who cannot provide
proof of insurance
will face a potential license suspension until they can submit the necessary documentation. If you’re uninsured and get pulled over, you’ll also face fines

5.  If you drive with a suspended license 

If you’re caught driving with a suspended license in Utah, you will have your suspension extended for an additional time equal to the length of the initial suspension. You could also wind up paying a fine of up to $750 and spend 90 days in jail. 

6. If you fail to stop for law enforcement

When you realize the flashing lights in your rearview mirror are meant for you—pull over immediately. Failure to comply with the officer’s direction can land you a serious charge like resisting arrest, and you could also be looking at a license suspension.

7. If you are convicted of reckless driving

Utah state law classifies
reckless driving
as a class B misdemeanor. Not only will you run the risk of fines and potential jail time if you’re convicted of reckless driving, but your license could also be suspended for up to three months

8. If you don’t pay child support

If you’ve been court-ordered to pay child support and do not comply, you might end up with a suspended license. Utah’s Office of Recovery Services (ORS) has the legal right to suspend your driver’s license until the delinquent payments are fulfilled. 

9. If you commit a violation that causes death or serious injury

Being deemed
at fault
for a fatal collision is a serious situation. Depending on the circumstances of the crash, you could get your license suspended in the aftermath. 

10. If you engage in highway road racing 

Street racing is almost always considered reckless driving in the eyes of the law. According to Utah’s point system, you’ll garner 80 points for the offense, which could push you into license suspension territory

What’s the difference between a license suspension and revocation?

While these terms are often used synonymously when it comes to losing your driving privileges, they have different meanings. Here’s what they mean:  
  • Suspension of your license means you are legally barred from driving for a fixed period, but your license can be reinstated.
  • Revocation of your license refers to a more permanent cancelation of your license. You can only get a driver’s license again by submitting it to an investigation.
Utah’s Driver License Division (DLD) of the
Department of Public Safety
reserves the right to suspend your license for numerous violations like accumulating a high number of points on your driving record
Your license can be revoked for a more serious reason like drinking and driving while your license is already under suspension for a

How to save money on car insurance in Utah

There is life after having your license suspended. The good news is finding an affordable
car insurance
policy with a dicey driving record is possible with
by your side.
Saving money on your car insurance with Jerry has never been easier—even for
high-risk drivers
. Just download the
trustworthy comparison shopping super app
, answer a few general questions, and you’ll be scrolling through the most competitive quotes from over 55 top insurance companies in minutes. 
 “I’ve gotten pulled over a few times in the past. With
, the police never had an issue verifying my insurance. The app is convenient, easy, and cheap!” —Dalton T.
Are you overpaying for car insurance?
Compare quotes and find out in 45 seconds.
Try Jerry

Easiest way to compare and buy car insurance

No long forms
No spam or unwanted phone calls
Quotes from top insurance companies
Find insurance savings