Utah Reckless Driving

In Utah, reckless driving is usually a Class B misdemeanor, punishable by up to 6 months in jail, up to $1,000 in fines, and a potential license suspension.
Written by Jason Tushinski
Reviewed by Jessica Barrett
If you’re convicted of reckless driving in
, you can face up to 6 months in jail, up to $1,000 in fines, a potential license suspension of three months, and 80 points added to your
driving record
Make safe driving pay
Get rewarded for safe driving. Earn points and unlock benefits. Totally free.
Start earning now

How does Utah define reckless driving?

In Utah, reckless driving is defined as follows:
  • The act of willfully or wantonly operating a vehicle while disregarding the safety of people or property, or
  • Committing three or more moving violations under Title 41, Chapter 6a, Traffic code, meaning a series of acts committed within one continuous driving period that covers three miles or less of total distance
Ultimately, it will be at the discretion of a police officer to determine if your actions fall under the umbrella of reckless driving under Utah laws.

What are the penalties for reckless driving in Utah?

In Utah, reckless driving is usually considered a class B misdemeanor. It can be punishable by the following:
  • Up to 6 months in jail
  • A fine of up to $1,000
  • On a first offense, a
    driver’s license suspension
    of three months on the recommendation of a judge
  • On a second offense within a one-year period, mandatory license suspension
  • 80 points added to your Utah driving record
A reckless driving charge can be upgraded to a class A misdemeanor if:
  • An injury results due to the reckless driving incident
  • A passenger inside the vehicle was under 16 years of age at the time of the incident
  • The driver was 21 years or older and there was a passenger under 18 years of age at the time of the incident
  • Punishable by up to one year in prison
Reckless driving can become a third-degree felony in Utah if the following occurs:
  • A serious bodily injury is a result of the negligent behavior
  • The person charged with reckless driving already has 2 or more convictions within the last 10 years
  • Punishable by up to 5 years in prison and/or a $5,000 fine

How can I remove a reckless driving charge from my record?

If you have a reckless driving charge on your record in Utah, it can be removed from your record in the following ways:
  • After three years,
    driver's license points
    are automatically removed
  • Points can be removed earlier than three years if you are a careful driver
In Utah, if you drive long enough without accruing any moving violations, a portion of the total points on your record will be removed:
  • 1 year without any moving violations = half of all points on record removed
  • 2 consecutive years without any moving violations = all points removed from your record
If you complete a Utah driver improvement course, up to 50 points will be removed from your driving record. You can take one of these courses every 3 years.

Will reckless driving make my insurance go up?

A reckless driving charge will increase your
car insurance
premium, eventually. This price increase will happen once your
car insurance comes up for renewal
. At that point, the reckless driving charge (or any other moving violation you’ve been charged with) will be factored into your insurance costs.
In Utah, drivers can expect a reckless driving charge to boost their insurance payment by 41%, or about $490.
The best way to prevent your insurance rate from going up? Make sure you never get charged with reckless driving or any other serious moving violation. 
Making use of
safe driving tips
taking a defensive driving course
will not only make you a better driver but will also help you avoid any kind of driving behavior that can put you and other motorists at risk.

How to find affordable car insurance in Utah

If you’re convicted of reckless driving in Utah, you can expect your insurance rate to soar once your policy’s renewal time rolls around. However, all hope is not lost.
, you’ll be able to find a great
car insurance
policy at an affordable price whether you’ve got a clean driving record or a number of violations. Sign-up takes just under a minute, and then Jerry gets to work comparing
free insurance quotes
from more than 50 top insurance providers
Once you make your selection, Jerry signs you up for your new policy and even helps you cancel your old one. Best of all, Jerry will automatically search for better rates on your behalf before every renewal period!
“I signed up for a new policy with
help. I ended up saving $236 a month after my switch. Thank you, Jerry!” —Adelaide C.
rating reverse-full
"I’m earning
awesome rewards
every week, just for driving safe!”


Yes, you can—most reckless driving charges in Utah are considered Class B misdemeanors, punishable by up to 6 months in jail. However, depending on the severity of the incident, you can face up to 5 years in prison for a reckless driving conviction.
In Utah, the minimum penalty for reckless driving is a fine under $1,000, which may or may not be paired with jail time and a temporary license suspension.
Are you overpaying for car insurance?
Compare quotes and find out in 45 seconds.
Try Jerry

Easiest way to compare and buy car insurance

No long forms
No spam or unwanted phone calls
Quotes from top insurance companies
Find insurance savings