What are the fees for driving without car insurance in West Virginia?
I'm trying to understand if I can save money by not paying my premiums through GEICO. What are the fees if I get caught driving without insurance in the state?
“While letting your car insurance policy lapse may seem like an easy way to save money in the short term, the financial risks are significant.
If caught without insurance, you could face:
- license and vehicle suspension
- jail time of 15 days to one year
- a fine of anywhere from $200 to $5,000
Complying with West Virginia’s minimum liability insurance laws is the easiest way to avoid these risks.
If you’re looking to save money on car insurance, why not use a smart app like Jerry to make sure you’re getting the best rates? Jerry compares quotes from up to 50 providers to help you find the best price.”
Did this answer help you?
Ask us a question by email and we will respond within a few days.
Have a different question?
You can meet us at our office and discuss the details of your question.
Read advice from car experts at Jerry
Browse by topics
What others are asking
Is it illegal to drive without auto insurance in Illinois?
It's expensive to purchase car insurance in my zip code and I'm trying to save money to buy a house. What happens if I forego insurance?
Aug 03, 2021
Is it illegal to drive without car insurance in Virginia?
Do I have to insure my VW in the state? I'd rather pay a fee than month-to-month premiums if that's an option.
Aug 04, 2021
Can you drive without car insurance in Washington?
I don't want to pay for another insurance policy for my wife's new car. If you choose to do so, can you drive without car insurance in the state?
Aug 04, 2021