How To Get a Utah Motorcycle License

If you hold a valid driver’s license in Utah, you can get a motorcycle endorsement.
Written by Olivia Rose
Reviewed by Jessica Barrett
If you have a valid
Utah driver’s license
, you can add a motorcycle endorsement by first getting a motorcycle learner’s permit, then taking a driving skills test or designated riding course.

Do you need a license to operate a motorcycle in Utah?

Anyone operating a motorcycle in
must have a valid motorcycle endorsement on their license. That just means your driver’s license will have a fancy little designation that indicates you can also drive a motorcycle. You must be 16 years old to obtain a motorcycle license in Utah. 

How to add a motorcycle endorsement to your Utah driver’s license

The first step to getting a motorcycle endorsement on your license in Utah is to get a motorcycle learner’s permit. Here are the steps for getting a permit:
  • Visit a Utah Drivers License Division (DLD) office and bring your current Utah driver’s license
  • Take a photo
  • Pay a nonrefundable $18 fee
  • Pass a written 25-question motorcycle knowledge exam
You must hold your permit for six months before you are eligible to obtain a Utah motorcycle license. For the first 2 months, your permit has a few restrictions: no passengers, no riding between 10:00 pm and 6:00 am, and no riding on highways with a posted speed of more than 60 mph
Utah offers two options for the last step of securing your motorcycle license:
  • Complete an on-cycle motorcycle driving skills test, or
  • Complete a Motorcycle Safety Foundation Beginning Rider Course
If you choose to take a Motorcycle Safety Foundation Beginning Rider Course, you can bring your course completion certificate to a local DLD office to waive the motorcycle driving skills test portion. 
Make safe driving pay
Get rewarded for safe driving. Earn points and unlock benefits. Totally free.
Start earning now

How to get a motorcycle-only license in Utah

Utah doesn’t offer motorcycle-only licenses, only motorcycle endorsements on existing driver’s licenses. 
If you are 19 or older in Utah, you can obtain a driver’s license without a learner’s permit. You will need to complete a written test as well as a behind-the-wheel driving skills test. 

How to save on car and motorcycle insurance in Utah

The good news about driving a motorcycle?
Motorcycle insurance
is almost always
cheaper than car insurance
But what do you do when you ride a motorcycle and drive a car in Utah? You could be looking at a big pile of insurance premiums each month. Well, that’s where Jerry can save the day. 
Jerry exists because, until recently, finding a good deal on a
car insurance
policy was like finding a bucket of gold at the end of a rainbow. In short, we make comparison shopping for car insurance fast, easy, and successful — saving our average users over $800/year (each) on car insurance.
rating reverse-full
"I’m earning
awesome rewards
every week, just for driving safe!”


Utah law states that anyone under the age of 21 operating a motorcycle must wear a helmet. That’s much less strict than most other states that require all motorcycle riders to wear a helmet. Regardless of the laws, we highly recommend wearing a helmet while operating a motorcycle in any capacity. Failure to do so could be deadly.
You must be at least 16 years of age to have a motorcycle endorsement on your license and legally operate a motorcycle in Utah.
It costs $18.00 to obtain a motorcycle endorsement on your license in Utah. Additionally, each year that you renew the endorsement, you will need to pay $18.00.
Are you overpaying for car insurance?
Compare quotes and find out in 45 seconds.
Try Jerry

Easiest way to compare and buy car insurance

No long forms
No spam or unwanted phone calls
Quotes from top insurance companies
Find insurance savings