Expert Advice for State Laws

All Articles on State Laws

Electric Cars Have Been Around Way Longer Than You Think
Sales on electric cars are up 50% over the past 5 years as more EVs enter the market. Inspired from the past, EVs like the Riker Electric roadster date back to 1896.
avatar
Carlos Kirby
Sep 17, 2021
Missouri Cracks Down on Expired Temp Tags With a New Law
Missouri makes drivers pay for sales tax and plates at the DMV, but it's a problem. The state lost 26 million in sales tax because drivers would rather let their tags expire.
avatar
Carlos Kirby
Sep 17, 2021
Washington May Have Less Police Chases Due to This New Law
A new Washington law will make it much rarer for police to chase down suspects in cars. What are the potential impacts of the new law?
avatar
Ru Chen
Aug 20, 2021
Mexico and the U.S. Announce Plans to Resolve Labor Complaint
Mexico and the U.S. have announced plans to facilitate a revote to decide whether to keep an existing union for a Silao plant. The vote was reportedly skewed by the existing union.
avatar
Jane Lu
Aug 15, 2021
What Are the Car Seat Laws in Minnesota?
The Minnesota car seat law requires children to be buckled in a car seat or booster seat until they’re eight years old or until they reach 4’9” in height.
avatar
Tom Hindle
Aug 10, 2021
Washington Car Seat Law
Washington state car seat laws require that all children under 4 feet 9 inches must use a car seat or booster seat. Kids under 2 must be rear-facing.
avatar
Bonnie Stinson
Jul 29, 2021
Arizona Car Seat Law
Arizona child car seat laws require that children under 8 and less than 4 feet 9 inches must use a car seat or booster seat.
avatar
Bonnie Stinson
Jul 29, 2021
What Are the Car Seat Laws in Wisconsin?
Wisconsin car seat laws require children under the age of four to be in a child restraint seat. They can then transition to a booster seat until they weigh at least 80 pounds.
avatar
Tom Hindle
Aug 04, 2021
What Are the Car Seat Laws in Colorado?
Colorado car seat laws require that children under the age of eight or less than 4’9” tall ride in a child safety seat or a booster seat.
avatar
Tom Hindle
Aug 10, 2021
Virginia Car Seat Law
Virginia car seat laws require that children under 8 use a child safety seat. There is no restriction based on height or weight.
avatar
Bonnie Stinson
Jul 29, 2021
Car Seat Laws in Maryland
Maryland car seat laws require children under eight to ride in an approved child restraint seat until they’re 4’9”.
avatar
Tom Hindle
Aug 27, 2021
Car Seat Laws in Missouri
Missouri car seat laws require children under four years old to be in an approved car seat.
avatar
Tom Hindle
Jul 27, 2021
Car Seat Laws in Indiana
Indiana car seat laws require children under eight to be secured in a child restraint system that meets the manufacturer’s specifications.
avatar
Tom Hindle
Jul 27, 2021
Car Seat Laws in Nebraska
Nebraska’s car seat laws cover children up to the age of 8, but safety precautions are still in place until they’re 18. Learn more about Nebraska’s laws.
avatar
Michelle Ballestrasse
Jul 27, 2021
Car Seat Laws in New Mexico
Car seat laws in New Mexico are a little confusing in that the guidelines are based on age or height and weight.
avatar
Michelle Ballestrasse
Jul 27, 2021
Car Seat Laws in Kansas
Car seat laws in Kansas require kids under the age of eight to use an appropriate restraint system.
avatar
Michelle Ballestrasse
Jul 27, 2021
Car Seat Laws in Mississippi
Mississippi car seat laws require different restraints for kids based on height and weight until the age of seven.
avatar
Michelle Ballestrasse
Jul 27, 2021
Car Seat Laws in Arkansas
Car seat laws in Arkansas apply to kids up to the age of 15 and recommend that drivers follow the American Academy of Pediatrics guidelines.
avatar
Michelle Ballestrasse
Jul 27, 2021
Car Seat Laws in Nevada
Nevada car seat laws adhere to the NHTSA guidelines and require children under the age of six to use a restraint system or booster seat.
avatar
Michelle Ballestrasse
Jul 27, 2021
Car Seat Laws in Iowa
Iowa’s car seat laws cover children up to the age of 18 and are mostly based on age rather than height and weight.
avatar
Michelle Ballestrasse
Jul 27, 2021
Car Seat Laws in Utah
Utah car seat laws apply to children up to the age of eight and defer to manufacturer recommendations.
avatar
Michelle Ballestrasse
Jul 27, 2021
Car Seat Laws in Connecticut
Connecticut car seat laws follow the guidelines of the American Academy of Pediatrics and are based on your child’s height, weight, and age.
avatar
Michelle Ballestrasse
Jul 27, 2021
Car Seat Laws in Oklahoma
Oklahoma car seat laws primarily apply to kids younger than eight or shorter than 4’9”. All kids should ride in the back seat.
avatar
Michelle Ballestrasse
Jul 27, 2021
Car Seat Laws in Oregon
Oregon car seat laws apply to kids until they reach a certain height and age. Learn what they need to do to stay safe at every age and size.
avatar
Michelle Ballestrasse
Jul 27, 2021
Car Seat Laws in Kentucky
Kids up to the age of eight will have different restraint requirements depending on their height and weight per Kentucky law.
avatar
Michelle Ballestrasse
Jul 27, 2021
Car Seat Laws in Louisiana
Louisiana car seat laws apply to kids and teens up to the age of 18. Learn how they work for each age group.
avatar
Michelle Ballestrasse
Jul 27, 2021
Car Seat Laws in Alabama
Alabama car seat laws are designed to protect kids up to the age of 15 and have particular provisions for different age groups.
avatar
Michelle Ballestrasse
Jul 27, 2021
Lemon Laws in Wyoming
Lemon laws in Wyoming, like in other states, have their own specifications and requirements. Learn how to protect yourself if you wind up with a lemon in Wyoming.
avatar
Michelle Ballestrasse
Jul 26, 2021
Lemon Laws in Vermont
Vermont lemon laws cover defects in vehicles purchased, leased, or registered within the state for personal or household use.
avatar
Michelle Ballestrasse
Jul 26, 2021
Lemon Laws in Alaska
Alaska lemon laws apply to new cars purchased or leased in the state that develop defects that aren’t fixed within 3 attempts.
avatar
Michelle Ballestrasse
Jul 26, 2021

Easiest way to compare and buy car insurance

√
No long forms
√
No spam or unwanted phone calls
√
Quotes from top insurance companies
Find insurance savings — it's 100% free