If you need to file an SR-22 with your
Wisconsin car insurance policybut don't own a car, you’ll need a non-owner SR-22.
What is SR-22 insurance?
If you’ve lost your driving privileges because of a major moving violation, such as an
DUIor reckless driving, Wisconsin may require proof that you have the state’s minimum liability limits as part of getting your driving privileges back.
Filing an SR-22 certificate is part of this process.
Wisconsin auto insurance requirements
Based on Wisconsin state requirements, anyone who owns a vehicle must have the following minimum liability insurance:
You can get higher amounts of coverage or additional types of insurance, which is always a great idea, but this is the minimum required by law.
If you have to meet SR-22 requirements, you need to be able to prove you at least have a liability-only policy.
Who needs an SR-22?
Here are some reasons you can be required to file an SR-22 in Wisconsin:
- DUI or OWI (Operating While Intoxicated)
- Driving without a license
- Driving without insurance
- Too many demerit points on your license
You can also lose driving privileges for things like using fake proof of insurance or failing to pay child support.
Beyond paying for all the paperwork and reinstatement fees, your
car insurance rateswill go up if you file an SR-22 with the state.
How to get non-owner SR-22 insurance in Wisconsin
Let’s say you get stuck with an SR-22 filing requirement but don’t own a vehicle. In that case, you want to look at a non-owner car insurance policy.
Non-owner car insurancegives drivers liability coverage if they don’t own a vehicle, but regularly borrow or rent cars.
If you need a non-owner SR-22 policy, do the following:
- Check with local insurance agencies to see if they have non-owner insurance for drivers with an SR-22 requirement.
- Be sure to get at least three to five quotes before you pick a policy. Comparing car insurance quotes is your best option for finding affordable coverage, no matter the circumstances.
Depending on the reason you must file an SR-22, you’ll have to keep a non-owner policy for anywhere from three to five years, plus you’ll need to be able to prove that you have the SR-22 at any point you are asked, such as during a traffic stop.
But once the time is up, be sure you don’t drop insurance coverage if you are still going to drive, otherwise, you could be looking at having your license revoked all over again. At the very least, keep Wisconsin’s insurance minimum to avoid getting into trouble again.
“My past tickets were making it hard to find affordable insurance. WithJerry, I went from paying $450/month to $273/month. They took care of everything—such a relief!” —Josephine R.
Compare auto insurance policies
No spam or unwanted phone calls · No long forms · No fees, ever
Can anyone get an SR-22 in Wisconsin?
You only need to file an SR-22 certificate in Wisconsin if you have a serious violation, not something minor. For example, while multiple speeding tickets could raise your insurance premium, you wouldn’t be asked to get an SR-22 certificate.
How long does an SR-22 last in Wisconsin?
In Wisconsin, you’ll have a three-year requirement, so you’ll have to keep the right coverage to avoid getting into even more trouble. However, you can be required to have it for longer for additional or more serious violations