Wisconsin Car Insurance Laws—All You Need to Know

Find out if you’re getting ripped off on your car insurance in less than two minutes.
No long forms · No spam · No fees
Wisconsin law requires all drivers to have liability coverage and uninsured motorist coverage. The state-mandated limits for minimum liability coverage in Wisconsin follow a 25/50/10 pattern: $25,000 in bodily injury coverage per person, $50,000 in bodily injury coverage per accident, and $10,000 in property damage coverage per accident.
The limits for minimum uninsured motorist coverage follow a 25/50 pattern: $25,000 in bodily injury coverage per person and $50,000 in bodily injury coverage per accident.
The car insurance comparison app Jerry can tell you everything you need to know about Wisconsin car insurance requirements—from mandated minimums, to optional coverage, to penalties for driving without proof of insurance.
Jerry can also help you find the cheapest rates on your car insurance—at no cost to you! Browse through curated insurance quotes from top providers to find the cheapest plans in the blink of an eye.
Here’s all you need to know about car insurance laws in Wisconsin.
RECOMMENDED
Compare auto insurance policies
No spam or unwanted phone calls · No long forms · No fees, ever

Car insurance requirements in Wisconsin

Wisconsin drivers must have liability coverage and uninsured motorist coverage to meet state requirements.
This is a brief summary of the minimum car insurance limits for Wisconsin:
Minimum Liability Coverage: 25/50/10Uninsured Motorist Coverage: 25/50
$25,000 bodily injury per person$25,000 bodily injury per person
$50,000 bodily injury per accident$50,000 bodily injury per accident
$10,000 property damage per accident

What is liability coverage?

Liability coverage covers bodily injury and property damage expenses to other drivers in accidents where you are at fault.
This includes expenses like a totaled vehicle or an ambulance bill. Liability coverage does not cover your own damages or expenses in a collision where you are at fault.

What is uninsured motorist coverage?

Uninsured motorist coverage covers you in the unfortunate case that you are a victim of a car accident where the at-fault driver does not have insurance.
Uninsured motorist coverage will cover medical expenses like ambulance and hospital bills.
Key Takeaway You must have liability coverage and uninsured motorist coverage to drive legally in Wisconsin.

State-mandated car insurance limits

A car insurance “limit” is the maximum amount of coverage your provider will give you in a particular coverage category. A state-mandated car insurance limit is a legally required minimum that you must have with your insurance provider.

State-mandated limits for liability coverage in Wisconsin

Drivers requiring auto insurance in Wisconsin must have liability coverage that follows a 25/50/10 pattern.
Here is a more detailed explanation of what these limits mean:
  • $25,000 of bodily injury liability coverage per person: your insurance provider will contribute no more than $25,000 in bodily injury coverage per person in an accident where you are at fault.
  • $50,000 in bodily injury coverage per accident: your insurance provider will contribute no more than $50,000 in bodily injury coverage per accident in an accident where you are at fault.
  • $10,000 in property damage liability coverage per accident: your insurance provider will contribute no more than $10,000 in property damage coverage per accident in an accident where you are at fault.

State-mandated limits for uninsured motorist coverage in Wisconsin

The state-mandated limits for uninsured motorist coverage in Wisconsin follow a 25/50 pattern.
Here is a more detailed explanation of what these limits mean:
  • $25,000 in bodily injury coverage per person: your insurance provider will contribute no more than $25,000 in bodily injury coverage per person in an accident where the at-fault driver is uninsured.
  • $50,000 in bodily injury coverage per accident: your provider will contribute no more than $50,000 in bodily injury coverage per accident in an accident where the at-fault driver is uninsured.
Key Takeaway The mandated limits for liability coverage in Wisconsin are $25,000 bodily injury coverage per person, $50,000 bodily injury coverage per accident, and $10,000 property damage coverage per accident. The mandated limits for uninsured motorist coverage in Wisconsin are $25,000 bodily injury coverage per person and $50,000 bodily injury coverage per accident.

Optional car insurance coverage in Wisconsin

Wisconsin requires all insurance providers to offer uninsured motorist coverage and medical payments (MedPay) to those buying insurance.
These types of insurance are not legally required in order to drive in Wisconsin:
  • Underinsured motorist coverage: Underinsured motorist covers your own medical expenses if you are the victim of a collision with an at-fault driver who doesn’t have adequate insurance coverage.
  • Medical payments (MedPay) insurance: Medical payments (MedPay) covers the cost of medical bills or funeral expenses resulting from a collision.
  • Comprehensive coverage: Comprehensive coverage can cover the costs of physical damages to your vehicle that are not the result of a collision (such as vandalism).
  • Collision coverage: Collision coverage can help you cover the cost of repairs for your vehicle after a collision with another vehicle or fixed object.
  • Roadside assistance: Roadside assistance helps with things like fixing flats, towing, or jumping batteries. The type of coverage will vary among policies and companies.
  • Rental car reimbursement: Rental car reimbursement will cover the cost of a rental vehicle if you are unable to drive your car.

Do Wisconsin’s insurance minimums provide enough coverage?

Wisconsin’s insurance minimums are on par with other states, but that doesn’t mean that you shouldn’t look into additional coverage.
Along with the optional coverages listed above, you should consider purchasing higher limits for your liability and uninsured motorist coverages. A $10,000 property damage limit can be immediately exceeded if you cause a collision with a luxury car; moreover, a $50,000 limit for bodily injury liability per accident can be quickly exhausted if you injure multiple people in an at-fault accident.
Key Takeaway There are additional optional forms of car insurance available in Wisconsin, such as underinsured motorist coverage, MedPay, collision coverage, and comprehensive coverage. It’s a good idea to look into both optional coverage options and higher limits to be adequately insured.

Where to buy car insurance in Wisconsin

Whether you are driving in Wisconsin or another of the 50 states, Jerry can always help you find the cheapest car insurance—without sacrificing any of your coverage needs.
Jerry is a car insurance comparison app that generates cheap insurance quotes from top insurance providers based on your information and coverage needs.
On top of that, Jerry does all the calls and paperwork for you—shopping for car insurance has never been so easy or hassle-free!
Best of all? It’s always free to you—plus, the average Jerry customer saves $879 a year on car insurance. What’s not to love?
“I definitely like this app. It was quick, simple, and saved me the headache of searching for the best policy on my new car. I am also saving good money on my car insurance!” — Satisfied Jerry user
RECOMMENDED
Compare auto insurance policies
No spam or unwanted phone calls · No long forms · No fees, ever

FAQs

Is it mandatory to have car insurance in Wisconsin?

Yes. Wisconsin drivers must have liability coverage following a 25/50/10 pattern and uninsured motorist coverage following a 25/50 pattern.

What is the minimum car insurance in Wisconsin?

To drive legally in Wisconsin, you must have liability coverage and uninsured motorist coverage.
The state-mandated limits for minimum liability coverage in Wisconsin follow a 25/50/10 pattern: $25,000 in bodily injury coverage per person, $50,000 in bodily injury coverage per accident, and $10,000 in property damage coverage per accident. The limits for minimum uninsured motorist coverage follow a 25/50 pattern: $25,000 in bodily injury coverage per person and $50,000 in bodily injury coverage per accident.
RECOMMENDED
Haven’t shopped for insurance in the last six months? There might be hundreds $$$ in savings waiting for you.
avatar
Judith switched to Progressive
icon savingsSaved $725 annually
avatar
Alexander switched to Travelers
icon savingsSaved $834 annually
avatar
Annie switched to Nationwide
icon savingsSaved $668 annually

Easiest way to compare and buy car insurance

√
No long forms
√
No spam or unwanted phone calls
√
Quotes from top insurance companies
Find insurance savings — it's 100% free