Car Seat Laws in Illinois
Find out if you’re getting ripped off on your car insurance in less than two minutes.
No long forms · No spam · No fees
- What is it?
- Driving record
- Insurance implications
- Cheap insurance
Illinois car seat laws require that children under the age of eight must use an appropriate child restraint system that is covered by the Child Passenger Protection Act, while children under two must be secured in a rear-facing car seat.
Breaking car seat laws could earn you fines, along with putting young passengers in danger.
That’s why the car insurance broker and comparison shopping app Jerry has compiled everything you need to know to adhere to the car seat laws in Illinois.
What is the car seat law in Illinois?
Children under eight are required to be secured with an appropriate child restraint system that is covered by the Child Passenger Protection Act, while children under two need to ride in a rear-facing car seat in the back seat.
For older children, safety restraint systems, like booster seats, need to be installed according to the manufacturer’s guidelines.
Make sure to follow the height and weight guidelines of the car seat to be sure that you’re adhering to the law.
Key Takeaway Children under the age of two need to ride in a rear-facing car seat in the back seat, while children under the age of eight need to be secured with an appropriate child restraint system.
What are the penalties for breaking the car seat law in Illinois?
You could be fined $25 the first time you violate Illinois state law and $75 for violating the Child Passenger Protection Act.
Subsequent violations will cost you $200.
Key Takeaway Breaking the car seat law in Illinois will earn you a $25 fine for violating Illinois car seat laws and an additional $75 for violating the Child Passenger Protection Act.
Can breaking the car seat law impact my driving record?
No, you should not get any points added to your record for breaking the car seat law in Illinois.
Compare auto insurance policies
No spam or unwanted phone calls · No long forms · No fees, ever
How breaking car seat laws can impact insurance in Illinois
A ticket for breaking the Illinois car seat law will not result in points on your record.
However, if you don’t pay the fine immediately, it could affect your credit score—which would impact your car insurance.
In Illinois, car insurance companies are allowed to use credit scores as a factor in determining risk. The lower your credit, the higher your premium might be.
Finding cheap car insurance
Jerry is your ultra-talented car insurance broker for life. If you’re looking for a new insurance company, Jerry can provide you with competitive quotes in under a minute. No need to sit across from him at a desk—Jerry is an app!
It takes less than a minute to sign-up and you’ll be presented with competitive rates from up to 50 top providers. Oh, and it’s free! Don’t lose coverage, find savings with Jerry.
“Using this app got me the lowest rates I’ve seen, and I did it all online.” - Satisfied Jerry user
Haven’t shopped for insurance in the last six months? There might be hundreds $$$ in savings waiting for you.
Judith switched to Progressive
Saved $725 annually
Alexander switched to Travelers
Saved $834 annually
Annie switched to Nationwide
Saved $668 annually