Seat-Belt Laws in Illinois

Find out if you’re getting ripped off on your car insurance in less than two minutes.
No long forms · No spam · No fees
  • What are they?
  • Noncompliance
  • Cheap car insurance
Illinois seat-belt laws state that anyone in a moving vehicle over the age of eight (children under the age of eight should be seated in child restraint systems) must wear a seat-belt.
Seat-belts save lives, so using them is an important way to stay safe. Car insurance and brokerage app, Jerry, has compiled the following guide to help you understand Illinois seat-belt laws.
Learn more by reading below.
RECOMMENDED
Compare auto insurance policies
No spam or unwanted phone calls · No long forms · No fees, ever

What are the seat-belt laws in Illinois?

Illinois’ seat-belt laws state that anyone in a moving vehicle over the age of eight (children under the age of eight should be seated in child restraint systems), whether they be a passenger or the driver, must wear a seat-belt.
If your car predates mandatory seat-belts or if it doesn’t have enough for any particular reason, this is still not considered a valid reason for not buckling up.
The driver is responsible for every passenger who violates the seat-belt law, regardless of their age.
Key Takeaway Seat-belt laws in Illinois require all of the people inside of a moving vehicle who are over the age of eight to wear a seat-belt.

What happens if you break the seat-belt laws in Illinois?

Breaking the seat-belt law in Illinois will result in a fine of $25 plus court costs and administration fees.
In addition, the violation is considered a petty offense, which can result in mandatory attendance at an approved Traffic Safety School or a conviction on your driving record. If you have a clean driving record, you may not receive a conviction.

Could it impact my driving record?

If you do not have any prior convictions on your driving record for seat-belt-related offenses, you will receive a citation on your driving record, but you will not incur any points on your license.

Could it impact my insurance?

Possibly. If you receive multiple citations for breaking seat-belt laws, this could result in a hike in your car insurance premiums.
Insurance companies use your driving record as a guide when assessing your risk as a driver. Companies often charge more for drivers who are determined to be higher risk, and they can even refuse to insure a driver.
Key Takeaway Breaking Illinois’ seat-belt laws can increase your insurance rates if you have prior citations.
RECOMMENDED
Compare auto insurance policies
No spam or unwanted phone calls · No long forms · No fees, ever

Finding cheap car insurance in Illinois

There are more important reasons than your driving record to use your seat-belts. But mistakes happen. This doesn’t mean that cheap car insurance is now off the table forever if you have a citation.
Jerry is still on your side when it comes to finding great car insurance coverage at reasonable prices. No matter what your record looks like, Jerry will work hard so you don’t have to, shopping and comparing rates, finalizing paperwork, and canceling your old policy. You can still save money with Jerry—at no additional cost to you.
“Me and my partner were paying close to $200 a month for full coverage, I signed up for Jerry just for the fun of it to see what could be out there and now we’re paying $65 a month for the exact same coverage. It’s totally legit, free, and it could save you money.” —Satisfied Jerry user
RECOMMENDED
Haven’t shopped for insurance in the last six months? There might be hundreds $$$ in savings waiting for you.
avatar
Judith switched to Progressive
icon savingsSaved $725 annually
avatar
Alexander switched to Travelers
icon savingsSaved $834 annually
avatar
Annie switched to Nationwide
icon savingsSaved $668 annually

Easiest way to compare and buy car insurance

√
No long forms
√
No spam or unwanted phone calls
√
Quotes from top insurance companies
Find insurance savings — it's 100% free