Arkansasdriver’s license reinstated will cost $150 or more. However, more serious convictions leading to a license revocation will require you to apply for a new license once you are eligible to do so.
A license suspension or revocation can put some in quite a bind. Although getting your driving privileges back ASAP would be ideal, the actual time frame is dependent on your conviction and the regulations that surround it. This can be confusing when the rules are often slightly different from state to state.
Compare insurance quotes from 50+ carriers with Jerry in under 45 seconds
Why you might need a license reinstatement in Arkansas
Unfortunately, your license will not automatically be reinstated after the suspension period. If you want to regain your driving privileges, you will need to follow a straightforward procedure to apply for the
reinstatement of your driver’s licenseafter the suspension period.
You can get a record showing the status of your driving privileges
onlineif you aren’t sure if you need a license reinstatement.
How to get a license reinstatement in Arkansas
Your license can be restored in various ways, depending on the reason for suspension or revocation. Typically, you’ll need to pay fines, meet certain requirements, and pay a $150 reinstatement fee.
To get your driving privileges back, you will have to first request a
reinstatement requirement letter. This will give you all the details of what you need based on the conviction that led to your license suspension. For example, you would need to complete an Arkansas alcohol treatment or
You will also be required to provide proof of
SR-22 insurancefor three years or your eligibility could be revoked.
Once you have satisfied all the reinstatement requirements, you can pay for the reinstatement fee
online—remember, your driver’s license will only be reinstated if all requirements are met.
For license revocations, you will need to apply for a new license once you become eligible again.
If you have any questions, you can contact the Office of Driver Control at 501-682-1631 for further information and instructions.
Key Takeaway: Typically, your license can be reinstated after applying for a new license, meeting specific requirements, and paying the reinstatement fee.
How to get a hardship license in Arkansas
Some drivers with suspended licenses are eligible to apply for a hardship or
restricted license, which will allow them to have limited driving privileges. A hardship license is granted if the license suspension causes economic strain. Teenagers ages 14 to 16 can also get a hardship license to get to and from work or school if they meet the requirements.
If you have a license suspension under AC 5-65-104, you can petition the court for a hearing. The court may then order the Office of Driver Services of the Revenue Division of the Department of Finance and Administration to issue an ignition interlock restricted license.
If you are under the age of 18 and are unable to meet the requirements (such as grade requirements), you may petition the office to be issued a restricted permit for employment-related purposes. After submitting your application, a hearing will be held within a reasonable timeframe.
Your hardship license will allow you to travel to and from work or school. It also allows you to operate a vehicle during working hours for work-related purposes without an ignition interlock device (IID) installed. However, this is only applicable if the vehicle is owned by the employer and must be operated as part of your job.
This employment exemption does not apply if you are the business owner. In this case, the vehicle must be equipped with a functioning IID.
When can you apply for a hardship license?
There are no specific rules regarding when you can apply for a hardship license, aside from serving the suspension period.
Second or third DUIoffenders must wait a year before applying.
You are not eligible for a hardship license on your fourth DUI-related violation.
What is an SR-22 certificate?
If your license was suspended or revoked due to a serious traffic offense, you are required to show an SR-22 certificate from your insurance company to reinstate your license. This will certify that you carry
Arkansas’ minimum insurance requirements.
You might be required to purchase
an Arkansas SR-22 certificatefor the following offenses:
- DUI conviction
If you are under the age of 18, you are required to submit a
Financial Responsibility Acceptance and Release Formsigned by your parent or guardian and revenue agent.
Although the fee to file an SR-22 certificate is usually inexpensive, your insurance premiums will increase significantly as insurance companies have now flagged you as a
How to save money on car insurance in Arkansas
The hike in premiums due to an SR-22 filing can be stressful when it causes financial strain. This is why you should always try to compare as many policies as possible to find the best deal. It may take a lot of hard work, but it is worth it when each provider
calculates your premiums differently.
It’s this simple: download the
trustworthy insurance shopping super appor go to getjerry.com. In less than 45 seconds, Jerry collects all of your information from your existing insurer. Choose from competitive quotes from top insurance companies and Jerry takes care of the rest—securing your new policy and helping you cancel your old one upon request.
No long forms. No calling around. No hard work. Just savings. The average Jerry user saves $887 a year on car insurance.
“Jerrybrought my insurance deductible down from $2.5k to $1k without me having to switch companies. I even had a ticket on my record. If it can help me, Jerry will definitely help you save money.” —Maxwell N.
Compare auto insurance policies
No spam or unwanted phone calls · No long forms · No fees, ever