Arkansas Car Insurance Laws
Find out if you’re getting ripped off on your car insurance in less than two minutes.
No long forms · No spam · No fees
If you are an Arkansas driver, you are required to carry a minimum amount of liability insurance coverage set by the state. The car insurance minimums in Arkansas are often summarized as 25/50/25 (aka, $25,000 of bodily injury liability per person; $50,000 of bodily injury liability per accident; and $25,000 of property liability per accident).
The car insurance shopping app Jerry has compiled all the information you need to know about Arkansas car insurance laws—including what damage the minimum car insurance will cover and what damage it won’t.
If you are trying to find the coverage you need for less—forget requesting endless car insurance quotes online.
Jerry makes insurance shopping easy by contacting your insurance company to get the details of your current coverage for you. You don’t have to scale a mountain of questions and can tailor your coverage options to meet your needs. When you use Jerry to shop for your insurance for you, you get all the best prices and coverage—with none of the legwork.
Read on to find out more about car insurance laws in Arkansas.
- Insurance requirements in AR
- Arkansas liability insurance
- Mandated insurance limits
- Should I get more than what’s required?
- Other options
- Cheap car insurance
What insurance do I need in Arkansas?
You need to carry a certain amount of liability coverage to meet Arkansas minimum auto insurance requirements. You will also need to be able to provide proof of insurance at the request of law enforcement—either in paper or electronic form.
Required auto insurance in Arkansas
|Minimum liability coverage||25/50/25|
|Bodily injury per accident||$25,000|
|Bodily injury per person||$50,000|
|Property damage per accident||$25,000|
Key Takeaway Arkansas car insurance laws require drivers to carry proof of minimum liability insurance coverage while driving.
Liability insurance in AR
All Arkansas drivers must carry a certain amount of liability insurance. Liability insurance will help protect you from legal costs if you are at fault in an accident, but it won’t cover property damage or medical expenses for you and your passengers.
If you would like additional coverage, most providers will allow you to increase your liability insurance limits. You can also purchase full coverage comprehensive and collision insurance to provide additional peace of mind.
What are the mandated car insurance limits in Arkansas?
The car insurance limits in Arkansas are set at 25/50/25. These three numbers are called split limits. The first two figures refer to bodily injury liability coverage. The third number refers to property damage liability insurance.
Here is a detailed breakdown of the Arkansas minimum insurance requirements and what they cover.
$25,000 of bodily injury liability coverage per person
Your insurance company will pay up to $25,000 per person to help cover the cost of injuries resulting from an at-fault accident.
$50,000 of bodily injury liability coverage per accident
$50,000 is the total amount that your insurance company will pay out to cover the costs of injuries in an at-fault accident.
$25,000 in property damage liability per accident
Your insurance company will pay up to $25,000 to cover the cost of property damage for other parties in an at-fault accident.
Should I get more coverage than Arkansas’ required insurance minimum?
Arkansas minimum car insurance requirements are higher than some states, but still might not be enough to cover you in an accident. You can increase your limits or purchase additional coverage options to help make your Arkansas car insurance more robust.
For example, if you cause an accident in which three people are injured, and each has medical expenses totaling $25,000, your state minimum liability insurance will only cover $50,000 of the $75,000 in damages. An at-fault accident could also leave you on the hook for any expenses related to yourself, your passengers, or your car.
Key Takeaway Arkansas minimum car insurance requirements might not always provide sufficient coverage.
What is the penalty for not having car insurance in Arkansas?
You could face numerous consequences if you are caught driving without insurance in Arkansas—including the following.
Possible penalties for not having car insurance in Arkansas
- Fees ranging from $50 up to $1000 for multiple offenses
- Towing and impoundment fees
- License or registration suspension
- License or registration reinstatement fees
- SR-22 requirements
Additional coverage options
Arkansas only requires you to carry liability insurance coverage, but there are plenty of options available to increase your coverage.
Personal injury protection (PIP) coverage
Personal injury protection insurance will help cover the medical costs, lost wages, or death benefits for you and your family—regardless of fault.
Collision insurance will help cover the cost of the damage to your car that results from a collision or rollover.
Comprehensive insurance helps protect you from the costs of non-collision damage to your car—including vandalism, floods, and hail.
If your loaned or leased car is totaled after an accident, Gap insurance will help make up the difference between your insurance payout and the money you still owe on your car.
Uninsured/underinsured motorist bodily injury coverage
Uninsured/underinsured motorist insurance helps cover the costs of injuries to you and your passengers if you get in an accident caused by a driver who doesn’t carry enough insurance to cover the expenses.
Roadside assistance coverage
Many insurance companies will offer roadside assistance coverage that will help cover the costs of standard roadside assistance services, like towing, battery boosts, or gas delivery.
Rental car reimbursement coverage
Rental reimbursement insurance will help cover the costs of a rental car or alternate transportation if your vehicle requires multi-day repairs following a claim.
How to get cheap car insurance in Arkansas
If you are looking for cheap car insurance in Arkansas, look no further than the Jerry app to help you find the best rates fast.
If you’re hesitant to switch plans or insurance providers because you’re worried about the work involved, don’t be. Jerry does all the paperwork for you. You’ll never have to print out anything, go to the post office, or get on the phone.
Even better—the savings keep coming even after Jerry finds you great insurance at the lowest price. Before every policy renewal period, you’ll be presented with new competitive quotes, ensuring that you’ll always have the best coverage at the best price. Jerry customers save an average of $879 a year. Oh, and we should mention… Jerry is free.
Not surprisingly, this Jerry user was thrilled with their experience, giving the app five stars:
“I wish I could give Jerry 10 stars! I felt so lost trying to find car insurance before this app! Thankfully, my boyfriend found out about Jerry and recommended it to me. I accidentally plugged my VIN incorrectly and called Jim for help. He was amazing! It took no longer than 15 mins on the phone, and he got me a great rate for full coverage insurance on my luxury vehicle. I will only be using Jerry to shop for insurance from now on—and I will recommend Jerry to all of my friends too! Thanks so much!”—Jerry user.
Frequently asked questions
Are you required to have auto insurance in Arkansas?
Yes. Drivers in Arkansas are required to carry a liability insurance coverage that can be broken down as 25/50/25.
Is Arkansas a no-fault insurance state?
No. Arkansas is an at-fault, or tort state. The at-fault driver is responsible for filing a claim through their insurance provider to cover the damage resulting from an accident.
Haven’t shopped for insurance in the last six months? There might be hundreds $$$ in savings waiting for you.
Judith switched to Progressive
Saved $725 annually
Alexander switched to Travelers
Saved $834 annually
Annie switched to Nationwide
Saved $668 annually