Arkansas Driver’s License Requirements

Getting a driver’s license in Arkansas requires passing a vision test, written exam, and road test. Keep reading for more!
Written by Tiffany Leung
Reviewed by Jessica Barrett
To get your full
driver’s license, you must be 18 or older. You must also provide proof of a verifiable social security number, your address, and your full name and date of birth. You must have your Arkansas driver’s permit for a minimum of 6 months with no violations or accidents. 
Make safe driving pay
Get rewarded for safe driving. Earn points and unlock benefits. Totally free.
Start earning now

What are the requirements for a driver’s license in Arkansas?

You will need to be at least 18 years old to get your Arkansas license. You will also need the following documents before
making an appointment
at the ASP testing office for your road test: 
  • Arkansas
    driver’s permit
    : Required to practice supervised driving. This has a one-year validity, so you must complete the road test before expiration. 
  • Proof of viable Social Security number: Your Social Security card, W-2 form, paycheck showing your name and SSN, or a signed affidavit stating you are not eligible for an SSN.
  • Proof of legal residence: U.S. birth certificate or U.S. passport.
  • Proof of legal presence: U.S. passport, U.S. birth certificate, U.S. visa, or I-94 form.
  • Proof of identity: With your full name and date of birth. There is a list of proofs accepted by the state, and you may use two primary documents or one primary and one secondary document.
DFA website
provides a complete list of documents that you can use for your license application. 

What are the requirements for young drivers? 

There is an Arkansas Graduated Driver License program for
teenage drivers
Young drivers must have an instruction permit before applying for a driver’s license. This will allow them to gain driving experience while being supervised by a licensed driver age 21 or older.
There are two types of licenses that young drivers can obtain:
  • Learner’s license: For drivers aged 14-15
  • Intermediate license: For drivers aged 16-18 
Applicants under 18 must have parental or guardian consent and have an instruction permit for over 30 days before doing the road test.
Drivers with a learner’s license must drive with supervision until the age of 16, but no less than six months. After they get an intermediate license, young drivers will still need to be supervised behind the wheel for six months or until they turn 18

What are the requirements for out-of-state drivers? 

If you have a valid out-of-state driver’s license, you are not required to transfer it to an Arkansas license unless you reside in the state for more than six months. No tests are required if your license is current or has been expired for less than 30 days.
However, if it’s been expired for more than 30 days, you will need to take the written and vision tests again. A road test will also be required if your license has been expired over one year. 

How to get a driver’s license in Arkansas

For new drivers: take the TLSAE course 

First-time driver’s license applicants must take a
Traffic Law and Substance Abuse Education Course (TLSAE)
, which can be taken online or in a classroom setting. It will cover the essentials of Arkansas traffic laws, especially as they relate to road safety and alcohol use

Vision test

You will need to take a vision test to certify that you can see on the road. A minimal uncorrected visual acuity of 20/40 is required for an unrestricted license. A minimal corrected visual acuity of 20/70 is required for a restricted license. 
You should wear your prescribed eyeglasses or contact lenses during the test so that you will be marked appropriately.

Knowledge exam

After completing the TLSAE course and passing your vision test, you can take the written knowledge exam. This written portion of your driving test will be done on a computer screen in a testing kiosk. The multiple-choice questions will be on Arkansas’s traffic laws, road safety practices, and road signs
You can study for your written exam using the
Arkansas Driver License Handbook
. This covers all the materials you will need to pass the test. You can also take
free practice tests
before going to your real test.
To pass your Knowledge Exam, you must answer 20 out of 25 questions correctly, or 80%. You can retake the test in 5 days if you fail.

Road test

The last step to get your Arkansas driver’s license is a road test. This can be scheduled at any
ASP testing site
. You’ll need to provide your own vehicle, which the examiner will inspect. The test will not process if: 
  • The vehicle interior is excessively dirty
  • The windshield is cracked so badly that the view is obstructed
  • The lights, horn, speedometer, muffler, and exhaust system do not work
  • The tires are worn so badly as to be unsafe
  • There are serious mechanical defects, such as defective brakes
  • The vehicle is not properly licensed, or it isn’t properly displayed
  • The applicant is unfamiliar with the vehicle systems and control mechanisms
You will need to provide all of your documents for the Arkansas driving test. You may be required to perform the following during the exam: 
  • A three-point turn
  • Approaching an intersection
  • Observe right of way
  • Maintaining proper speed
  • Parking in standard conditions and on a hill  
  • A quick stop from 20 mph
  • Moving in reverse for about 50 feet
  • Signaling, turning, and passing 
  • Staying in your lane
During your test, the examiner will also take note of whether you are properly obeying traffic laws. This includes following all traffic signals, including stop signs, correctly. They’ll also take note of the following distance and whether your posture is correct. 
If you pass your driving test, you can show your documents and pay the $40 licensing fee for your Arkansas driver’s license! You will be issued the license appropriate for your age and status. 
“I’m young and just got my first car, so choosing an insurance company for the first time was scary. My friend recommended this app to me and
made everything simple! I put in my info and got something more affordable than what I expected for my age!” —Leslie T. 
rating reverse-full
"I’m earning
awesome rewards
every week, just for driving safe!”


You will need to bring your Arkansas driver’s permit, valid identification, a Social Security number (or equivalent), proof of legal presence, and proof of residential address to get your driver’s license in Arkansas.
The fee for a non-restricted Arkansas driver’s license is $40.
Are you overpaying for car insurance?
Compare quotes and find out in 45 seconds.
Try Jerry

Easiest way to compare and buy car insurance

No long forms
No spam or unwanted phone calls
Quotes from top insurance companies
Find insurance savings