What is the minimum car insurance requirement for Alaska?

Does Alaska have car insurance minimums? I'm moving to Juneau soon and I want to make sure I have the right amount of coverage.

Answer
“Congratulations on your move; Alaska will offer you many beautiful adventures!
The minimum car insurance requirements for non-exempt drivers in Alaska are:
  • **$50,000 bodily injury per person per accident
  • **$100,000 bodily injury for all persons per accident
  • **$25,000 property damage liability
Drivers that live in remote areas are exempt from registering their vehicle or purchasing car insurance.
That said, there is an exception to this rule: if you’ve received a violation worth six points or more in the last five years, you are required to carry the minimum insurance.
If you aren’t an exempt driver and you don’t have insurance, you risk facing penalties like:
  • 90-day to 1-year license suspension
  • Vehicle impoundment (if you live in Anchorage)
  • Points added to your driving record
If you’re planning on getting the minimum insurance required as a way to save money, know that there are other ways to save on car insurance. One of the best wasys to save is by comparing quotes online. Using a comparison tool like the Jerry can help. Jerry compares rates from the top providers and delivers the best deals to your phone in minutes for free.”
avatar
Rachel Juillerat
Answered on Sep 14, 2021
Rachel Juillerat has her Master's in Publishing & Writing from Emerson College. You can view her work in the Independent, Cupid's Pulse, and the Penmen Review. She has worked in personal finance for five years before transitioning to insurance. She lives in Boston, where she spends her time exploring small New England towns, learning new skills, and napping through her cat's zoomies.
thumb-up

Did this answer help you?

Ask us a question by email and we will respond within a few days.
thumb-up

Have a different question?

You can meet us at our office and discuss the details of your question.