Alaska Car Insurance Laws
Find out if you’re getting ripped off on your car insurance in less than two minutes.
No long forms · No spam · No fees
- Insurance requirements in AK
- Alaska liability insurance
- Mandated insurance limits
- Should I get more than what’s required?
- Other options
- Cheap car insurance
Alaska requires most drivers to carry a minimum amount of car insurance coverage. The insurance minimums in Alaska are summarized as 50/100/25. This stands for: $50,000 of bodily injury liability per person; $100,000 of bodily injury liability per accident; and $25,000 of property liability per accident.
The car insurance shopping app Jerry will break down all the information you need to know about car insurance minimums in Alaska—including what it covers and what it doesn’t.
If you’re looking for cheap car insurance fast, download Jerry. A licensed broker that offers end-to-end support, the free Jerry app gathers affordable quotes, helps you switch plans, and even cancels your old policy for you.
What insurance do I need in Alaska?
Most Alaska drivers must carry a minimum amount of liability insurance coverage. Alaska motorists also have to carry a valid form of proof of insurance when driving.
Here is a more detailed breakdown of the minimum insurance limits that Alaska car insurance laws require.
Alaska minimum car insurance
|Minimum liability coverage||50/100/25|
|Bodily injury per accident||$50,000|
|Bodily injury per person||$100,000|
|Property damage per accident||$25,000|
Exemptions in Alaska car insurance laws
In some of the more remote areas of Alaska, drivers may be exempt from registering their cars and carrying insurance. You can consult the Alaska Department of Motor Vehicles to find out more.
Key Takeaway Most Alaska drivers need to carry a minimum amount of liability insurance and proof of coverage—but some drivers in remote regions may be exempt.
Liability insurance in AK
The only type of coverage that Alaska drivers are legally required to have is liability insurance.
If you are at fault, bodily injury liability and property damage liability insurance will help cover damages for the other driver and their passengers—but liability insurance won’t cover your own expenses.
What are the mandated car insurance limits in Alaska?
Like most states, Alaska splits its minimum liability insurance requirements into three categories including bodily injury liability per person, bodily injury liability per accident, and property damage liability. Here’s how it all breaks down:
$50,000 of bodily injury liability coverage per person: Your insurance company will pay up to $50,000 to cover the cost of injuries for each person injured if you are found at fault.
$100,000 of bodily injury liability coverage per accident: $100,000 is the total amount that your insurance company will pay out to cover the costs of injuries in an at-fault accident.
$25,000 in property damage liability per accident: Your insurance company will pay up to $25,000 to cover the cost of property damage if you cause an at-fault accident.
Should I get more coverage than Alaska’s required insurance minimum?
Alaska insurance minimums might be enough if you are okay with only carrying liability insurance coverage.
Alaska car insurance laws require drivers to carry more liability insurance than most states. If you cause an at-fault accident, the higher bodily injury liability limits might cover medical expenses for the other party.
However, many new cars are worth more than the $25,000 property damage liability limit.
Even if you don’t want to purchase insurance to cover your own expenses—it could still be a good idea to increase your limits. Events like multi-car accidents can easily top the minimum insurance requirements—and you could get sued for the remaining costs if you are at fault.
Using an intelligent AI-based tool like Jerry is the easiest and most effective way to find a car insurance policy that is customized for you. After providing you with a comprehensive cross-analysis of the best policies across providers, Jerry will handle the phone calls, paperwork, and renewals for your top pick so that you don’t have to.
Key Takeaway Alaska’s minimum car insurance might not always provide enough coverage if you cause an accident.
What is the penalty for not having car insurance in Alaska?
Penalties for not having car insurance in Alaska
Alaska drivers who are caught driving without insurance or cannot provide valid proof of insurance could face penalties and fines.
Penalties for not having car insurance in Alaska
|Offense||Fine per violation||License suspense||Minimum license suspension||SR-22 coverage required?||Possible reinstatement fees?|
|First (and subsequent)||$500||90 days to one year (depending on the number of infractions)||Yes||Yes||Yes|
What are AK No Pay, No Play laws?
No Pay, No Play laws limit the payout that Alaska drivers without insurance can receive if they are not at fault. Since some drivers in Alaska may be exempt from carrying insurance, Alaska uses a No Pay, No Play insurance system.
For example, non-insured drivers cannot sue for pain and suffering and other non-economic costs resulting from an accident. However, if the driver that caused the accident was impaired, the No Pay, No Play laws may not apply.
Additional coverage options
You may choose the following popular insurance options to upgrade your Alaska minimum car insurance and improve your coverage.
Collision insurance will help cover the cost of the damage to your car after a collision with another object or car.
Comprehensive insurance helps protect you from the costs of non-collision-related damage to your car—including vandalism, floods, and hail.
Medical payments (MedPay) coverage
Medical payment insurance will help cover medical expenses for you and your passengers regardless of who is at fault.
Gap insurance will help cover the difference between a totaled car payout and the money you still owe on your car.
Uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage
Uninsured/underinsured motorist insurance protects you if you get in an accident with a driver who doesn’t carry enough insurance to cover the costs.
Roadside assistance coverage
Many insurance companies will offer roadside assistance coverage that will help cover the costs of certain emergency roadside services, like towing, battery boosts, or gas delivery.
Rental car reimbursement coverage
Rental reimbursement insurance will help cover the costs of a rental car or alternate transportation if your vehicle needs repairs after an accident.
How to get cheap car insurance in Alaska?
**No matter what type of coverage you are looking for—if you want to save money on car insurance, the Jerry app is a good place to start.
A licensed broker, Jerry does all the hard work of finding the cheapest quotes from the top name-brand insurance companies and buying new car insurance. Jerry will even cancel your old policy and handle your renewals for you.
Considering Jerry is free, it should come as a surprise that Jerry has earned a 4.6/5 rating on the App Store—making it the top insurance app in the country. The stellar customer reviews say it all.
“What a fantastic experience! My husband’s driving record isn’t so great, so the thought of shopping for car insurance is always daunting. I knew there was no way we could afford the monthly payments on our policy—so I tried Jerry to help me find the best rates fast. Suffice it to say, I was able to get a new policy with the same coverage at less than half the price we were paying—and it was fast and easy! I highly recommend this app.”—Jerry user.
Frequently asked questions
Is car insurance required in Alaska?
Not always. Like most states, Alaska has a legal car insurance minimum that most drivers must purchase. However, if you live in a more remote region, you may be considered exempt.
What happens if you drive without insurance in Alaska?
Some Alaska drivers might be exempt from carrying car insurance—but they could end up paying out of pocket if they cause an accident. Drivers who choose not to carry insurance will also be subject to No Pay, No Play laws—limiting the amount they receive if they aren’t at fault.
Haven’t shopped for insurance in the last six months? There might be hundreds $$$ in savings waiting for you.
Judith switched to Progressive
Saved $725 annually
Alexander switched to Travelers
Saved $834 annually
Annie switched to Nationwide
Saved $668 annually