Oregon Car Insurance Laws
Find out if you’re getting ripped off on your car insurance in less than two minutes.
No long forms · No spam · No fees
- Minimum requirements
- PIP insurance
- Uninsured/underinsured coverage
- Liability insurance
- Is minimum enough?
- No insurance penalties
- Additional coverage
- Diminished value state
- Cheap insurance
Load full table of contents
All Oregon motorists are required by law to carry a minimum amount of insurance that is summarized as 25/50/20 (this is short for $25,000 of bodily injury liability per person; $50,000 of bodily injury liability per accident; and $20,000 of property liability per accident.
Drivers must also carry a minimum limit of $25,000 bodily injury per person and $50,000 bodily injury per accident in uninsured motorist coverage and $15,000 per person in personal injury protection (PIP) insurance.
If you need some help finding a plan that will cover you in Oregon, check out Jerry.
Jerry is an intelligent pocket broker app that will help you find the Oregon car insurance coverage you need fast. Once you download Jerry, just answer a handful of questions that will take you roughly 45 seconds to complete and you’ll immediately get car insurance quotes for coverage similar to your current plan.
Jerry customers save an average of $879 a year.
Continue reading to learn more about Oregon car insurance laws.
What car insurance is required by law in Oregon?
Like most states, drivers in Oregon are required to carry a minimum amount of liability coverage. They must purchase a minimum amount of uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage and personal injury protection (PIP) insurance as well. Oregon motorists must also carry valid proof of insurance when driving.
The following is a summary of the minimum insurance limits that are required in the state of Oregon.
Oregon minimum car insurance
|** Type of coverage**||**Minimum insurance limit**|
|**Minimum liability coverage**||**30/60/25**|
|Bodily injury per accident||$30,000|
|Bodily injury per person||$60,000|
|Property damage per accident||$25,000|
|**Uninsured motorist coverage**||**30/60/25**|
|Bodily injury per person||$30,000|
|Bodily injury per accident||$60,000|
|Property damage per accident||$25,000|
Key Takeaway Oregon drivers must always carry the required minimum limits of liability, uninsured motorist, and personal injury protection car insurance.
What is personal injury protection (PIP) insurance?
Personal injury protection insurance helps cover personal expenses like rehabilitation costs, medical interventions, or lost wages for you and your passengers—regardless of who was at fault in an accident.
Oregon is an at-fault, or tort state, that requires drivers to carry a minimum limit of $15,000 per person in PIP insurance coverage.
You can also collect liability insurance if the costs of an accident caused by another driver exceed the PIP limits.
What is uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage?
Oregon also requires drivers to carry uninsured motorist insurance to help cover expenses related to bodily injury that result from an accident caused by a driver who doesn’t carry enough insurance.
Oregon insurance laws require drivers to carry minimum limits of $25,000 per person and $50,000 per accident of bodily injury uninsured motorist protection.
Liability insurance in OR
Liability coverage is another type of legally required insurance in Oregon. Liability insurance will not** help cover your own costs if you cause an accident. It will only help cover the expenses for the other parties involved.
The two main types of liability insurance are bodily injury liability and property damage liability coverage. Like most states, the state of Oregon requires drivers to carry both.
Key Takeaway Oregon is an at-fault, or tort state, that requires drivers to carry liability, uninsured/underinsured motorist, and personal injury protection insurance coverage.
What are the mandated car insurance limits in Oregon?
Drivers in Oregon must purchase minimum liability car insurance limits that are summarized as 25/50/20. They also need to carry uninsured motorist coverage limits that are summarized as 25/50. Finally, they need to carry a minimum PIP insurance limit of 15,000 per person as well.
There is a total of six different types of insurance that Oregon motorists have to carry. The following is a more detailed breakdown of the coverages that these different limits provide.
$25,000 of bodily injury liability coverage per person: Your insurance provider will pay a maximum of $25,000 per person toward the cost of injuries resulting from an accident that you caused.
$50,000 of bodily injury liability coverage per accident: Your insurance company will pay out a maximum of $50,000 per at-fault accident to cover the cost of injuries for the other party.
$20,000 in property damage liability per accident: Your provider will pay up to $20,000 toward the other party’s property damage if you cause an accident.
$25,000 of bodily injury uninsured motorist coverage per person: You could receive up to $25,000 per person to cover the costs of damages if the at-fault driver doesn’t have enough insurance to cover the costs of bodily injury for you or your passengers.
$50,000 of bodily injury uninsured motorist coverage per accident: $50,000 is the maximum uninsured motorist payout you can get for a single accident.
$15,000 of personal injury protection (PIP) coverage per person: $15,000 is the total amount that your insurance company will pay out to cover costs related to injuries resulting from a claimable accident—regardless of who was at fault.
Should I get more coverage than Oregon’s required insurance minimum?
Oregon requires drivers to have more robust coverage than some other states—but the legal limits could still easily fall short of covering your total costs in an accident.
For example, you will have to upgrade to full comprehensive insurance and collision insurance coverage if you want to ensure that the cost of damage to your car will be covered.
The state minimum liability limits in Oregon are low compared to the 50/100/50 limits recommended by many insurance experts. If you want to increase your car insurance limits in Oregon, a free insurance shopping tool like Jerry will help you find the best price for the policy options you want to have.
If you’re shopping for car insurance in Oregon, Jerry will generate competitive quotes from top providers in less than a minute. Jerry gathers your information from your past insurer, so you're not responsible for any long forms or phone calls. You get all of the savings and coverage, with none of the hassles.
What is the penalty for not having car insurance in Oregon?
Oregon drivers could face serious consequences for not having insurance, including fines and license suspension.
Possible penalties for drivers without car insurance in Oregon
- Fines from $130 to $1000
- Suspension of vehicle registration
- One-year license suspension
- Reinstatement fees
- Three years of SR-22 coverage
Key Takeaway Getting caught driving without car insurance in Oregon can come with some stiff penalties, including license and registration suspensions, reinstatement fees, and fines.
Additional coverage options
Oregon drivers who want to enjoy more robust car insurance coverage have plenty of options available to improve their car insurance coverage—including the following:
Collision insurance protects drivers from the costs of damage to their car that are the result of collisions with other objects.
Comprehensive insurance protects car damage costs relating to external events, like tornados, floods, or fires.
Gap coverage will help cover the difference between what you owe on your totaled vehicle and the payout you receive from your insurance company.
Rental car reimbursement coverage
Rental reimbursement coverage goes toward the cost of alternate transportation if your car needs multi-day repairs after a claim.
Roadside assistance coverage (aka towing and labor coverage) is a helpful policy rider that will provide drivers with access to emergency services, like fuel delivery, towing, and battery boosts.
Why is Oregon considered a diminished value state?
Oregon allows drivers to make diminished value claims to recover any loss in value to their car that results from repairs following an accident. Drivers who choose to sell their car after an accident can make a diminished value claim through the insurance company of the driver who caused the accident.
It is normal for cars to lose some of their resale value following repairs. Oregon is one of 15 states that permits diminished value claims to help drivers recoup their losses after an accident.
If you want to make a diminished value claim in Oregon, you will have to meet the following criteria:
- You were not found to be at fault in the accident
- You can provide reliable documentation, like proof of your car’s value, the repair record, and photo evidence
- It hasn’t been more than six years since the claim was made
- The at-fault driver had insurance
Key Takeaway Oregon allows drivers who aren’t found to be at fault in an accident to make diminished value claims if they sell their car within six years of a claim.
How to get cheap car insurance in Oregon
No matter where you live in Oregon, Jerry is the intelligent insurance shopping app that will help you find the best car insurance rates fast.
Different providers use different formulas to calculate your rates, and Jerry will compare rates for you, so you don’t have to fill out endless online quotes.
Jerry contacts your insurance company to get the details of your current coverage, so you don’t have to scale a mountain of questions.
You get all the best prices and coverage with none of the legwork. Before every policy renewal period, you’ll be presented with new competitive quotes, which means you’ll always have the best coverage at the best price.
"Jerry is the best app ever. I entered basic information about myself (took less than 2 minutes), and Jerry did the rest—finding me car insurance with the exact coverage I had before Jerry at a way better rate. My monthly payment went from $110/ month to $58/month, and Jerry handled the switchover for me. The app is completely free, and you are under no obligations for using it. Thank you, Jerry!!"—Satisfied Jerry user
Is car insurance mandatory in Oregon?
Yes. Oregon drivers must carry minimum liability limits of 25/50/20, uninsured motorist limits of 25/50, and 15,000 per person in PIP coverage.
How long do you have to get insurance after buying a car in Oregon?
In most cases, the Oregon grace period to buy insurance is 2-30 days.
Haven’t shopped for insurance in the last six months? There might be hundreds $$$ in savings waiting for you.
Judith switched to Progressive
Saved $725 annually
Alexander switched to Travelers
Saved $834 annually
Annie switched to Nationwide
Saved $668 annually