Wyoming Reckless Driving

Reckless driving in Wyoming is punishable by up to $750 in fines and six months in jail. But consequences could be worse if you have prior convictions.
Written by Joshua Levy
Reviewed by Jessica Barrett
Reckless driving in
Wyoming
is considered a misdemeanor that warrants a maximum fine of $750 and up to six months in jail. If the same person is convicted for reckless driving more than three times in five years, they may also have their license revoked.
People tend to confuse
speeding tickets
with reckless driving charges, but the two are different. While speeding refers to driving above the speed limit, reckless driving refers to the willful endangerment of others. This type of charge is more severe, so the penalties are also much harsher. 
Reckless driving can be hard to understand. That’s why the
car insurance
comparison and broker app
Jerry
put together this article with everything you need to know about reckless driving in Wyoming
icon
Make safe driving pay
Get rewarded for safe driving. Earn points and unlock benefits. Totally free.
Start earning now

How does Wyoming define reckless driving?

Wyoming defines reckless driving as driving “in willful or wanton disregard for the safety of persons or property.”
Unfortunately, that definition covers a wide array of violations. So what exactly does it mean? To better understand reckless driving, we can break it down into its two main components: willful and disregard for safety.
The term willful refers to the driver’s understanding that their actions are dangerous, while the disregard for safety refers to the fact that they’re endangering others. 
For example, weaving through traffic at high speeds is likely to cause an accident—meaning that it’s likely to warrant a reckless driving charge. However, speeding alone may not qualify as reckless driving if you’re on an empty stretch of road.
That said, the idea of reckless driving is somewhat ambiguous. At the end of the day, it’s up to the officer that pulls you over to decide whether your actions qualify as reckless driving.

What are the penalties for reckless driving in Wyoming?

If you’re convicted of reckless driving, the penalties depend on the situation and whether it’s your first offense. That said, here are the maximum penalties for reckless driving:
  • Imprisonment: Up to 6 months in jail
  • Fines: Up to $750
  • License suspension: Up to 90 days
  • Other penalties: traffic school
While those are the typical penalties for reckless driving, committing a third offense within five years could get your license revoked.
Of course, if someone were to die as a result of your reckless driving, Wyoming would classify the charge as aggravated homicide by vehicle. If convicted, offenders could face: 
  • License suspension: 1 year
  • Imprisonment: Up to 20 years in prison 
Key Takeaway Being convicted of reckless driving means you chose to drive in a way that could endanger others. While that may seem ambiguous, it also carries severe penalties like major fines and up to six months in jail. 

When can I remove a reckless driving charge from my record? 

Reckless driving is classified as a criminal charge in Wyoming, so there’s a process to having it expunged. 
If you were charged with reckless driving but not convicted, you can have the incident expunged 180 days after the charges are dropped. Alternatively, if you are convicted, you can apply to have the incident expunged five years after the end of your sentence.
When you’re ready to have the incident removed, follow these steps to apply for expungement:
  • Prepare a petition: This document should explain why the incident should be expunged and assure the court that you’re no longer a threat.
  • Pay the fee: There’s a $100 charge to expunge a misdemeanor.
  • Copy everything: You should keep records of the entire process in case you ever need to reference it.
  • Serve the petition: You’ll need to have your petition served to the prosecuting attorney.
  • Prepare an Order of Expungement Document: You’ll need to file this document if the court approves your request. If you have it on hand, you can speed up the process.

Will reckless driving make my insurance go up? 

Reckless driving charges have a huge impact on your insurance premium. In the state of Wyoming, insurance rates increase by 63% on average after a reckless driving conviction. In dollar terms, that’s about an $846 increase.
Your insurance premium could take years to readjust after a reckless driving conviction. That said, it’s best to take precautions and stay as safe as possible on the road. 
To keep your premium as low as possible, try taking a
defensive driving course
, dropping excessive coverage, or looking for more affordable policies.

How to find affordable car insurance in Wyoming

While it can be tricky to find an affordable car insurance premium after a reckless driving conviction, you can always use
Jerry
to explore your options. 
A licensed broker, Jerry will find you personalized quotes from over 50 top providers like Progressive and Nationwide. When you find a plan you like, Jerry can help you switch policies and even help cancel your old one.
Jerry users save an average of $887 a year on car insurance—and it only takes a minute to sign up.
Jerry
had a super simple app that was easy to navigate. And their terrific customer service made everything even easier. Plus I saved $700 in a single year.” —Lucia M.
rating reverse-full
"I’m earning
awesome rewards
every week, just for driving safe!”

FAQs

You can get arrested and go to jail for reckless driving in Wyoming. If it’s your first or second offense, you could face up to six months in jail. But third-time offenders could face up to a year.
The lowest penalty you can receive for reckless driving in Wyoming is a surcharge of $150 along with a fine. While there’s no minimum on the fine, it cannot exceed $750.
Are you overpaying for car insurance?
Compare quotes and find out in 45 seconds.
Try Jerry

Easiest way to compare and buy car insurance

√
No long forms
√
No spam or unwanted phone calls
√
Quotes from top insurance companies
Find insurance savings