“You are so lucky to have gotten just a written warning and not a ticket! Even though you are already a Texas resident, Texas requires you to update your address within 30 days of a move.
Updating your address with the DMV when you move is important because it helps the DMV send important paperwork (like future registration reminders) to the right address.
Failure to report a change of address in Texas can result in a $75 ticket. Fortunately, since no ticket was issued this time, the DMV has no idea when you moved, so you should be able to make this update without fear of penalty.
Changing your address in Texas is pretty simple. You can do it online, in person, or via mail. The fee is only $11, which is much cheaper than most other states!
Don’t forget to change the address on your insurance policy as well. Anytime there are life changes like moving, it’s a great idea to re-evaluate your auto policy and shop for cheaper insurance
Try using the Jerry
app to help you find the best deals. Jerry collects auto and home quotes from the top providers and brings the lowest available rates right to the app on your phone for free. They will even help you with the signup paperwork and will email policy documents and ID cards to you right away.”