What happens if you get caught driving without a license in Georgia?

I let my license expire. What happens if I don't renew it and get pulled over by the cops?

Answer
“The consequences for driving without a license in Georgia are more severe than in most states. You could face up to 30 days in jail and a $1000 fine, and this includes if your license is expired (as opposed to never having obtained one).
Also, be aware that to legally drive in Georgia, you will need to carry car insurance that meets the state minimum car insurance requirements.”
avatar
Sophie Newman
Answered on Jul 27, 2021
Sophie Newman is a writer from California. Her hobbies include brewing her own kombucha, riding horses, and taking long road trips.
thumb-up

Did this answer help you?

Ask us a question by email and we will respond within a few days.
thumb-up

Have a different question?

You can meet us at our office and discuss the details of your question.

Read advice from car experts at Jerry

Easiest way to compare and buy car insurance

√
No long forms
√
No spam or unwanted phone calls
√
Quotes from top insurance companies
Find insurance savings — it's 100% free