Can you get a DUI for driving high in Wisconsin?

I don’t think that driving high should be charged as seriously as driving drunk, so I’m wondering if that’s how it works out legally. Can you get a DUI for driving high in Wisconsin?

Liz Jenson · Answered on Dec 08, 2022
Reviewed by Shannon Martin, Licensed Insurance Agent.
You might be charged with a DUI for driving high in Wisconsin, just as you would for driving drunk. Potential punishments attached to a DUI include:
  • License revocation for six to nine months
  • A fine of $150 to $300
  • A additional fine of $450 for operating a vehicle while intoxicated
While you’re learning more about DUIs, consider learning about your insurance options, too. Check out the Jerr​​y app to see a list of car insurance quotes that work for you in minutes. The average user saves $887 per year.
View full answer 
Jerry partners with more than 50 insurance companies, but our content is independently researched, written, and fact-checked by our team of editors and agents. We aren’t paid for reviews or other content.

Easiest way to compare and buy car insurance

No long forms
No spam or unwanted phone calls
Quotes from top insurance companies
Find insurance savings — it's 100% free