In Oregon, a hit-and-run can be prosecuted as a misdemeanor or a felony depending on the severity of the incident. If convicted, you can face a fine of up to $250,000 and a maximum sentence of 10 years in prison.
If you’re the victim of a hit-and-run in Oregon, document any information you may have on the car or driver who left the scene, speak with eyewitnesses, report the crime to the police, and file an insurance claim in a timely manner.
It is illegal in all 50 states to flee the scene of an accident without providing your insurance and personal information. The consequences of this serious crime vary by state.
If you’ve been involved in a hit-and-run accident in Oregon, you can turn to
car insurance comparison app
Jerry. In this article, we’ll go over the legal definition of a hit-and-run, how to report it to the relevant authorities, and how to file an insurance claim. We can even tell how to score big savings on your
Oregon car insurance cost down below.
What is a hit-and-run?
A hit-and-run is an accident where the driver flees the scene without stopping. You are required to stop if you hit another vehicle, person, or property. While on the scene, provide your insurance information so that the other party can file a claim if necessary.
Even if you're not at fault for the collision, you could be found guilty of a hit-and-run if you flee the scene of an accident.
Key Takeaway Always remain on the scene until you have exchanged insurance information with the individual(s) involved to avoid prosecution for a hit-and-run.
What happens if you commit a hit-and-run in Oregon?
Even if you feel you aren’t at fault, or you’re in a rush, or you’re simply panicked, do not flee the scene when involved in any kind of motor vehicle collision. If you leave without giving the other party your personal and insurance information, you could be prosecuted to the fullest extent of the law.
Is a hit-and-run a felony in Oregon?
In Oregon, a hit-and-run can be prosecuted as a misdemeanor or a felony depending on the details of the accident. A hit-and-run offense that caused property damage will be tried as a misdemeanor, but a hit-and-run that led to injury or death will be tried as a felony.
What is the punishment for a hit-and-run in Oregon?
If the hit-and-run results in only minor injuries, it is considered a Class C felony. If convicted, the court may impose a duty to pay an amount of money equal to the damages caused by the accident, up to $125,000 of fines, and/or up to five years of imprisonment.
If the hit-and-run results in severe injury or death, you will likely face a Class B felony charge, the penalties of which may include the cost of property damages, a fine as high as $250,000, and/or a prison sentence of up to 10 years.
A hit-and-run that only causes property damage is tried as a misdemeanor, in which case you may be responsible for the cost of those damages imposed by the accident along with up to $6,250 in fines and/or imprisonment of up to one year.
Serious injuries or death
How to avoid a hit-and-run charge
According to Oregon Vehicle Code 811.700 and 811.705, if you’re involved in an accident that results in property damage, injuries, or death, you must “immediately stop [your] vehicle at the scene of the collision or as close to the scene of the collision as possible and reasonably investigate what [your] vehicle struck.”
Do not leave the scene until you have completed the steps outlined below.
Provide the affected party with the following:
The name and address of the owner of the driver’s vehicle
The name and address of any other occupants of the your vehicle
License and registration information
Render aid to any person injured in the collision by providing “reasonable assistance” such as arranging for hospital transport if necessary
Wait for the police to arrive and provide the officer with all required information.
This does not apply to a driver who needs immediate medical care or needs to secure medical care for another person injured in the collision as long as the driver who leaves takes reasonable steps to return to the scene or to contact the nearest police officer.
Key Takeaway As long as the scene is safe, remain there until you have provided all necessary information to the affected party and cooperated with the police.
What should I do if I am the victim of a hit-and-run in Oregon?
If you’re the victim of a hit-and-run in Oregon, seek medical attention if necessary, remain calm and gather as much information as you can on the scene, and report the accident as soon as possible.
At the scene
Do not follow the car that hit you even if they're still in sight. Instead, move your car to a safe location and check to see if you or anyone in your car is injured. Call 911 if medical services are needed, and summon the police to the scene of the accident to file an official report.
Note as much of the following information as you can while you’re still at the scene:
The details of the collision
The other car’s make, model, color, and body style
The license plate number of any vehicles involved
The appearance of the driver
The direction the car was headed
Any unique identifying marks on the other car (e.g. dents, mods, bumper stickers, etc.)
Talk to eyewitnesses, take photos of the scene and of your car to properly document the accident, and inspect the scene for any other relevant information.
Confirm that the officer at the scene files a police report. A police report not only increases the chances of locating the suspect but also provides corroborating evidence when you file an insurance claim.
After you leave the scene
File an insurance claim within 24 hours of a hit-and-run accident.
If you know the identity of the driver or have the vehicle’s license plate number, their liability coverage policy will likely pay for the costs associated with any injury or damage that resulted from the accident.
If you were unable to identify the driver or the driver’s vehicle, filing a claim becomes more complicated. And if you only have liability insurance, your claim will not be covered.
What insurance covers a hit-and-run?
You may need to pay a deductible first.
Uninsured motorist coverage
Check with your insurance company to see if your policy covers hit-and-run accidents.
Medical payments coverage
You may need to pay a deductible first. Also only covers what health insurance doesn’t.
Personal injury protection coverage
May also cover lost wages and other expenses related to an accident.
How to find affordable insurance
Filing a claim can be more complicated after a hit-and-run when you can’t identify the driver. That’s why you always want to make sure that you have enough car insurance coverage to protect you during all kinds of unexpected roadside incidents.
With the car insurance comparison app
Jerry, you can find the lowest rate available on the coverage you need, including personal injury and collision coverage.
In just seconds, Jerry gathers quotes from top insurance providers like Nationwide, Travelers, and Progressive and sends the best results directly to your phone. Once you select your policy, the
trusted super app will handle all the paperwork to get you switched over, saving you time and money!
Jerry was spot on. I’m young with one rear end on my record. Still, they dropped my monthly insurance rate from $468 to $250. This really saved me money.” —Jason M.
No spam or unwanted phone calls · No long forms · No fees, ever