Every driver must abide by traffic laws to maintain everyone’s safety on the road. Minor instances like speeding a few miles over the posted limit could prove to be harmless, but consciously endangering other drivers will land you a reckless driving ticket.
Reckless driving is the culprit behind one-third of America’s fatal accidents, which is why each state has cracked down on enforcing legal and financial penalties for erratic road behaviors.
Although reckless driving charges are common, they’re completely preventable—especially when you understand the laws in your state. Luckily, we have gathered all the details about reckless driving laws in Mississippi.
Make safe driving pay
Get rewarded for safe driving. Earn points and unlock benefits. Totally free.Start earning now
How does Mississippi define reckless driving?
In the Magnolia State, drivers are charged with reckless driving when they display “either a willful or a wanton disregard for the safety of persons or property.”
These violations aren’t limited to the highway, as drivers can be convicted of reckless driving in a public or private parking lot.
What does reckless driving behavior look like? Here are some examples:
Since reckless driving encompasses a range of real-time maneuvers, the law enforcement officer present at the time of the offense will determine the severity of the violation.
What are the penalties for reckless driving in Mississippi?
Compared to other states, Mississippi’s reckless driving laws are more lenient. However, drivers will still be charged with a misdemeanor while facing potential jail time and fees.
With the subjective judgment of a police officer, reckless driving offenders could receive the following penalties:
- A first offense carries fines between $5 and $100
- A subsequent offense results in up to 10 days in jail and/or $500 in fines
- A third violation within 12 months results in a one-year license revocation
Since a misdemeanor charge requires a court appearance, Mississippi judges impose a $90.50 assessment fee in addition to the accrued fines.
Despite potentially walking away with a measly $5 owed to the state after a reckless driving charge, these violations shouldn’t be taken lightly.
Reckless driving charges at any level tend to open the floodgates for more charges in the future since law enforcement officers will take them into account while consulting your driving record.
How can I remove reckless driving from my record?
Mississippi is one of nine states in the country that doesn’t use a points system to track driving offenses. If you were worried about racking up points on your
Mississippi driving record, you’re in luck. That doesn’t mean your record will remain squeaky clean when you get a reckless driving charge, though.
Law enforcement officers and other authorized government agencies will still be able to access information about traffic violations, license suspensions, and jail time on your record. If you contact the Mississippi DMV or court system, you can find out if you’re eligible to enroll in
defensive driving courses.
With completed coursework, it’s possible to dial back the number of charges on your record. Since reckless driving violations impact your insurance premium for three to six years, defensive driving courses could be essential.
Will reckless driving make my insurance go up?
Every insurance company will assess the amount of risk you present as a driver to calculate your monthly rates. Regardless of the absence of points in Mississippi, reckless driving violations are sure to spike insurance costs.
Insurance companies raise rates by an average of $814 per year after a reckless driving offense. That’s 45% higher than the average insurance premium in Mississippi and 37% more expensive than the national average reckless driving penalty.
What you won’t see in fines, you’ll see in monthly insurance payments, which is why it’s important to maintain safe driving practices at all times in Mississippi. Staying vigilant and considering others on the road is the best way to avoid surging insurance rates.
How to find affordable car insurance in Mississippi
Although your insurance rates won’t escalate overnight, it’s a good idea to start shopping around for savings well before your policy renews. If you want nothing to do with the extensive phone calls, internet surfing, and calculations—look no further than your new car insurance companion,
Jerry is a
trustworthy comparison shopping super appthat helps you save time and money on your car expenses, including insurance. All you have to do is spend 45 seconds signing up, and Jerry will get the ball rolling on sourcing competitive rates from over 55 top insurance companies.
Once you get a look at your best options and choose a new policy, Jerry will take care of the paperwork to get you switched over and cancel your old policy.
You don’t have to worry if your record isn’t squeaky clean, because Jerry will continue to send you competitive rates before each renewal. The average Jerry user saves $887 per year!
“My speeding ticket raised my insurance to $310/month.Jerrygot me full comprehensive coverage on two vehicles for $144/month through Progressive. I definitely recommend giving them a try.” —Brandon D.
awesome rewardsevery week, just for driving safe!”
How can I get my reckless driving ticket dismissed?
Hire a lawyer. Showing up in court solo won’t bode well for your chances to get your reckless driving charge dismissed or reduced. A lawyer can get to know your case and work on negotiating a plea bargain that will have a lesser impact on your driving record.
Can you go to jail for reckless driving in Mississippi?
You won’t earn any jail time with your first reckless driving charge in Mississippi. However, with a repeat offense, it’s possible to earn up to 10 days in jail.