Mississippi DUI Laws

Find out if you’re getting ripped off on your car insurance in less than two minutes.
No long forms · No spam · No fees
Mississippi DUI laws state that drivers cannot have a blood-alcohol level of 0.08% or higher. Commercial vehicle drivers cannot have a blood-alcohol level exceeding 0.04%.
Each year, over 10,000 people in the US are killed on the road as a result of drunk driving crashes.
Driving while under the influence of drugs or alcohol is a dangerous crime and penalties vary by state. Even a first-time offense can cost drivers up to $10,000 in fines and legal fees—and it will most certainly impact your car insurance rates, too.
The car insurance comparison and broker app Jerry has compiled everything you need to know about DUI laws in Mississippi.
RECOMMENDED
Compare auto insurance policies
No spam or unwanted phone calls · No long forms · No fees, ever

What is a DUI?

A DUI refers to driving under the influence while a DWI means driving while intoxicated or impaired. Each state may or may not observe a difference between the two if both are used. Mississippi primarily uses DUI.
With a DUI, the charge could mean that the driver was driving under the influence of alcohol, drugs, or a combination.
Drugs, in this instance, do not mean specifically illegal substances and can include marijuana, prescription drugs, and over-the-counter medicines. If taking these drugs impairs you in any way while driving, you may be charged with a DUI.
Some states, including Mississippi, use the term OUI (operating under the influence) interchangeably with DUI. The penalties and charges remain the same.

DUI in Mississippi

In Mississippi, it is illegal to operate a vehicle with a blood-alcohol level of:
  • 0.08% or higher if you’re 21 or older.
  • 0.04% if you’re operating a commercial vehicle.
If you’re pulled over for a suspected DUI, your blood alcohol does not necessarily have to exceed the minimum threshold for you to be convicted of driving under the influence. If you demonstrate impaired behavior—regardless of your BAC—you may still be convicted of a DUI.
If you’re determined to have a BAC of 0.08%, regardless of whether or not you’re perceivably impaired, you will be charged with a per se DUI.
Every state has an implied consent law stipulating that you consent to be tested if you’re suspected of driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs.
If you’re lawfully arrested for a DUI, you must submit to a urine, blood, or breath test. Mississippi drivers who refuse to do so are subject to a license revocation of one year at least. You do not have a right to consult with a lawyer before completing the test.
Key Takeaway If you are pulled over for a suspected DUI, you are legally required to take a test.

Penalties for DUI in Mississippi

Penalties for DUIs are severe in Mississippi. The conviction will remain on your driving record and criminal record for 5 years. It cannot be expunged.

First conviction

PenaltyDescription
Fine$250 to $1,000
JailUp to 48 hours
License suspension120 days
For first offenses only, offenders may be eligible for non-adjudication. This will then require completion of an alcohol safety program, 120 days of ignition interlock device usage, and additional fines.
Successful completion of the non-adjudication program will waive all standard first-offense penalties.

Subsequent convictions

Second offense
PenaltyDescription
Fine$600 to $1,500
Jail5 days to 6 months
Community service10 days to 6 months
License suspension1 year
First and second offenses are considered misdemeanors. A second offense is considered as such if it occurred within five years of the first offense.
Second and subsequent offenses require in-depth diagnostic assessment for alcohol and drug abuse, along with mandatory enrollment in a prescribed treatment program.
Third offense
PenaltyDescription
Fine$2,000 to $5,000
Jail1 to 5 years
License suspension3 years
Third offenses within a lifetime, regardless of how many years have passed, are considered felonies rather than misdemeanors.
There are more severe penalties and fines for any risk or injury inflicted on others. Having minor passengers under the age of 16 at the time of the violation may incur misdemeanor child endangerment charges, plus an additional $1,000 for every child in the car.
If a child is injured or killed as a result of the DUI, that fine increases to $10,000, and carries a prison sentence of five to 25 years.
A DUI that results in injury or death of others is charged as an aggravated DUI, and carries a potential prison term of 5 to 25 years per victim.
Key Takeaway Every state has minimum penalties for a DUI, which are often more severe if you had a high blood-alcohol concentration or if you’ve had previous offenses.
RECOMMENDED
Compare auto insurance policies
No spam or unwanted phone calls · No long forms · No fees, ever

Does a DUI impact car insurance in Mississippi?

Yes, insurance companies take DUIs very seriously and you’ll be classified as a high-risk driver.
With a DUI on your record, you can reasonably expect that insurance carriers will charge you significantly higher rates or may refuse to insure you entirely. That’s where Jerry can help. Jerry quickly submits your info and presents you with quotes from up to 50 top providers, so that you don’t have to spend time reaching out to each company one by one.
Your insurance carrier will also be required to fill out an SR-22 to prove you have the state-mandated minimum insurance coverage.

Other effects of a DUI

Beyond the conviction penalties and higher insurance rates, DUIs can have some other lasting impacts on your life.
License revocation: After a DUI, you run the risk of having your license revoked if you’re charged with other serious offenses.
Ignition interlock device: All states have some type of ignition interlock program requiring drivers convicted of a DUI to install an interlock device in their vehicle to disable the engine if alcohol is detected on their breath.
Background checks: Your DUI will show up on a background check for up to five years after the conviction, which can cause issues for future employment endeavors.

How to find cheap insurance after a DUI

Finding affordable insurance after a DUI conviction can be difficult on your own. No matter what your record looks like, Jerry can help. Once you choose a policy, Jerry will handle the phone calls, paperwork, and renewals for your top pick so that you don’t have to.
When your policy is up for renewal, Jerry is still on the job and will send you new quotes so you’re always paying the best price.
“My past tickets were making it hard to find affordable insurance. With Jerry, I went from paying $450/month to $273/month. They took care of everything—such a relief!” —Josephine R.
RECOMMENDED
Haven’t shopped for insurance in the last six months? There might be hundreds $$$ in savings waiting for you.
avatar
Judith switched to Progressive
icon savingsSaved $725 annually
avatar
Alexander switched to Travelers
icon savingsSaved $834 annually
avatar
Annie switched to Nationwide
icon savingsSaved $668 annually

Easiest way to compare and buy car insurance

√
No long forms
√
No spam or unwanted phone calls
√
Quotes from top insurance companies
Find insurance savings — it's 100% free