Why you can trust Jerry
Jerry partners with some of the companies we write about. However, our content is written and reviewed by an independent team of editors and licensed insurance agents, and never influenced by our partnerships. Learn more baout how we make money, review our editorial standards, reference out data methodology, or view a list of our partners
- Minimum requirements
- Liability insurance
- State limits
- Is minimum enough?
- No insurance penalties
- Why follow rules?
- Affordable insurance
Load full table of contents
In Mississippi, all drivers are required by law to carry liability insurance and must be able to show proof of insurance upon request. Mississippi also has mandatory minimums in regards to how much insurance you must carry in order to legally drive in the state.
Protect yourself and other drivers by knowing Mississippi’s car insurance laws before you set off for a leisurely drive along the Gulf Coast, or cruising past where Elvis grew up, or anywhere else in The Magnolia State.
Whatever your car insurance needs, Jerry is just the app to not only meet them, but exceed them!
Signing up with Jerry takes a shade under a minute, and then this car insurance broker and comparison shopping app will scour the depths of the internet and bring you competitive quotes from the country’s top insurers.
All you have to do is pick your policy, and then Jerry takes care of the rest—including canceling your old policy for you!
Here’s what you need to know about Mississippi’s state laws on car insurance.
Mississippi auto insurance requirements
Mississippi’s mandated minimum coverage is typically listed as a split, in this case, 25/50/25. This includes:
- $25,000 for bodily injury for one person
- $50,000 for bodily injury for one accident
- $25,000 for property damage for one accident
Remember, you may be required to purchase more insurance than the mandated minimum coverage if you are leasing or financing a car. Why? Because the owners of the vehicle want to protect their investment.
Check with the lienholder about additional auto insurance requirements. Most lenders and leasers will require you to also carry comprehensive and collision coverage.
MORE: Types of insurance
Liability insurance in Mississippi
You are bound by law to carry liability insurance if you want to drive in Mississippi. If you cause an accident, your liability insurance will cover medical bills, pain and suffering, and any lost income suffered by those injured (drivers or passengers) in an accident.
Your liability insurance will also cover any property damage caused by you in an at-fault accident.
Mississippi’s splits are 25/50/25. Here’s what those mean.
Bodily injury per person
This liability insurance limit indicates an insurer’s maximum payout of $25,000 per person for injuries caused by you in an accident.
Bodily injury per accident
This limit indicates your insurer’s max payout of $50,000 for one accident, applying to all injuries suffered by those hurt in an accident caused by you.
This $25,000 limit is the most your insurer will issue for any property damage you cause in an at-fault accident.
State-mandated insurance limits, in-depth
Mississippi’s state-mandated minimums are the least amount of insurance you must buy in order to drive in the state. However much insurance you buy (whether the minimums or more) will act as the limit your insurer will payout in the case of an at-fault accident.
These minimums should be taken as guidelines—they almost certainly won’t be enough coverage if you are found to be at fault in a serious accident.
Is the minimum insurance requirement in Mississippi enough?
If you cause a serious accident that injures one or more people, the state’s minimums of $25,000 per injury for one person, and $50,000 for bodily injury per accident, can disappear quickly if those injured require significant medical care.
The same goes for the property damage limit. $25,000 may seem like a lot of money, but if you total another driver’s car, that might not even cover the car’s replacement costs, especially if it is new. If your limits are reached in any of these scenarios, you’ll have to pay out-of-pocket to cover any remaining costs.
This means you should buy more than Mississippi’s minimum insurance laws require. True, you may be forking over more money right now, but driving around with more robust protection will protect other drivers and yourself.
Key Takeaway It is smart to pay a slightly higher premium in Mississippi in order to have excellent liability coverage, as opposed to the bare minimum.
Penalties for driving without proof of insurance
Thinking about taking a chance and not buying liability insurance? Not a good idea. If a Mississippi officer pull you over and discovers that you’re driving uninsured, you’re liable to face a fine of up to $1000 and your license may be suspended up to a year. You might also be convicted of a misdemeanor.
Key Takeaway You could face a misdemeanor charge for driving without liability insurance in Mississippi.
Optional car insurance in Mississippi
Liability may be the only required insurance in Mississippi, but there are several options that are commonly added to drivers’ policies. Here’s a breakdown of them all.
Collision insurance covers your car for damages if you’re involved in a collision with another car or a fixed object, like a concrete pillar.
Comprehensive insurance covers your car for damages from non-collision incidents, such as vandalism, theft, animal damage, or extreme weather damage.
Gap insurance coverage comes in handy if your car is totaled while it is owned by a lienholder. Gap insurance covers the difference between your car’s actual cash value (pre-accident) and what you still owe on your lease or loan.
Medical payments funds can be used to pay medical bills for yourself, or those in your car, who sustained injuries in an accident—no matter who was at fault.
Rental car reimbursement
If your car is damaged in an accident and undrivable, rental reimbursement coverage can be put towards paying for a rental car while your own car is being fixed.
MORE: What is a car lien?
Also known as towing & labor coverage, this add-on can help you if your car breaks down, if a flat tire needs fixing, or if you need a tow.
Uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage
Uninsured motorist coverage will come in handy if you’re injured in a collision by a driver without insurance, or with very little coverage. Uninsured/underinsured coverage will pay for your medical bills in such circumstances.
Key Takeaway Adding optional insurance to your overall insurance policy will better protect you on the road—and down the road.
Why follow Mississippi car insurance laws?
First of all, it's the law.
If you fail to carry insurance with you at all times, you’re putting yourself in danger of fines (up to $1000), license suspension, and even criminal charges.
And even if you think you can get away with driving without liability coverage, you won't have any financial protection if you wind up in an accident—especially if you're at fault.
Key Takeaway If you’re a Mississippi driver and you don’t carry the mandated minimum liability insurance, you’re breaking the law.
Protect yourself with Jerry
Protecting yourself with car insurance has never been easier. No matter where you live in Mississippi, Jerry can find you top-notch car insurance at swamp-level prices.
Jerry is an AI-powered car insurance broker and comparison shopping app that makes finding car insurance a simple process. After a quick, 45 second sign-up process, Jerry will generate competitive quotes from more than 40 top insurers.
Jerry signs you up and cancels your old policy, and no annoying salespeople will ever call you. You also won’t have to fill out any long forms or deal with any hassles.
Best of all? The average Jerry user saves $879 per year on car insurance!
"Jerry is the best app ever. I entered basic information about myself (took less than 2 minutes) and Jerry did the rest. They were able to find insurance with the exact coverage I had before Jerry at a much cheaper rate. My monthly payment went from $110/ month to $58/month. I literally did nothing!"—Satisfied Jerry user
Does Mississippi require car insurance?
Mississippi requires drivers to carry liability insurance. Other forms of insurance, such as collision and comprehensive insurance, are not required but can be added to your policy.
What are the minimum requirements for auto insurance in Mississippi?
In Mississippi, you are required to carry liability insurance consisting of $25,000 worth of coverage for bodily injury per person, $50,000 worth of coverage for bodily injury per accident, and $25,000 worth of coverage for property damage.
Haven’t shopped for insurance in the last six months? There might be hundreds $$$ in savings waiting for you.
Judith switched to Progressive
Saved $725 annually
Alexander switched to Travelers
Saved $834 annually
Annie switched to Nationwide
Saved $668 annually