Expert Advice for Mississippi
All Articles on Mississippi
How to Get a Mississippi Learners Permit
You can apply for a temporary permit or a driver’s ed permit at age 15. Here’s what you need to know before you show up at the DPS.
How to Get Roadside Assistance in Mississippi
While many states offer free roadside assistance, Mississippi is sadly not one of them—but that doesn’t mean you’re out of luck.
11 Pros and Cons of Living in Mississippi
Mississippi residents enjoy a low cost of living and mild winters, but do these pros beat out the cons of poverty and poor healthcare? Learn more here.
How To Find Defensive Driving Courses in Mississippi
Taking a defensive driver’s course in Mississippi has a myriad of benefits, from getting you out of a ticket to lowering your insurance costs.
What to Do if You’re in a Car Accident Without Insurance But Not at Fault in Mississippi
Even if you’re not at fault in an accident, getting caught driving without insurance in Mississippi could cost you hundreds of dollars—and your license.
Buying a Car in Mississippi From Out of State
Registering a car from out of state in Mississippi is pretty straightforward with the right information and documentation.
What Counts as Proof of Residency in Mississippi?
You can use utility bills or government mail as proof of residency in Mississippi, but personal mail won’t count. Here’s the list.
2023 Mississippi CDL Requirements Guide
The basic Mississippi CDL requirements include a valid Class R driver’s license, a medical exam, and passing skills and knowledge tests.
Uninsured Motorist Coverage in Mississippi: Do You Need It?
Uninsured motorist coverage might not be a legal requirement in Mississippi—but driving without it is a huge risk for drivers.
What is the Driving Age in Mississippi?
Mississippi allows drivers as young as 14 to start their driving journey when they’re enrolled in a driver’s ed course. Click here for details.
How to Deal with Rising Gas Prices in Mississippi
Mississippi’s gas prices are among the lowest in the nation at an average of $4.172/gal for regular, but you can increase savings with tricks from Jerry.
Mississippi License Plates
Whether you want to support the military or help conserve marine life, Jerry’s ultimate list of Mississippi license plates has you covered.
How to Get a Mississippi Handicap Placard (and Who’s Eligible)
You can submit a Mississippi Disabled Parking Application to your Tax collector to get a disabled parking placard and tags if you meet eligibility requirements.
Mississippi Car Accident Laws
If you get into a car accident in Mississippi, think about filing an insurance claim before seeking damages in a personal injury suit.
The 8 Best Jackson Radio Stations
From morning talk radio to classic rock and r&b, these are the top eight radio stations to check out in Jackson, Mississippi.
How to Check for Mississippi Road Closures
Find instant information about Mississippi road closures by calling 511 or checking the Mississippi Department of Transportation’s website or app.
How to Donate a Car in Mississippi
When you donate a car in Mississippi, you can earn $500 or more in tax deductions.
Open Container Laws in Mississippi
As long as there’s no local law stating otherwise, you can drive with an open container in Mississippi—just be sure to keep your BAC below 0.8%.
How to Replace a Lost Mississippi Driver’s License
In Mississippi, replacing a lost driver’s license can be done online or in person for an $11 fee.
The 10 Most Common Ways to Get a Suspended License in Mississippi
If you drive with a suspended license, fail to pay child support, or have a DUI charge, a suspended license could land you in jail.
How to Get a Mississippi Driver’s License Reinstatement
Usually, you can get your Mississippi driver’s license reinstated by paying a $100 fee, but the process can cost more and take longer for severe offenses.
Gifting a Car in Mississippi
If you gift a car in Mississippi, you’ll need to complete a title transfer. If the gift is for a relative, an Affidavit of Relationship form is also needed.
Mississippi REAL ID: What You Need to Know
As of May 2023, domestic flights will require passengers to show a REAL ID-certified license, or document of equal status, before passing security.
Mississippi Driver’s License Requirements
To get a driver’s license in Mississippi, you must pass a written test, vision test, and road test.
How to Renew Your Driver's License in Mississippi
Renewing your Mississippi driver’s license costs $24 and can be done in person, online, or at a kiosk.
Mississippi Motorcycle Helmet Laws
Motorcycle helmets are required by state law for anyone operating a motorcycle or motor scooter on public roads and highways in Mississippi.
Is My License Plate Frame Legal in Mississippi?
License plate frames are legal in Mississippi as long as they don’t obscure or cover the information on the license plate.
How to Get a Rebuilt Title in Mississippi
Mississippi’s requirements for obtaining a rebuilt title include applying for a salvage title, completing repairs, and paying a rebuilt title fee of $75.
Comparative Negligence in Mississippi
Mississippi follows a pure comparative negligence law, meaning you can recover damages after an accident as long as you are not 100% at fault.
Everything You Need to Know About Mississippi’s Texting and Driving Laws
Texting and driving in Mississippi carries a fine of $100 to $500 depending on your driver’s license and up to $1000 in fines if it causes an accident.
All Questions on Mississippi
Can I renew my driver’s license online in Mississippi?
I live in Jackson, and my driver’s license expires tomorrow. The closest Mississippi Department of Public Safety location closes in 20 minutes—can I just renew my Mississippi driver’s license online?
How do you renew your driver’s license online in Mississippi?
Can I renew my driver’s license online in Mississippi? I need to renew mine soon but I hate waiting in line to renew in person!
What are some unique places to visit in Mississippi?
I’m stuck in Mississippi for the summer and need something to do. What are some recommendations for cool places to visit?
What is the Mississippi blood alcohol limit?
I just bought my tickets to see my alma mater LSU play Ole Miss in football. I hear the tailgating before the game is pretty crazy, but I want to make sure I’m still safe to drive after the game. What’s the blood alcohol limit in Mississippi?
How old do you have to be to rent a car in Mississippi?
I just moved to Mississippi and I need to rent a car for a few weeks until mine arrives. I need some help figuring out how to do this. For starters, how old do I have to be to rent a car?
Are there toll roads in Mississippi?
I was all set to go on my work trip to Mississippi when my sister asked if I had to drive on any toll roads. I have no idea! Are there any toll roads in Mississippi I should be aware of?
How do I get my Mississippi driving record?
I made a few mistakes a while back and I want to know if those are still on my driving record. How do I get a copy of my motor vehicle record in Mississippi?
Is lane splitting legal in Mississippi?
I was driving down I-55 on my way to Jackson and hit some traffic. I was starting to zone out when suddenly a motorcyclist popped up between me and the car next to me! He sped off in between the cars ahead. It really scared me—is he allowed to do this?
How much is a no seatbelt ticket in Mississippi?
I’ve just moved from Minnesota to Mississippi and I’m unfamiliar with local traffic laws. What is the penalty for a seatbelt violation in Mississippi?
Is Mississippi a no-fault state?
I live in Florida right now, but I’ll be moving to Mississippi soon, and I want to make sure I’m prepared insurance-wise. Is Mississippi also a no-fault state?
Can you turn right on a red in Mississippi?
I’m taking a road trip to visit a friend in Mississippi and I don’t want to get a ticket on the way. I think I have a handle on most of the traffic law differences, but I’m still wondering whether it’s legal to turn right on a red light.
Get Advice for Other Topics
Easiest way to compare and buy car insurance
Find insurance savings — it's 100% free
No long forms
No spam or unwanted phone calls
Quotes from top insurance companies