Why you can trust Jerry
Jerry partners with some of the companies we write about. However, our content is written and reviewed by an independent team of editors and licensed insurance agents, and never influenced by our partnerships. Learn more baout how we make money, review our editorial standards, reference out data methodology, or view a list of our partners
- What happens if you get a speeding ticket in Mississippi?
- What are the fines for a speeding ticket in Mississippi?
- Options for dealing with a speeding ticket in Mississippi
- How to fight a speeding ticket in Mississippi
- Will a speeding ticket increase your insurance?
Load full table of contents
When you receive a speeding ticket in Mississippi, you can either pay the fine or fight it in court. How much your fine is and the process of handling the ticket will vary from county to county.
Speeding tickets can have a big impact on your life. Whether it’s fines eating into your monthly budget or a suspension of your license upsetting your daily routine, nothing good comes from being caught speeding.
If you’ve recently been written a ticket for speeding, you’ll need to understand Mississippi’s procedure for paying and contesting moving violations. Each county has its own process and understanding what’s required of you is important for keeping your ticket from becoming a bigger problem than it already is.
Luckily, the car insurance super app Jerry has you covered. Keep reading to understand the Mississippi speeding ticket process and your options for dealing with your ticket.
What happens if you get a speeding ticket in Mississippi?
When you’re pulled over for speeding, have your driver’s license and car registration ready for the officer. If you’re compliant and don’t have other speeding tickets on your record, there’s a chance of getting off with a warning.
After the officer has written your ticket, you’ll need to sign it. Signing the ticket is not an admission of guilt—all your signature means is that you understand you need to pay your fine or appear in court by the due date listed on the ticket.
What are the fines for a speeding ticket in Mississippi?
Mississippi does not have a set rate for speeding ticket fines. How much you will have to pay depends on two things:
- The county where the ticket was written
- The speed you were ticketed for going
As a general rule of thumb, a speeding ticket will end up costing you anywhere from $150 to $300. Prior speeding tickets or speeding through construction or school zones will place your fine on the higher end of the scale.
Compare auto insurance policies
No spam or unwanted phone calls · No long forms · No fees, ever
Options for dealing with a speeding ticket in Mississippi
After receiving a speeding ticket in Mississippi, you have two options: plead guilty or not guilty.
- Pleading guilty means paying your fine and having a conviction placed on your driving record. Expect your car insurance rates to increase as a result.
- Pleading not guilty will mean having to appear in court to prove your innocence. The process of fighting a ticket varies by county and city,
Regardless of how you want to handle your speeding ticket, be sure to do it before the due date on the ticket. Missing your due date could mean anything from additional fines to jail time or having your license suspended.
How to pay a speeding ticket in Mississippi
The process of paying your fine will depend on the county where you received the ticket and the court that will handle your case. Check your ticket for specific instructions or contact the court for more information.
You may be able to pay your ticket online, by mail, or in person. Check with your county as to how you can pay and what forms of payment are accepted.
Once your payment has been processed, your case will be closed and a conviction will be placed on your driving record.
How to fight a speeding ticket in Mississippi
Mississippi has a few options for fighting a speeding ticket if you believe you’re innocent, don’t want a conviction on your record, or can’t pay your fine.
Plead not guilty in court
The process for filing a not guilty plea varies by city and county. For specific instructions, check your ticket for what you need to do or contact the court handling your case.
When you get your day in court, you’ll need evidence and/or witnesses that back up your claim. In some cases, the officer that wrote your ticket will not appear in court and your case may be dismissed.
If you can convince the judge of your innocence, your ticket will be dropped and you’ll be free to go. If not, you’ll have to pay your fine, legal fees, and have a conviction placed on your driving record.
If you are unable to prove that you weren’t speeding, there is still a chance of getting the ticket dismissed.
Depending on several factors—the judge, court regulations, your driving history, the nature of your violation—you may be able to complete a defensive driving course in exchange for the ticket being dropped.
Completing a Department of Public Safety (DPS) approved defensive driving course will remove one violation from your driving record. So even if your ticket stands, this can help offset the increase in your insurance rates.
It’s important to keep in mind that a defensive driving course can only be taken once, and there are other requirements for eligibility:
- You must have court approval
- You cannot have any other traffic violations in the last three years
- You must provide the court with an affidavit stating that you have not had any other violation in the last three years
What if you can’t afford to pay your speeding ticket?
If you cannot pay your ticket, the only option available to you is requesting the ticket be dismissed in exchange for completing a defensive driver course.
Ignoring the ticket or not paying the fine will result in a conviction being placed on your record along with some other possible punishments:
- Additional fines
- Jail time
- Suspension of your driver’s license
Will a speeding ticket increase your insurance?
If you’ve had a conviction placed on your driving record as a result of a speeding ticket, your insurance costs can increase by 18%. This rate increase will remain as long as the conviction is on your record.
Don’t resign yourself to paying more for car insurance, though. You may be able to find cheaper coverage by switching insurance providers. For help finding a cheaper policy, download the Jerry app.
Jerry is a car super app that will compare quotes from 50+ insurers to find you the best rate. All you need is some basic information and less than two minutes of your time. Once you pick a new policy, Jerry handles all the paperwork to finalize things!
“I recently started looking for insurance. With my past ticket, I got rejected from several companies while others charged me extreme prices. My friend referred me to Jerry and their amazing customer service helped me get the lowest insurance rate.” —Christina H.
Thousands of customers saved on average $887/year on their car insurance with Jerry
This app is great, but the customer service is even better! Not to mention convenient! My husband and I got the lowest rate (much lower than the rates I was finding online through my own searches), quickly, and pretty much all through text message! Thank you so much for a hassle free experience👍
Will I lose my license if I don’t fight a speeding ticket?
There’s a chance of losing your license if you already have other convictions on your driving record.
If you haven’t done so yet, you can ask the court for the opportunity to take a defensive driving course. Completing the course can get your speeding ticket dropped or a previous conviction expunged from your record.
Be aware that you can also lose your license for failing to pay your fine. Always handle a ticket before the due date listed on it.
Should I fight or pay my speeding ticket?
It is only a good idea to fight a ticket if you can prove that you were not speeding. To prove your innocence, you’ll need evidence and/or witnesses that will back up your claim.
Paying the fine is by far the easiest way to handle a speeding ticket. However, that means accepting a conviction being placed on your driving record.