The information contained in your record can seriously affect your
car insurancerates, so try to keep your record pristine. It’s also smart to check your driving record regularly to look for any potential inconsistencies.
What is a driving record?
Your driving record is a history of any public records of your driving, starting from the time you obtain your
Arkansas driver’s license. Sometimes it’s referred to as a “
motor vehicle report.” These records include any accounts of
car accidents, tickets,
demerit points, and
How do I access my driving record in Arkansas?
The easiest way to access your complete Arkansas driving record is to submit an
online applicationthrough the DMV. You can also order driving records by mail and in person. It costs $11.50 online or $8.50 by mail or in person.
To get your record, you’ll need your Arkansas driver’s license number and issue date, the last five digits of your Social Security number, and a credit card to pay the fee (VISA, MasterCard, or Discover). If you ordered it online, you can print it immediately.
To request your record in person, you’ll still need to complete the request form, but you’ll get your form from any Arkansas revenue office or the Little Rock Driving Records Office. Be prepared to pay the $8.50 fee.
Thousands of customers saved on average $887/year on their car insurance with Jerry
This app is great, but the customer service is even better! Not to mention convenient! My husband and I got the lowest rate (much lower than the rates I was finding online through my own searches), quickly, and pretty much all through text message! Thank you so much for a hassle free experience👍
awesome rewardsevery week, just for driving safe!”
Where else can I find my driving record in Arkansas?
Car insurance agents
Online third-party vendors
Some third-party agencies can provide a quick, non-certified driving record for personal use, but these typically cost more. The information may not be as accurate as an official record, but it’s a good option for people wanting to take a quick glance or confirm what information they know is already on the record.
What is on my record?
Your driving record is a compilation of your driving history and personal information. This usually includes:
- Personal information (e.g., name, address, birth date, etc.)
- Driver’s license information
- Infraction points
- Accidents, citations, violations, and convictions
- Fines paid or owed
- License suspensions
- Completeddriving courses
A smaller offense, like a
speeding ticket, might remain on your record for about three years. In some cases, completing an approved traffic school can erase these infractions quicker.
More serious violations, like
drunk drivingor vehicular manslaughter, can stay on your driving record for much longer—sometimes for life.
SR-22 in Arkansas
DMV points in Arkansas
Many states use a point system, which collects your infractions in the form of points that add up on your license. If you reach a specific number of points, your license will be suspended or revoked. The rules vary by state, so make sure you know the specific rules where you live.
Arkansas does not disclose how long specific infractions remain on your record, but they do list how many points certain offenses are worth.
In Arkansas, the following violations cost you 3 points:
- Speeding 10 or less miles per hour over the limit
- Unlisted moving violation
- At-fault accident
These infractions cost you 4-5 points:
- Speeding 11 to 20 miles per hour over the limit
- Speeding 21 to 30 miles per hour over the limit
The following offenses cost you 8 points:
- Speeding 31 or more miles per hour over the limit
- Leaving the scene of an accident
- Failure to stop for a school bus
- Fleeing or eluding an officer
Finally, driving under the influence will cost you 14 points on your record.
If you accumulate 10 points, you’re issued a warning letter and will be required to complete a defensive driving course. 14 or more points automatically schedules you for a hearing, during which you could be placed on probation or your license could be suspended.
Depending on your traffic court, you may be eligible to enroll in defensive driving school to have your tickets dismissed. Requirements for these courses typically include:
- Not having received a ticket for a moving violation within the last three years
- Not having completed defensive driving school forcitationswithin the last three years
- Not receiving any citations that require a mandatory court appearance
This may not be an option in certain counties, so always check before enrolling.
How can my driving record affect me?
driving record is cleanor not-so-clean, it can significantly affect aspects of your life. Here are a few things your record influences.
Your insurance premium
Your driving record plays one of the biggest roles in the insurance rates you’re offered.
If you have a history of serious or repeated violations, insurance carriers will label you a
high-risk driverand your premiums will increase—sometimes up to a whopping 300%. Even a single moving violation can raise your rate by at least 20%.
If your driving record is squeaky clean, however, you’ll have access to some of the lowest rates out there.
Your ability to drive
Your license can be suspended automatically for major violations, like reckless driving or a DUI. But you could also lose your license if you accumulate too many points on your record.
Your credit rating
Your driving record itself doesn’t influence your credit score, but if you fail to pay your tickets, your credit could suffer. Many places tack on a late fee for delinquent fine payments, and if you don’t pay before a certain date, they send it to a collection agency. Having debts in collection causes a noticeable dip in your credit rating.
Your job prospects
Several jobs require you to have a clean driving record as a condition of your employment. For firefighters, police officers, delivery drivers, or any other occupation where driving is crucial, an imperfect driving history can cost you.
Key Takeaway: Your driving record can affect more than just your insurance. It can have a significant influence on other aspects of your life, so be sure to keep it as clean as possible.
What is the difference between driving records in each state?
Your driving record exists in the state where you currently reside and hold your driver’s license. If you live in Arkansas, the state of Arkansas will hold your driving record.
But that doesn’t mean out-of-state offenses don’t affect your driving record.
The Driver’s License Compact (DLC) is an agreement between states to exchange information about traffic violations and license suspensions. This means that if you commit a driving violation outside of your home state, it will be reported to the DMV where you live—and you will be held accountable if you broke the law.
Which states don’t share driving records?
There are only five states that are not part of the DLC. They are:
Even so, these states may share information with other states through alternate agreements.
Haven’t shopped for insurance in the last six months? There might be hundreds $$$ in savings waiting for you.
Judith switched to Progressive
Saved $725 annually
Alexander switched to Travelers
Saved $834 annually
Annie switched to Nationwide
Saved $668 annually