How to Get a Wyoming Driver’s License Reinstatement

A Wyoming driver’s license reinstatement costs $50, but the procedure can take weeks or years depending on the original offense.
Written by Mariza Morin
Reviewed by Kathleen Flear
After completing your suspension period, you can get your Wyoming driver’s license reinstated by filing an SR-22 form (if applicable) and paying the required reinstatement fee. Eligibility will be determined by any pending additional suspendable offenses.
Losing your driver’s license can be beyond frustrating, but there are many ways to regain your driving privileges. However, you will not be allowed to drive until you satisfy all requirements to get your license back. Regulations vary depending on the severity of the violation that lost you your license to begin with, and the process differs from state to state. 
In Wyoming, a driver’s license reinstatement costs $50 for all suspensions, but the process can get complicated. That’s why
car insurance
comparison super app
created this guide to Wyoming license reinstatement—plus info on how to save on your
Wyoming car insurance

Why you might need a license reinstatement in Wyoming

Wyoming Department of Transportation (WYDOT)
issues license suspensions and revocations for a wide range of violations. Some of the most common reasons to lose your license include driving under the influence, moving violations, and driving without insurance.
When your Wyoming driver’s license is suspended, you must satisfy all requirements to regain driving privileges. WYDOT requires drivers (or their insurers) to
fill out and file SR-22 form
(if your offense requires it) and pay the reinstatement fee before driving again.
Not sure if you need a license reinstatement? You can stop by your
local driver exam office
, and they can run a check of your status through the Problem Driver Pointer System (PDPS).
Compare auto insurance policies
No spam or unwanted phone calls · No long forms
Find insurance savings

How to get a license reinstatement in Wyoming

There are several ways to get a suspended Wyoming license reinstated, depending on the nature of the suspension. In most cases, you’ll need to send in some documentation along with a reinstatement fee of $50 for all suspensions. 
Depending on the offense, WYDOT will issue specific license penalties:
  • Mandatory suspensions: This type of suspension takes effect for a specific time period, and you must serve the entirety of your suspension before your driver’s license will be reinstated.
  • Indefinite suspensions: This type of suspension requires you to perform a specific action before your driver’s license will be reinstated. For example, if you are suspended for driving without
    car insurance
    , you can prove that you have purchased car insurance in order to lift your license suspension. If you buy car insurance before your suspension period starts, you can avoid a suspension altogether.

Suspension hearings and appeals

If your license is suspended in Wyoming, you can request a hearing to dispute the conviction or a record review to petition for limited driving privileges. If your license is revoked, you can dispute the conviction, but a record review is not an option.
If you wish to contest your license suspension, you have to submit a request for a Contested Case Hearing. Your request must be in writing, include a $25 fee, and be delivered or postmarked within 20 days of receiving notice of a license action. Send your request and fee to:
Wyoming Department of Transportation ATTN: Driver Services 5300 Bishop Blvd Cheyenne, WY 82009


If your driver's license was revoked, you must go through a driver investigation to be re-licensed once the revocation is over. You cannot have limited driving privileges if your license has been revoked. 
Offenses that will cause a revocation include a third or subsequent
driving while under the influence (DUI)
, homicide by vehicle, or any felony that is a direct result of
reckless driving
After fully serving your suspension, you can reinstate your Wyoming driver’s license by satisfying all court-ordered requirements, then visiting a
driver exam station
, obtaining SR-22 auto insurance (if required), and paying your reinstatement fee of $50.
Payments to WYDOT can be made in person at your local driver exam office using cash, check, money order, or credit card. You can also pay by phone using a credit card at (307) 777-4810 or by sending a check or money order by mail to:
Wyoming Department of Transportation ATTN: Driver Services 5300 Bishop Blvd Cheyenne, WY 82009
Key Takeaway In most cases, you can get your license reinstated by sending in the required paperwork and fees to your local WYDOT office. Depending on your case, you may need to obtain SR-22 insurance. 

How to get a restricted or temporary license in Wyoming

Driving with a suspended or revoked license is a serious offense in Wyoming. At the same time, it can be difficult getting around without a car. If you’re facing a Wyoming license suspension, you may be eligible for a restricted or temporary license, also known as a probationary license.
Please note that if your license was revoked, you do not qualify for limited driving privileges. You may only request a hearing to contest the revocation. 

When can you apply for a probationary license?

If you were issued a mandatory suspension of your license, you may qualify for a probationary license to drive to and from work. You must send a written request to WYDOT indicating how having a suspended license is causing you hardship and include a $15 fee. You will be notified if you are eligible for a temporary license. 
If you have been approved for a probationary license, you must:
  • Complete the required forms you receive by mail.
  • Get an alcohol assessment, if convicted of an alcohol-related offense.
  • Complete a DUI course, if applicable.
  • Have SR-22 insurance on file, if applicable.
  • Pay the probationary license fee of $50.
Requests sent by mail should be addressed to:
Wyoming Department of Transportation ATTN: Driver Services 5300 Bishop Blvd Cheyenne, WY 82009
Let Jerry find your price in only 45 seconds
No spam · No long forms · No fees
Find insurance savings

What is an SR-22 certificate?

If your Wyoming license has been suspended or revoked, you may be required to file proof of insurance or financial responsibility in the form of an
SR-22 certificate
before qualifying for limited driving privileges or reinstating your driver’s license.
An SR-22 is an insurance certificate that your insurance company files with WYDOT. Wyoming Statute 31-9-401 mandates that drivers must provide proof of financial responsibility in order to continue driving after committing certain violations. Proof of financial responsibility must be maintained for three years from the date it is required. 
When an SR-22 is on file, the insurance company must notify the department when there is a cancellation of the insurance. You must file an SR-22 in order to apply for an Ignition Interlock Restricted License. If the SR-22 is not on file by the end of your mandatory suspension, your driving privilege will remain suspended until the SR-22 is filed.

What is an ignition interlock requirement?

To have driving privileges during an eligible suspension/revocation in Wyoming, you will be required to use an ignition interlock restricted license and have a state-approved ignition interlock device installed in any vehicle you drive
For an ignition interlock restricted license, an SR-22 is required, in addition to a $50 reinstatement fee and a valid installation certificate. 
Eligible ignition interlock offenses and requirements for the length of time you must have an approved device installed depend on the offense. 
If this is your first DUI conviction with a blood alcohol content (BAC) of 0.15% or greater, the device can last up to six months. A second DUI conviction can last one year, while a third DUI conviction lasts two years. By the fourth or subsequent DUI offense, the sentence could be a lifetime with the right to appeal with the court after five years.

How to save money on car insurance in Wyoming

Whether you’re dealing with a license suspension or revocation, finding the best
car insurance
rate is more vital than ever. Every insurance company uses different criteria to calculate your premium, and it is well worth doing a comprehensive comparison of every offer on the market. But with so many other things on your plate, who has the time for all that research?
does! If you’ve got a less-than-ideal Wyoming record, Jerry’s team is here to help you find the best insurance rates around. We keep it simple: just enter your information in the Jerry app and within 45 seconds, you’ll get customized options from top insurance providers. 
On average, Jerry users save an average of over $800 a year on car insurance!
No matter your situation, you may be able to lower your insurance premium significantly with Jerry. Here’s how we helped this customer get the best rate for her situation:
“I recently started looking for insurance. With my past ticket, I got rejected from several companies while others charged me extreme prices. My friend referred me to
and their amazing customer service helped me get the lowest insurance rate.” —Christina H.
Jerry automatically checks if you are paying the lowest price for your insurance, for free.
Instantly compare top insurance companies
No spam or unwanted phone calls · No long forms
What insurance do you want to compare?
Are you overpaying for car insurance?
Compare quotes and find out in 45 seconds.
Try Jerry

Easiest way to compare and buy car insurance

No long forms
No spam or unwanted phone calls
Quotes from top insurance companies
Find insurance savings