Wyoming Hit-and-Run

Committing a hit-and-run in Wyoming can result in up to $5,000 in fines and up to one year in jail.
Written by Kaitlin May
Reviewed by Kathleen Flear
A hit-and-run is a serious offense in Wyoming that can be charged as a misdemeanor or a felony. The penalties can earn drivers up to $5,000 in fines and up to one year in jail — it'll also affect the cost of
car insurance in Wyoming.
Wyoming tops the charts for its fatal crashes per 100,000 people—many of which are caused by hit-and-run accidents. To mitigate the amount of these common yet avoidable tragedies, Wyoming meets hit-and-run offenders with serious legal and financial consequences. 
Every state is on the same page as Wyoming when it comes to cracking down on hit-and-run accidents, but each has its own set of laws. If you’re involved in a hit-and-run in any capacity, it’s a good idea to have the
car insurance
comparison and broker app
in your corner.
This article breaks down everything you need to do before, during, and after a hit-and-run accident in Wyoming.
Let Jerry find your price in only 45 seconds
No spam · No long forms · No fees
Find insurance savings

What is a hit-and-run?

When a driver leaves the scene of an accident without stopping, it’s considered a hit-and-run. Whether or not injuries or damage are incurred, drivers are required by law to stop after a collision. 
Failure to remain present after an accident can impact the safety of the parties involved, the ability of the other party to file an insurance claim, and will result in criminal charges with long-term repercussions.

What happens if you commit a hit-and-run in Wyoming?

In Wyoming, drivers are required to stop and stay at the scene of a collision without obstructing traffic. It’s illegal to leave without showing your driver’s license to the other party or the police. 
If you neglect to provide your information or render aid to any injured passengers by contacting emergency responders, you’ll face legal and financial penalties.

Is a hit-and-run a felony in Wyoming?

Wyoming has sanctioned hit-and-run offenses into two categories with corresponding convictions. If the accident resulted in property damage only, the driver will be charged with a misdemeanor. If the aftermath of the accident included ​​injuries or death, the driver will receive a felony charge.
Any form of injury to another person is enough reason for a driver to be prosecuted with a felony conviction. However, the result of each case will ultimately be determined by the severity of the accident and damages.

What is the punishment for a hit-and-run in Wyoming?

Whether you’ve been charged with a misdemeanor or a felony in the wake of a hit-and-run, you’ll be facing jail time, fines, license suspension, and additional fees.
This is how the potential punishments could add up in Wyoming:
Result of accident
Possible punishment
Property damage
Up to six months in jail
Personal injury or death
Up to one year in prison
The specific parameters of the accident will determine whether or not your license will be suspended or revoked. The duration could range from six months to a lifetime depending on the recklessness of the crime.
The court can assess the charges and administer additional fees if the jury determines they’re warranted by the actions of the driver. Additionally, car insurance companies won’t cover the costs for an at-fault accident, which could leave you with astronomical financial penalties.

How to avoid a hit-and-run charge

Fearing the consequences of an accident may be the greatest motivation to flee the scene, but the penalties for doing so are much worse. Avoiding a hit-and-run charge requires you to stop at a reasonable place near the accident and cooperate by doing the following:
  • Provide your license and insurance information
  • Arrange transportation for injured parties to receive medical care
  • Contact local authorities to initiate a police report
  • Leave a detailed note with your information if the other party isn’t present
It’s essential to treat every collision the same way regardless of the perceived damage or injuries. Cooperating with the police and the parties involved can lead to leniency in the penalties and fees associated with the accident.

What should I do if I experience a hit-and-run in Wyoming?

The first thing you should do is assess yourself and your passengers for any injuries
Once you’ve addressed everyone’s safety, here are some steps you can take to steer the outcome of the accident:
  • Get medical personnel on the way if any parties are injured
  • Document as many details of the driver, the scene, and your car’s damage as possible
  • Call the police to
    report the hit-and-run
  • Initiate a claim with your insurance company within a day of the accident
Fresh, vivid details are crucial to not only identifying the other driver but getting the most out of your insurance claim. If you’ve incurred damage to your vehicle or personal injuries, your insurance company will be instrumental in making sure you’re reimbursed for those expenses.

After you leave the scene

You need to make sure that the officer at the scene files a police report. This report helps you increase the chances of finding the culprit and it provides important corroborating evidence for your insurance claim. 
You’ll want to file an insurance claim within 24 hours after a hit-and-run. 
If you or the police were able to track down the driver or if you have their license plate number, their insurance should cover the damage. In this case, your insurance company will handle the claim like any other accident. 
If you can’t identify the driver or their vehicle, filing a hit-and-run claim is more difficult. If you only have liability insurance, you’re out of luck. However, you may be covered if you have
collision coverage

What insurance covers a hit-and-run?

Insurance type
Will it cover a hit-and-run?
Uninsured motorist bodily injury
Covers you if the at-fault driver doesn’t have insurance and protects you in a hit-and-run
Collision coverage
Pays or damages regardless of who is at fault and can reimburse you even if you weren’t present at the time of the accident
Personal injury protection
Can offer protection regardless of who is at fault and can cover you if you’re a pedestrian or cyclist involved in a hit-and-run
These coverages can be a safety net when you’re on either side of a hit-and-run accident, but they’re not built into your plan. It’s a good idea to make the investment and save yourself additional hassles and headaches in the event of an accident.
MORE: Does insurance cover a hit and run?

How to find affordable insurance for collisions and more

You’ll want to make sure that you have a good policy in place just in case you are ever involved in a hit-and-run accident. That’s where having the
app at your fingertips comes in. The app is free and signing up takes just about 45 seconds.
As a
licensed broker
, Jerry will round up the most competitive quotes from over 50 top insurance companies. Without making a single phone call or filling out a tedious form, you can switch over to a more affordable policy that’s better suited to your needs.
Jerry will even handle the cancellation of your old policy and send you updated rates before each renewal. With Jerry helping you stay on top of your saving game, you can save an average of $887 per year!
“I saw an ad for
on Instagram and decided to give it a try. I have a terrible driving record, but Nathan still helped me. Before, almost no one wanted to insure me. Now, I have a great policy and save $200/month. I’m one happy gal!” —Terri C. 
Compare auto insurance policies
No spam or unwanted phone calls · No long forms
Find insurance savings


Yes. In Wyoming, you can expect to see your insurance premium double if you commit a hit-and-run accident. Annual coverage rates will increase by around $1,000 more per year than in a standard accident. 
However, your rates won’t be impacted if you were the victim of a hit-and-run incident.
Since you’ll be facing criminal charges, it’s wise to get a lawyer on your side. You’ll want any chance at reducing or dropping the penalties that you can get.
Are you overpaying for car insurance?
Compare quotes and find out in 45 seconds.
Try Jerry

Easiest way to compare and buy car insurance

No long forms
No spam or unwanted phone calls
Quotes from top insurance companies
Find insurance savings