Wyoming Car Insurance Laws—All You Need to Know
Find out if you’re getting ripped off on your car insurance in less than two minutes.
No long forms · No spam · No fees
- Liability coverage
- At-fault state
- Is minimum enough?
- Optional coverage
- Where to buy?
Load full table of contents
Wyoming law mandates that all drivers have liability insurance. The state-mandated limits for minimum liability coverage in Wyoming follow a 25/50/20 pattern: $25,000 in bodily injury coverage per person, $50,000 in bodily injury coverage per accident, and $20,000 in property damage coverage per accident.
Wyoming only requires liability coverage, so you should look into additional forms of car insurance coverage to make sure you are amply insured.
Worried about buying car insurance in Wyoming? Don’t be! Jerry makes car insurance shopping scary easy—and scary cheap.
By bringing you customized car insurance quotes online from top insurance providers, Jerry ensures that you’re always getting the best deals on your car insurance—without sacrificing any coverage.
And now, here’s everything you need to know about Wyoming’s car insurance requirements.
Car insurance requirements in Wyoming
All Wyoming drivers must have liability coverage to meet state requirements.
This is a brief summary of the minimum car insurance limits for Wyoming:
|Minimum Liability Coverage: 25/50/20|
|$25,000 bodily injury per person|
|$50,000 bodily injury per accident|
|$20,000 property damage per accident|
What is liability coverage?
Liability coverage covers the medical expenses and property damage of others when you are at fault in an accident.
This might include things like another driver’s hospital bills or repairs for a dented car door. Liability coverage does not cover your own medical expenses or property damages.
State-mandated limits for liability coverage in Wyoming
The state-mandated limits for bodily injury liability in Wyoming are $25,000 per person and $50,000 per accident.
This means that if you cause a collision where a person is injured, that person may recover up to $25,000 from your provider for medical fees and the like. If you injure two or more persons, your provider will pay out up to $50,000 total.
The state-mandated limit for property damage in Wyoming is $20,000 per accident.
The limits for liability coverage in Wyoming are typically summarized in the pattern 25/50/20 for bodily injury per person, bodily injury per accident, and property damage per accident, respectively.
These are the minimum limits in Wyoming, which means that you can purchase higher liability limits if you want.
Key Takeaway Wyoming drivers must have liability coverage following a 25/50/20 pattern: $25,000 in bodily injury coverage per person, $50,000 in bodily injury coverage per accident, and $20,000 in property damage coverage per accident.
Wyoming is an at-fault state
Wyoming is an at-fault—or "tort"—state, meaning at-fault drivers are liable for damages and expenses resulting from an accident. So, you’ll want to make sure you have decently high liability limits so that you lessen the likelihood of needing to pay out-of-pocket if you ever cause a collision.
You might want to buy liability insurance adhering to a 50/100/50 pattern, which would mean you would have $50,000 bodily injury coverage per person, $100,000 bodily injury coverage per accident, and $50,000 property damage coverage per accident.
Do Wyoming’s required insurance minimums provide enough coverage?
Wyoming’s liability coverage requirement is on par with other states—but that doesn’t mean that you shouldn’t look into additional coverage.
Remember, liability coverage won’t cover any of your own medical bills or damages in an accident where you are at fault. You’ll want to purchase additional coverage— like MedPay or Personal Injury Protection (PIP) to help cover some of these expenses.
Penalties for driving without insurance in Wyoming
Wyoming enforces penalties for drivers who are caught driving without proof of insurance, including fines and forfeiture of vehicle registration. Additionally, they get more severe for subsequent offenses:
|First Offense||Subsequent Offenses|
|$250 to $70 fine||$500 to $1500 fine|
|[SR-22](https://getjerry.com/car-insurance/sr22-insurance) filing for three years||[SR-22](https://getjerry.com/car-insurance/sr22-insurance) filing for three years|
|Up to 6 months in prison||Up to 6 months in prison|
|Forfeiture of vehicle registration|
|Forfeiture of license plates|
Key Takeaway You are best advised to purchase higher liability limits for driving in Wyoming—especially since WY is an at-fault state. Penalties for driving without the minimum required car insurance in Wyoming range from fines to SR-22 filing to prison time.
MORE: What is an SR-22?
Optional auto insurance coverage in Wyoming
On top of purchasing higher limits for your liability coverage in Wyoming, it’s a good idea to look into additional forms of car insurance coverage:
- Uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage: Uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage covers your own medical expenses if you are the victim of a collision with an at-fault driver who doesn’t have insurance.
- Personal Injury Protection (PIP): Personal Injury Protection (PIP) provides coverage for you and your passengers if you are injured in a car accident.
- Comprehensive coverage: Comprehensive coverage can cover the costs of physical damages to your vehicle that are not the result of a collision (such as vandalism).
- Collision coverage: Collision coverage can help you cover the cost of repairs for your vehicle after a collision with another vehicle or fixed object.
- Medical payments (MedPay) insurance: MedPay covers the cost of medical bills or funeral expenses that are the result of a collision.
- Roadside assistance: Roadside assistance helps with things like fixing flats, towing, or jumping batteries. The type of coverage will vary among policies and companies.
- Rental car reimbursement: Rental car reimbursement will cover the cost of a rental vehicle if you are unable to drive your car.
Where to buy car insurance in Wyoming
Ready to buy your car insurance for driving in Wyoming? Jerry is here to help you every step of the way!
As a cheap car insurance comparison app, Jerry helps you find the lowest rates on your car insurance—but you won’t have to do any of the busywork.
Here’s how it works: you put in your information (don’t worry, it takes less than a minute), then Jerry brings you customized, competitive quotes for the coverage you need. Find a policy you like? You can purchase it all in the same place, and Jerry will do all the calls and paperwork to set up your new policy (and cancel your old one if you have one)!
If this wasn’t good enough, it gets even better: the average Jerry customer saves $879 a year on car insurance. Oh—and it’s totally, completely free to use. Yeah, seriously.
"I saved $110 a month switching insurance with Jerry, and they are handling the whole process of filing new policy documents and canceling my old policy!" — Satisfied Jerry user
Is car insurance mandatory in Wyoming?
Yes. Wyoming drivers must have liability coverage following a 25/50/20 pattern: $25,000 in bodily injury coverage per person, $50,000 in bodily injury coverage per accident, and $20,000 in property damage coverage per accident.
Penalties for driving without the minimum required car insurance in Wyoming range from fines, to SR-22 filing, to prison time.
Is Wyoming a no-fault auto insurance state?
No. Wyoming is an at-fault auto insurance state, meaning at-fault drivers assume liability for medical and property damage costs resulting from a collision.
Haven’t shopped for insurance in the last six months? There might be hundreds $$$ in savings waiting for you.
Judith switched to Progressive
Saved $725 annually
Alexander switched to Travelers
Saved $834 annually
Annie switched to Nationwide
Saved $668 annually