Wisconsin Hit-and-Run

A hit-and-run in Wisconsin can carry up to $10,000 in fines and up to nine months in jail.
Written by Kaitlin May
Reviewed by Kathleen Flear
Drivers who commit a hit-and-run in
can be charged with either a misdemeanor or felony. Most misdemeanor cases result in up to $10,000 in fines and up to nine months in jail.
In recent years, the number of annual hit-and-run collisions has exceeded 700,000. Each state is doing its part to mitigate the climbing number of fatalities caused by hit-and-run accidents with stringent penalties. When a driver flees the scene of an accident, it leaves financial and medical damage behind that can be devastating to the victims.
In this article, you’ll find everything you need to know about how to handle a hit-and-run accident in Wisconsin.

What is a hit-and-run?

An accident is considered a hit-and-run when the driver leaves the scene without providing their information. Failing to stop after an accident and assess the presence or absence of damage is illegal in every state. 
Without exchanging personal information, it complicates the victim’s ability to file a police report and insurance claim. Even if you weren’t at fault in the accident, you’re required to remain at the scene until the other party has the details they need.
MORE: Does insurance cover a hit and run?

What happens if you commit a hit-and-run in Wisconsin?

In Wisconsin, leaving the scene of an accident isn’t the only way to earn a hit-and-run charge. You’re required to fulfill obligations at the collision site, including:
  • Providing your name, address, registration number, and license to the other party
  • Rendering aid to any injured parties by arranging medical care
Neglecting to see these steps through will result in a hit-and-run conviction. It’s not enough to return to the scene once you’ve left, either. Your actions will still be reported as a hit-and-run.

Is a hit-and-run a felony in Wisconsin?

The severity of the damages, injuries, or death incurred by a hit-and-run accident will determine the charges administered in a hit-and-run. 
A collision without injuries or with minor injuries will earn the driver a misdemeanor. If parties are severely injured or killed, the charge will be convicted as a felony.

What is the punishment for a hit-and-run in Wisconsin?

Four distinct hit-and-run scenarios are punishable in Wisconsin—each with its own set of penalties. On the minor end of the spectrum, with only property damage caused, the driver will face between $300 and $1000 in fines and up to six months in jail.
The highest extent of the law, a hit-and-run resulting in death, carries fines of up to $100,000 and up to 25 years in prison.
Here’s a full breakdown of the potential outcomes of a hit-and-run conviction in Wisconsin:
Result of accident
Possible punishment
Property damage only
Up to six months in county jail
Fines between $300 and $1000
Injuries but no great bodily harm
Up to nine months in jail
Fines up to $10,000
Class A misdemeanor
Great bodily harm
Up to 15 years in prison
Fines up to $50,000
Class E felony
Up to 25 years in prison
Fines up to $100,000
Class D felony
Each incident is evaluated by its unique conditions, and the court can assess further fees if the driver was determined to commit additional crimes in the accident. 
You might face high insurance rates thanks to your newly blemished
driving record
. Depending on the circumstances, you could also find yourself with an
SR-22 insurance requirement
for at least a few years.

How to avoid a hit-and-run charge

You need to remain calm and stay at the scene until you’ve fulfilled the state-mandated obligations. Here’s what you need to do to avoid a hit and run charge in Wisconsin:
  • Stay near the accident site without obstructing traffic
  • Provide your full name, address, registration number, and license if requested
  • Arrange medical care for any injured or unresponsive parties
  • Leave a detailed note with your contact information if the damaged vehicle is unattended
If more than $1,000 of damage was caused by the collision, you’re required to contact the police and file a report.

What should I do if I experience a hit-and-run in Wisconsin?

Being the victim of a hit-and-run can be traumatic, but it’s essential to remain calm and assess the situation so you can report the accident as soon as possible. The more details you document, the more likely you’ll be to identify the driver who hit you and seek justice.

At the scene

Although it may be tempting, refrain from following the vehicle that hit you. There are myriad reasons why that could complicate your case even further. First, you should ensure you and any passengers are safe. Then, focus on the following:
  • Contact medical personnel if any parties are injured
  • Call the police to get an immediate, detailed report initiated
  • Take pictures and record as many details as you can—including damage to your car
If any witnesses were present, document anything they noticed about the collision, the conditions, and details about the driver. Record their contact information if they’re comfortable with you doing so. Their account of the accident can be helpful for both the police and your insurance company.

After you leave the scene

Wait no more than 24 hours to contact your insurance company. With vivid details like the weather, traffic conditions, time, and date of the accident, your insurance company can more efficiently get a claim started.
If you don’t have any information about the driver or their vehicle, filing a claim becomes more difficult. If you only have liability insurance, you’re out of luck. However, you may be covered if you have
collision coverage
uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage
medical payments (MedPay) coverage
, or
personal injury protection (PIP)

What insurance covers a hit-and-run?

Insurance type
Will it cover a hit-and-run?
Uninsured motorist coverage
Fills in the gaps where the other driver’s insurance is lacking and can cover your damages and medical bills
Collision coverage
Covers the costs of repairing or replacing your vehicle up to your policy limits
Medical Payments
Won’t cover property damage but can cover medical expenses for you and any injured passengers

How to find affordable insurance for collisions and more

The last thing you’ll want to worry about when you’ve been involved in a hit-and-run accident is your car insurance. The stress of the accident is enough, and spending time making phone calls and filling out endless paperwork can add unnecessary hassles to the situation.
That’s why having the speedy super app
in your back pocket is essential to reducing both the stress and costs associated with car insurance. Jerry will provide you with access to dozens of top insurance companies and their best rates. 
Once you select a policy, you can just sit back and let Jerry do the rest. You can get situated with a new policy and even get help canceling an old policy.
“I’ve gotten pulled over a few times in the past. With
, the police never had an issue verifying my insurance. The app is convenient, easy, and cheap!” —Dalton T.
Compare auto insurance policies
No spam or unwanted phone calls · No long forms
Find insurance savings


Yes. If you’re convicted of a hit-and-run in Wisconsin, you can expect your insurance rates to double. Victims of hit-and-run accidents won’t have their payments impacted, though.
It’s a good idea to get a lawyer on your side, especially with the severe penalties that a hit-and-run carries. It’s rare but possible to get your charges reduced or dropped in court with an experienced lawyer.
Are you overpaying for car insurance?
Compare quotes and find out in 45 seconds.
Try Jerry

Easiest way to compare and buy car insurance

No long forms
No spam or unwanted phone calls
Quotes from top insurance companies
Find insurance savings