What is the Driving Age in Kansas?

You may apply for an instruction permit in Kansas at age 14 according to Kansas’ Graduated Driver License program.
Written by Shannon Fitzgerald
Reviewed by Kathleen Flear
background
The minimum driving age in Kansas is 14 years old, according to Kansas’ Graduated Driver License program. You may apply for an instruction permit beginning at that age and work toward receiving a non-restricted standard driver’s license by 17 at the earliest. 
Getting your learner’s permit, and eventually taking your road test, is an exciting milestone for everyone. But the process for teen drivers to achieve that coveted license varies from state-to-state, making it a little tricky to pinpoint how and when you can start applying.
That’s why
Jerry
, the licensed broker app for
car insurance
savings has put together a guide to all of Kansas’ teen driving laws and procedures. From learner’s permit restrictions and driver’s ed requirements to finding
car insurance in Kansas
as a new driver—here’s how young, new drivers can get licensed in the Sunflower State.
RECOMMENDED
Compare auto insurance policies
No spam or unwanted phone calls · No long forms
Find insurance savings

What is the driving age in Kansas?

The minimum driving age in Kansas is 14 years old. You may apply for your instruction permit at this time and work toward earning your provisional license by age 15 at the earliest as per Kansas’ Graduated Driver License program. 

What is the Graduated Driver License program in Kansas?

Kansas, like most of the country, implements a Graduated Driver License (GDL) program for teen drivers. Essentially, this program outlines a process for teen drivers to follow to gradually gain driving privileges with experience.
According to the CDC
, car accidents are the second leading cause of death for U.S. teens—the goal of the GDL program is to increase teen driver safety to prevent these accidents from happening. 
The GDL program works in three stages. Each one requires teen drivers to gain certain knowledge, skills, and experience before they can reach the next stage and eventually receive full unrestricted driving privileges. They are as follows:
  • Instruction permit stage: limited and supervised driving
  • Provisional license stage: limited and mostly unsupervised driving
  • Unrestricted license stage: standard, unsupervised driving

How to get your instruction (learner’s) permit in Kansas

New drivers under the age of 17 in Kansas must apply for a learner’s or instruction permit through the Kansas Department of Revenue (DOR) before they can apply for a provisional license. As part of the GDL program, the instruction permit allows inexperienced drivers to gain hands-on experience under safe, monitored conditions. 
Before heading to the
nearest DOR station
to apply, however, applicants must:
  • Be at least 14 years old
  • Prepare to pass a
    written
    and vision test online or in person 
  • Bring a signed statement of parental approval if you’re under 16
The written test will contain multiple-choice questions referring to information from
Kansas’ driving handbook
. It’s a good idea to read and study up on Kansas’ rules of the road well ahead of time. 
You will need to get 20 out of 25 questions right in order to pass. You’ll have unlimited time to do so. If you fail, you can take the exam four more times within a six-month period. Any further failures during that time will result in a waiting period of six months before you can try again. 
As soon as you pass your knowledge test, you will officially receive your very own instruction permit.

Instruction permit restrictions

Receiving your brand new Kansas learner’s permit is certainly cause for celebration, but you can’t drive off solo into the
Topeka
sunset just yet. In accordance with the GDL, all Kansas permit-holders must be accompanied by a licensed driver at all times. This driver has to be at least 21 years old and is required to sit in the front seat while supervising. 
The permit holder is also restricted from using any wireless communication devices (even if they are hands-free) unless it is to report illegal activity or seek emergency assistance. 
RECOMMENDED
Compare auto insurance policies
No spam or unwanted phone calls · No long forms
Find insurance savings

How to get your provisional driver’s license in Kansas

As soon as you have your Kansas learner’s permit, you can start taking the steps to earn your provisional driver’s license. 
To reach that licensed stage of the GDL, applicants must:
  • Be at least 15 years old
  • Have held an instruction permit for a minimum of one year—NOT required for permit-holders age 17 and older
  • Bring acceptable proof of identity and residency 
  • Provide signed parental or legal guardian approval (if under 17)
  • Drivers under 16:
  • Complete a driver’s education course
  • Complete a
    25-hour signed affidavit
    of logged driving experience 
  • Drivers between 16 and 17:
  • Complete a
    50-hour signed affidavit
    of logged driving experience (if driver’s ed was not completed)
  • Complete 10 of those driving hours at night
  • Bring payment for
    license application fees
  • Generally, this is $31 total ($20 issuance fee, $3 test fee, $8 photo fee)
  • Pass a road test 
  • If you fail your driving test, you are permitted to take it again the next working day for a $1.50 re-exam fee. Like the written test, you have four chances to pass within a six-month period—any further failures will require a six-month wait period before retesting. 
    Note, that you may also bring in the DE-99 completion slip from a driver’s education course in lieu of a written or driving examination. However, the Kansas DOR reserves the right to test any applicant regardless. 
    Key Takeaway Depending on your age, you’ll generally need to take driver’s ed or complete 50 hours of supervised driving before you can take your road test in Kansas.

    Provisional driver’s license restrictions

    Once you have your provisional driver’s license, you will still have certain limitations on your driving until you can get an unrestricted standard license at age 17. Like its licensing prerequisites, Kansas’ provisional license restrictions differ based on your age. 
    If you’re a provisional license-holder who is between 15 and 16, you may ONLY: 
    • Drive to and from employment, or in connection to employment 
    • Drive to and from home and school, using the most direct route and solely for school attendance (not school activities)
    • Only a licensed adult may sit in the front seat 
    • NO passengers under 18 are allowed unless they are siblings
    • NO mobile devices may be used (even if they’re hands-free)
    If you’re between 16 and 17, there are fewer restrictions:
    • You may drive any time between the hours of 5am and 9pm 
    • You may only drive to and from: 
    • School and school activities 
    • Religious worship and services 
    • Employment 
  • Only a licensed adult may sit in the front seat 
  • Only one non-sibling passenger under age 18 may accompany the driver
  • NO mobile devices may be used (even if they’re hands-free)
  • Once you have held a restricted provisional license for six months OR you turn 17, all age-related restrictions are removed and you can enjoy a standard unrestricted license. 

    Farm permits

    In Kansas, you can get an exception to receive some license privileges earlier than 15 if you reside or are employed on a farm—defined as at least 20 acres of agricultural operation. This type of license is called a farm permit and is designed for teens between 14 and 17 who may need to drive in relation to their farm work. 
    To apply for a farm permit, visit the nearest DOR office with: 
    • Proof of identification and residency 
    • A completed
      Farm Affidavit
       
    • Signed parental approval (if under 16) 
    • Payment for the $21 licensing fee
    You will still need to pass a written, vision, and road test, or complete a driver’s ed course and bring your DE-99 completion slip. Once you have your farm permit, your restrictions from age 14 to 15 match the standard provisional license restrictions for 15 to 16-year-olds. Restrictions for 15 to 17-year-olds with farm permits also match the provisional license restrictions for 16 to 17-year-olds. 

    How to save on car insurance in Kansas

    Once you’ve officially acquired your Kansas driver’s license, the road is your oyster! But in order for your vehicle to be well-prepared for the road, too, you’ll need to make sure you have the right Kansas car insurance for the right price. 
    Jerry
    can help! The
    trustworthy super app
    is free to use and instantly tracks down the lowest rates for you and your coverage needs from a comparison of over 55 top insurers’ quotes. When you decide on a plan, simply select it through the app, and Jerry’s expert brokers will help handle the calls and paperwork—they can even cancel your old policy for you. 
    On average, each Jerry user saves more than $800 a year on car insurance. It’s a super quick and easy way to secure coverage for the teen driver in your life with no sales calls or long forms attached. 
    “I was tired of looking around multiple websites, so I decided to give
    Jerry
    a try. Let me tell you—the process is so easy and simple, and they really find you the best prices for your coverage level. Getting insurance for my new car was quick and easy!” —Joanna D.
    RECOMMENDED
    Thousands of customers saved on average $887/year on their car insurance with Jerry
    This app is great, but the customer service is even better! Not to mention convenient! My husband and I got the lowest rate (much lower than the rates I was finding online through my own searches), quickly, and pretty much all through text message! Thank you so much for a hassle free experience👍
    avatar
    Gabriella R.
    Find insurance savings
    rating primary
    4.7/5 Rating on App Store

    FAQs

    Yes. Teen drivers can receive their instruction permit at the age of 14 and apply for a restricted driver’s license at 15 (or one year after they received their permit). If they successfully receive their license, they are permitted to drive alone directly to and from home, school, and employment.
    Sometimes. In most cases, a 14-year-old is only permitted to hold a learner’s permit and drive while supervised. However, young teens who live or work on a farm may apply for a farm permit, which allows them to drive directly to and from school at age 14.
    Are you overpaying for car insurance?
    Compare quotes and find out in 45 seconds.
    Try Jerry

    Easiest way to compare and buy car insurance

    √
    No long forms
    √
    No spam or unwanted phone calls
    √
    Quotes from top insurance companies
    Find insurance savings