What Happens When You Get a 2nd DUI in Idaho

A 2nd DUI in Idaho is a serious offense that may include jail time, heavy fines, a license suspension, and even an ignition interlock device (IID) in your car.
Written by Mariza Morin
Reviewed by Kathleen Flear
background
If you obtain a 2nd DUI violation in Idaho, likely penalties include 10 days to one year in jail and up to $2,000 in fines. You’ll also have your license suspended for at least one year and a mandatory ignition interlock device (IID) for no less than one year. 
Idaho doesn’t mess around in regards to driving under the influence—particularly when it comes to repeat violations. While a first
DUI offense
already carries a pretty steep cost due to strict
DUI laws in Idaho
, drivers charged with a second offense must pay an even heavier price including jail time, license suspension, and an IID installed in your vehicle. 
Understanding the nature of your situation is critical if you’re looking at a 2nd DUI conviction in
Idaho
. That’s why
Jerry
has created this guide to a 2nd DUI offense in the Gem State.
RECOMMENDED
Compare auto insurance policies
No spam or unwanted phone calls · No long forms
Find insurance savings

What is a 2nd offense DUI in Idaho?

In Idaho, you’ll be charged with driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs (DUI) if: 
  • You’re under the influence of alcohol, drugs, or any impairing substance
  • You’re 21 or older and have a blood alcohol content (BAC) of 0.08% or more
  • You’re under 21 and have a BAC of 0.02% or more
  • You have a commercial driver’s license (CDL) and have a BAC of 0.04% or more
According to Idaho law, a DUI conviction will remain on your record for 10 years. That means if you’re arrested for another DUI violation anytime within 10 years of your first offense, your arrest will count as a 2nd DUI in the state of Idaho
But after this 10-year window has passed, your first offense will be taken off your record. So if you get caught with a second DUI after this time, it will legally count as a first offense.
Key Takeaway If you were charged with a DUI within the last 10 years and get caught driving under the influence again, you’ll be charged with a 2nd DUI offense in Idaho.

What is the punishment for a 2nd DUI in Idaho?

Punishment for a 2nd DUI conviction in Idaho varies depending on the exact circumstances. For example, an excessive BAC DUI of 0.20% or more comes with enhanced penalties
But in general, if you’re convicted of a 2nd DUI in Idaho, criminal penalties include: 
  • 10 days to one year in jail
  • Up to $2,000 in fines (or up to $5,000 if BAC is 0.20% or higher)
  • Up to one-year license suspension (or up to five years if BAC is 0.20% or higher)
  • A required ignition interlock device (IID) for at least one year
In certain situations, the courts may enforce even harsher penalties. For a 2nd DUI in Idaho, aggravating factors may lead to heftier fines and even longer jail sentences—especially under the following incidents: 
  • Refusal to submit to BAC test
  • Excessive BAC of 0.20% or more
  • Causing property damage or serious bodily injury while under the influence 
Key Takeaway A 2nd DUI in Idaho will result in a one-year license suspension, up to $2,000 in fines, a mandatory IID for no less than a year, and will
land you in jail
for 10 days. 

How much does a 2nd DUI in Idaho cost in the long run?

Jail time, fines, and a mandatory IID installed in your vehicle are just the start of the continuing repercussions you’ll have to deal with after your 2nd DUI violation. Don’t forget about the additional fees, substance abuse evaluation, mandatory license suspension, and increased insurance costs you’ll also have to contend with after your offense. 
Let’s go over all the prolonged consequences drivers will have to live with after a 2nd DUI conviction. 
RECOMMENDED
Compare auto insurance policies
No spam or unwanted phone calls · No long forms
Find insurance savings

Fees, penalty assessments, and substance abuse evaluation

While the maximum fine for a 2nd DUI in Idaho is $2,000 (or $5,000 if you’re caught with a BAC of 0.20% or more), you’ll also be responsible for paying supplementary fees and penalty assessments on top of your original fine. 
Additionally, you’ll have to undergo a mandatory substance abuse evaluation—assessed by the court—to determine what type of treatment or educational programs would assist your specific substance abuse issues. Substance abuse evaluations cost between $100 and $200 in Idaho, depending on available providers in your county.

Alternative transportation

Once you’ve paid this debt to the state, you’ll still need to consider how you’ll get around without a car. With your driver's
license suspended
for a year following a 2nd DUI in Idaho, you’ll need to rely on alternative modes of transportation. While you might be able to depend on public transportation, there may be times you might need to use ride services—which can add up quickly over one year. 

Increased car insurance costs 

Furthermore, your car insurance premium will take a hit and possibly go up by an average of $148 per month after a DUI conviction. Apply that to the state average of $1,999 per year, and you could end up paying an additional $1,776 a year for basic liability insurance
Now, let’s start crunching these numbers. After including all the required fines, fees, assessments, IID, substance abuse evaluation, and additional insurance premiums, the grand total of a 2nd DUI in Idaho after five years could potentially cost you up to $21,075.

How to avoid jail time for a 2nd DUI in Idaho

You may be able to limit your jail sentence and pay a lower fine if you have been charged with a 2nd DUI conviction in Idaho. Here’s what you should do: 
  • Bring in a good defense lawyer. Reducing a jail sentence for a 2nd DUI conviction won’t be easy, but a proficient attorney will help you maneuver through your case. 
  • Plead guilty to a “wet reckless” charge. This less severe offense will come with decreased penalties concerning jail time and the maximum fine you’ll owe. 
In some circumstances, you can take a plea bargain for a lesser “wet reckless” charge or a
reckless driving
offense involving alcohol or drugs. A wet reckless charge potentially reduces your penalties to six months in jail, a maximum $1,000 fine, and a 30-day license suspension. 
Usually, a wet reckless conviction doesn’t include a mandatory IID installation. And while you won’t be able to avoid serving jail time, your sentence will be shorter and the continuing effects of a wet reckless violation are minimized compared to the impacts of a 2nd DUI conviction.

How to find affordable car insurance in Idaho after a 2nd DUI

If you’re convicted of a 2nd DUI offense, you’ll need to file for an
SR-22 in Idaho
to prove you have the state's minimum insurance coverage, which will allow you to reclaim your driver’s license once your suspension ends.
Considering you’ll be viewed as a “high-risk” driver by insurance companies, it might feel like it’s impossible to find affordable insurance with a DUI on your record. But
Jerry
, the
trusted comparison tool
, is here to help you find the best coverage around regardless of your current predicament. 
After you download the Jerry app, you’ll unlock dozens of competitive rates from a host of the nation’s top
car insurance
providers—including local Idaho companies that understand the challenges you’ll face with a DUI on your record. Once you find a better deal, our team of agents will handle the rest, from finalizing all the paperwork to helping you cancel your old policy. 
“I saw an ad for
Jerry
on Instagram and decided to give it a try. I have a terrible driving record, but Nathan still helped me. Before, almost no one wanted to insure me. Now, I have a great policy and save $200/month. I’m one happy gal!” —Terri C. 
RECOMMENDED
Thousands of customers saved on average $887/year on their car insurance with Jerry
This app is great, but the customer service is even better! Not to mention convenient! My husband and I got the lowest rate (much lower than the rates I was finding online through my own searches), quickly, and pretty much all through text message! Thank you so much for a hassle free experience👍
avatar
Gabriella R.
Find insurance savings
rating primary
4.7/5 Rating on App Store

FAQs

No—a 2nd offense DUI in Idaho is generally viewed as a misdemeanor.
Typically, a minimum of 10 days in jail is the mandatory penalty for a 2nd DUI in Idaho. But you might be able to reduce this jail sentence if you plead guilty to a “wet reckless” plea bargain.
Are you overpaying for car insurance?
Compare quotes and find out in 45 seconds.
Try Jerry

Easiest way to compare and buy car insurance

√
No long forms
√
No spam or unwanted phone calls
√
Quotes from top insurance companies
Find insurance savings