Car Seat Laws in West Virginia

Find out if you’re getting ripped off on your car insurance in less than two minutes.
No long forms · No spam · No fees
  • What are they?
  • Noncompliance
  • Driving record
  • Insurance impact
  • Cheap insurance
The West Virginia car seat law requires that children be secured in a system appropriate for their age—though it doesn’t specify age and weight requirements for these systems.
To help keep your kids safe (and you on the right side of the law), the car insurance comparison and broker app Jerry has compiled everything you need to know about the car seat laws in West Virginia.
RECOMMENDED
Compare auto insurance policies
No spam or unwanted phone calls · No long forms · No fees, ever

What is the car seat law in West Virginia?

In West Virginia, there are no real regulations on which restraint system a child should be secured in.
Rather, the law simply states that all children up to the age of 8 and 4’9” in height must be secured in a restraint system that is appropriate for their age and size. Options for suitable systems include rear and front-facing car seats and booster seats.
Key Takeaway West Virginia’s laws state that children under the age of 8 and shorter than 4’9” should be in a restraint system.

What are the penalties for breaking the car seat law in West Virginia?

If you break the car seat law for the first time, you’ll get a fine of between $10 and $25. This violation is considered a misdemeanor.

Can breaking the car seat law impact my driving record?

Yes. Breaking the car seat law is considered a misdemeanor in West Virginia. Misdemeanors show up on your driving record, as well as background checks.

How breaking car seat laws can impact insurance in West Virginia

Insurance carriers look at your driving record when setting your premium—and a record that has a misdemeanor indicates that you might be a high-risk driver. In light of this, you’ll likely see your premiums rise. Some companies may even refuse to insure you.
Key Takeaway Misdemeanors are crimes that will show up on your driving record and may impact your insurance rates.
RECOMMENDED
Compare auto insurance policies
No spam or unwanted phone calls · No long forms · No fees, ever

Finding cheap car insurance

Even with a misdemeanor on your record, finding cheap car insurance doesn’t have to be difficult. Whether your record is spotless or spotty, Jerry makes it easy to find coverage you can afford.
Jerry takes on the job of shopping around and comparing rates, finding you the best offers across dozens of companies—all you have to do is take your pick! Jerry handles everything else, including finalizing your paperwork and canceling your old policy.
“I was paying $200 for basic liability with Travelers and was trying to find more reasonable options. Jerry found me basic liability for $55 monthly and then, with the same insurance provider, offered $110 for full coverage. I went over the policy to make sure it was legit and all, and it was.
I’m super glad I gave this a try and I would highly recommend it to anyone else. It doesn’t hurt to give this app a try and just see what options you want to have. They give you a good list of options from different insurance providers so you can decide which company you want to work with, based on its price and reputation!” —Satisfied Jerry user
RECOMMENDED
Haven’t shopped for insurance in the last six months? There might be hundreds $$$ in savings waiting for you.
avatar
Judith switched to Progressive
icon savingsSaved $725 annually
avatar
Alexander switched to Travelers
icon savingsSaved $834 annually
avatar
Annie switched to Nationwide
icon savingsSaved $668 annually

Easiest way to compare and buy car insurance

√
No long forms
√
No spam or unwanted phone calls
√
Quotes from top insurance companies
Find insurance savings — it's 100% free